Jamaica vs. Trini Cultural Expression

Originally posted by OJ View Post
    Well I am not sure its the speeding up but really the move away from reggae musical complexity to a more soca like simple up-tempo repetitive garbage.. Not sure its daggering music... The fact is we risk loosing the creativity of rhythm building and melodious sound.
    The biggest parties now in toronto are soca parties boy even lindo p do soca Doh Cay AH leaving the return fete

Good! When yuh have time, listen to a Vybz Kartel song and den listen to a Bob.

That would be Bob, as in Marley, not Dylan. Yuh can listen to Dylan too. See if you can spot the difference in those styles/genres/beats.

Good! When yuh have time, listen to a Vybz Kartel song and den listen to a Bob.

That would be Bob, as in Marley, not Dylan. Yuh can listen to Dylan too. See if you can spot the difference in those styles/genres/beats.
        Alrite sah! Have yuh fun!

Dag! Just trying to be of assistance.

I guess u r not an eternal learner like Jawge, huh?

Is Dancehall the same as Reggae?

Originally posted by Naminirt View Post
              The biggest parties now in toronto are soca parties boy even lindo p do soca Doh Cay AH leaving the return fete
              I live in Toronto. Stop Lying. Redemption alone bigger than any soca dance.
              Gregory, Marcia, Barrington Levy, Beres, Buju, Capleton, Movado....All these stage shows drew crowds larger than any soca shows and they charge at least double what the soca shows charge. I've been hearing this soca taking over thing for decades yet the times I've been to Trinidad I hear more reggae than anything else unless it's carnival season. How do you explain this?
              Wishful thinking on your part.

nyamdirt have certain propensities.......

you know one of my bonafide bredin is from TT and some of the best parties was the soca parties.. But the females had me distracted I did not hear the music. Nothing against the music but I can only take it for so long.. same for dancehall and this is comming from someone who played part one and version side for years.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                    I live in Toronto. Stop Lying. Redemption alone bigger than any soca dance.
                    Gregory, Marcia, Barrington Levy, Beres, Buju, Capleton, Movado....All these stage shows drew crowds larger than any soca shows and they charge at least double what the soca shows charge. I've been hearing this soca taking over thing for decades yet the times I've been to Trinidad I hear more reggae than anything else unless it's carnival season. How do you explain this?
                    Wishful thinking on your part.
                    yeah what eva
                    Last edited by Naminirt; January 26, 2009, 07:12 PM.

Wow with all the points you made it's tough for me to answer. good argument sir.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                        Wow with all the points you made it's tough for me to answer. good argument sir.

I am not into arguing I say soca parties pull the largest crowds DCAL fire fete talkdone

Originally posted by Naminirt View Post
                          I am not into arguing I say soca parties pull the largest crowds DCAL fire fete talkdone
                          Let's ask Mosiah to take a vote on the matter

Mosiah, yuh still a wata pumpy, and kool & deadly. Keep out a young bwoy argument!!!
                            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Funny you should say that. I actually like the new daggerin dance. In fact, I love it!

I remember the first time I saw it, about 8 months ago or so, di way dem wenna hangle di girl, I was about to call the police! But I've gotten to really appreciate it as an art form.

Sorry to disappoint you, Historian, but a suh.

Straight Daggering DANCE
                                http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=Q68GM45_8VQ