'Beenie Man' in town for Soca
...Records with Bunji, Fay-Ann and Trini Jacobs
Nigel Telesford
Sunday, January 18th 2009
Godfather Number 1: Jamaican Dancehall Star, "Beenie Man" puts his hand on Fay- Ann's belly as she announced that he would be the baby's "Godfather Number 1" and they posed with Lyon's husband, reigning Soca Monarch, Bunji Garlin, right, and West Indies allrounder Dwayne Bravo at DV8 Studio, St James.Photos: JERMAINE CRUICKSHANKDavis, who flew to Trinidad to complete several Soca recordings, said: "Trinidad ah me place and Soca time ah come up, so me feel is better we come here and do proper music, than me really just stay ah Jamaica and somebody send up something give we fe do. Better me come here and do it meself."
Davis recorded four songs in four days: the collaboration with Fay-Ann, which remains untitled and is voiced on the Braxton-produced La Douma Riddum; a remix of Garlin's infectious, "Plenty Gyal", another collaboration with Trini Jacobs and a solo track. The La Douma Riddim is due to be released early next week and also features songs by Jamaican sensation Pamputtae, 3Suns, Benjai featuring Scarface, JW and Blaze and Bunji Garlin.
The Jamaican entertainer said he is currently working on a new album, a new movie called Kingston and is booked to perform at various shows around the globe over the next few months.
Asked about the effects of the economic crisis on his country and his career, Davis said:
"Life no good in ah de world right now. Until Obama come in and say well alright, how we gwan fix this thing and make people live good again. Ah recession we ah deal wit right now, but we na go make it reach depression cause if it reach depression, de whole ah de Caribbean ah get f- - - -ed! Cause right now dey have people who ah live without heat eh know... in ah Russia and Poland and dem place dey... whey ah de coldest places in de world. We supposed to feel happy we in ah de Caribbean and we na face de ting so wicked so yet
...Records with Bunji, Fay-Ann and Trini Jacobs
Nigel Telesford
Sunday, January 18th 2009
Godfather Number 1: Jamaican Dancehall Star, "Beenie Man" puts his hand on Fay- Ann's belly as she announced that he would be the baby's "Godfather Number 1" and they posed with Lyon's husband, reigning Soca Monarch, Bunji Garlin, right, and West Indies allrounder Dwayne Bravo at DV8 Studio, St James.Photos: JERMAINE CRUICKSHANKDavis, who flew to Trinidad to complete several Soca recordings, said: "Trinidad ah me place and Soca time ah come up, so me feel is better we come here and do proper music, than me really just stay ah Jamaica and somebody send up something give we fe do. Better me come here and do it meself."
Davis recorded four songs in four days: the collaboration with Fay-Ann, which remains untitled and is voiced on the Braxton-produced La Douma Riddum; a remix of Garlin's infectious, "Plenty Gyal", another collaboration with Trini Jacobs and a solo track. The La Douma Riddim is due to be released early next week and also features songs by Jamaican sensation Pamputtae, 3Suns, Benjai featuring Scarface, JW and Blaze and Bunji Garlin.
The Jamaican entertainer said he is currently working on a new album, a new movie called Kingston and is booked to perform at various shows around the globe over the next few months.
Asked about the effects of the economic crisis on his country and his career, Davis said:
"Life no good in ah de world right now. Until Obama come in and say well alright, how we gwan fix this thing and make people live good again. Ah recession we ah deal wit right now, but we na go make it reach depression cause if it reach depression, de whole ah de Caribbean ah get f- - - -ed! Cause right now dey have people who ah live without heat eh know... in ah Russia and Poland and dem place dey... whey ah de coldest places in de world. We supposed to feel happy we in ah de Caribbean and we na face de ting so wicked so yet