Mavado Fined for Profanity

• Mavado Fined for Profanity

Yesterday (January 20th) dancehall bad boy David Brook more popularly known as Mavado pleaded guilty to using indecent language during a performance when he appeared before the Spanish Town Resident Magistrate Court.

The entertainer was fined J$3,000 or thirty (30) days imprisonment if the money was not forthcoming.

Mavado's charges stem from a recent performance at Jamworld in Portmore, St. Catherine where he engaged rival deejay Vybz Kartel in a lyrical clash that saw both artistes using profanity throughout their set.

However Mavado's problems are not over as he could find himself in additional trouble with the law regarding comments he allegedly uttered about members of the police force during his performance the same show.

Portmore Empire front man Adijah 'Vybz Kartel' Palmer is scheduled to face the courts next (January 27th) week to answer similar charges.

This has to be a damn joke! J$3,000? No wonder they keep doing it. Dat a wha dem use light dem spliff before midday.
    Last edited by Lazie; January 21, 2009, 12:11 PM.

...or 30 days! How can they be equivalent!? I would steal that money so as not to go to jail!

If I were Mavado, I would give the judge $20,000 and tell him to tek out di fines outta dat when mi cuss at mi next stage show.

joke ting!

This has to be a damn joke! J$3,000? No wonder they keep going it. Dat a wha dem use light dem spliff before midday.
        Certainly is a joke. Man waan repeal buggery act but yet arrest man fi cuss badwud

Poor Jamaica, enimies of the people are at the top.

...or 30 days! How can they be equivalent!? I would steal that money so as not to go to jail!

If I were Mavado, I would give the judge $20,000 and tell him to tek out di fines outta dat when mi cuss at mi next stage show.

joke ting!
            The joke ting is the law not the fine

I agree with you. You have an adult show, adult acts, poetic licence. They should deal with the radio stations first...leave the dance and stage show alone.
              Jamaica is so full of hypocrisies and contradictions.

I agree wid yuh. Mi a fight dis ting fram long time, way back before Alozade go a jail fi it. (Not really fi badwud, but...)

Di man seh di officer drape him up by him pants front and true him did have on a close fit trousers it squeeze up him balls

Jamaican police officers need fi stop drape up suspects when dem go court. Sometimes I wonder bout dem police deh.