• Bricktop, ever been to Rebel Salute?

Rhetorical question.

Well, I was one of thousands who journeyed to St. Bess over the weekend to tek in the best roots, conscious, badwud-free show in Jamaica.

And what a show it was!

With band changes lasting 10 minutes and the performers not overstaying their welcome, it was a tight and entertaining show.

The artistes that dun di place were Morgan Heritage (performing for the last time as a group in Jamaica), Sanchez (best voice in reggae music), C-Sharp (wikkidest band) and Errol Dunkley (brought back di best old school reggae). LadyG, Leroy Gibbons and others did well too!

But again, too many artistes. Some a wi tiyad fi have sun lick wi head a mawnin a stage show, especially when others are on their way to church.

Not sure Westman could deal with this though - there was no alcohol for sale anyhere in the park, and no meat kind. Only fish and other vegetarian foods. Excellent!

Looks like this show will be seeing me next year again!

rebel salute always delivers....i went either year 2 or 3 when it was in manchester

Lovely Post!

Well, I was one of thousands who journeyed to St. Bess over the weekend to tek in the best roots, conscious, badwud-free show in Jamaica.

And what a show it was!

With band changes lasting 10 minutes and the performers not overstaying their welcome, it was a tight and entertaining show.

The artistes that dun di place were Morgan Heritage (performing for the last time as a group in Jamaica), Sanchez (best voice in reggae music), C-Sharp (wikkidest band) and Errol Dunkley (brought back di best old school reggae). LadyG, Leroy Gibbons and others did well too!

But again, too many artistes. Some a wi tiyad fi have sun lick wi head a mawnin a stage show, especially when others are on their way to church.

Not sure Westman could deal with this though - there was no alcohol for sale anyhere in the park, and no meat kind. Only fish and other vegetarian foods. Excellent!

Looks like this show will be seeing me next year again!
      Mosiah, You Surprise Me!

I realize that this post is addressed to Bricktop, but I like this post so much that I feel a bit compelled to make my small input here.

First of all, Tony Rebel’s show, by itself, is one of the reasons why I so angrily criticize much of what’s been going on in reggae and dancehall today! I wish I could have been at Saturday’s show, held at the Port Kaiser Complex.

Secondly, you touched on why Rebel Salute is a show that should be respected! The reasons have been selected in the copied parts (above) of your quote. Now, do you understand why people like me get angry when quality local music presentations are sacrificed for other things, like cheap popularity?

By the way, I feel that the “too many artistes” aspect is something that has to be changed, but because comparatively speaking (looking at other problems) it is a relatively minor thing, although irritating for audiences I think I can easily live with this until the desired changes come.

"Morgan Heritage (performing for the last time as a group in Jamaica)"

Can you explain this fi me?

"Sanchez (best voice in reggae music)"

Really?

"Morgan Heritage (performing for the last time as a group in Jamaica)"

Can you explain this fi me?

"Sanchez (best voice in reggae music)"

Really?
          The artiste are going to be doing solo projects for a while.

Who do you think is the best voice?

Originally posted by Me View Post
            The artiste are going to be doing solo projects for a while.

Who do you think is the best voice?
            a) Okay, I'm aware of that. Was aware of that being a temporary thing.

b) Gramps from the Hertiage have a better voice than Sanchez. I guess now that him gone solo people will realize.

I am no big Sanchez fan, but I don't think Gramps can sing the range of notes that Sanchez can sing. Gramps, just like Luciano and Bushman, have the type of singing voice that I prefer listening to.

No liquor & no red meat, and mi wonder how much money dem lose. Morgan Heritage is a fabulous group btw and Sanchez could have achieved more in his career if he was more original.

So how mi bredrin tell me a Capleton and Ras Moses tek di show? Yeah man Rebel Salute always nice. Yuh neva go before dis?

Originally posted by Me View Post
                    I am no big Sanchez fan, but I don't think Gramps can sing the range of notes that Sanchez can sing. Gramps, just like Luciano and Bushman, have the type of singing voice that I prefer listening to.
                    Sorry have to disagree! Gramps and Richie Stephens better than Sanchez. Bunny Ruggs still a sing?

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                      Mosiah, You Surprise Me!

I realize that this post is addressed to Bricktop, but I like this post so much that I feel a bit compelled to make my small input here.

First of all, Tony Rebel’s show, by itself, is one of the reasons why I so angrily criticize much of what’s been going on in reggae and dancehall today! I wish I could have been at Saturday’s show, held at the Port Kaiser Complex.

Secondly, you touched on why Rebel Salute is a show that should be respected! The reasons have been selected in the copied parts (above) of your quote. Now, do you understand why people like me get angry when quality local music presentations are sacrificed for other things, like cheap popularity?

By the way, I feel that the “too many artistes” aspect is something that has to be changed, but because comparatively speaking (looking at other problems) it is a relatively minor thing, although irritating for audiences I think I can easily live with this until the desired changes come.
                      Its all about freedom of choice Historian. Thats the beautiful thing about life. Now, since dem nuh have no chicken ... thats not for me!

Bunny Ruggs still a sing?
                        Yeah man. Is mi bredrin still. Me and him oldest child grow together from we were knee high. He lives in Orlando doing the solo thing and the Third World thing.

Thanks! WEll, thats one more that better than Sanchez! Years now mi a hear people a claim Sanchez a the best ... mi start to wonder if dem wuz serious.

Sanchez' rendition of Amazing Grace is the best rendition there is!

Sanchez sounds a lot better on his original songs than he does on his do-overs. Yes, his 3 originals. But even the do-overs are great! That brotha can saaang!

Bunny Rugs is up there too and Jahpetes from Morgan Heritage is also no joke! Gramps okay.

That was my 3rd Rebel Salute, I think. The last time I went was when Jimmy Cliff was the feature artiste. He bored us all to death!