World Bank grants big loan for debt control

Ask those who are celebrating this as a great victory.
    Victory? Why am I not surprised you come with this? Point out where anyone referred to this as such. Read the article about credit markets being closed to Caribbean countries. People like Omar and Ralston was preaching that they the money wasn't forthcoming suh spin it how yuh want.

We wasted 18 years with incompetence. When our neighbours were growing 5% Jamaicans were calling 1.5% progress.

who a celebrate victory????

you need to put it in context coming after 18 years of PNP who said it was impossible.

Have to agree with you on that.

During the last 10-15 years so many developing countries made real economic progress, some growing at double digit rates year over year. Why a small ecomony like ours could only manage 1-2% growth during this period is a mystery to me.

who a celebrate victory????

you need to put it in context coming after 18 years of PNP who said it was impossible.

Who said what was impossible?? Getting more loans??

I never said that.... plus who cares what the PNP says about getting loans... not me.

The fact is generating new loans for basic housekeeping or to pay down old is not putting the country anywhere and not cause to feel good.

It's time to forget about the PNP.... get over using that party as a crutch.

Victory? Why am I not surprised you come with this? Point out where anyone referred to this as such. Read the article about credit markets being closed to Caribbean countries. People like Omar and Ralston was preaching that they the money wasn't forthcoming suh spin it how yuh want.

We wasted 18 years with incompetence. When our neighbours were growing 5% Jamaicans were calling 1.5% progress.

Wow!! Nuh last week World Best Omar Davies deh pon Real Business asound off how him doubt this loan will materialise? I wonder how Ronnie& Ralston gonna spin dis now?

The above sounds like some form of celebration to me... especially the "WoW!!"

Who really cares what Omar or Ralston Hyman say.. I don't... apparently you do.

Get over the 18 years of PNP incompetence.. that's done .... the JLP is in charge now.

Jamaica is just getting accustomed to their brand of incompetence.... there has been no real difference so far.... and I don't anticipate any.

getting cheaper loan is step one. Getting cheaper loanj free up at least 10% of the budget for more education and stuff like healthcare. The next goal must be to achieve productivity.

Do you think we would go from not Loans to no loans in only a year? Yes the PNP said it couldn't happen and many analysts buy into it. I state to you that getting cheaper loan was one of the reasons I was optimistic as it seems the government was working towards it.

Now imagine paying 3% interest rate as oppose to paying 10 or 12 and see how much money could be saved.

getting cheaper loan is step one. Getting cheaper loanj free up at least 10% of the budget for more education and stuff like healthcare. The next goal must be to achieve productivity.

Do you think we would go from not Loans to no loans in only a year? Yes the PNP said it couldn't happen and many analysts buy into it. I state to you that getting cheaper loan was one of the reasons I was optimistic as it seems the government was working towards it.

Now imagine paying 3% interest rate as oppose to paying 10 or 12 and see how much money could be saved.

I wish you well with your step one cheap loans.

a see that is all you can say. it is ok when done by Chavez but not by the international organizations?

UNFORTUNATELY it will not be that easy to get over 18 years of POOR management that trickled down from government and RAMPANT corruption

No, of course not. And why woud you want to throw a wet blanket on those who are busy cheering this deal with their pom-poms and ********************riders?

No real difference so far?

The JLP had the balls to legalise casino gambling.

Getting 300 million at 3% as oppose to 12%

Free healthcare where people were not going to the hospital as they can't pay. As someone who had problems said to me when I was in Ja that if it was not for the free healthcare I don't know how I would have manage"

No tutiton for kids to go to high school

encouraging manufacturing and farming.

While it is not enough and there are several disappointment but there are glaring differences.

How can you put the last 18 years in a vacuum of the PNP in a vacuum?

You expect some miracle wand in 1 year?

Wow!! Nuh last week World Best Omar Davies deh pon Real Business asound off how him doubt this loan will materialise? I wonder how Ronnie& Ralston gonna spin dis now?

The above sounds like some form of celebration to me... especially the "WoW!!"

Who really cares what Omar or Ralston Hyman say.. I don't... apparently you do.

Get over the 18 years of PNP incompetence.. that's done .... the JLP is in charge now.

Jamaica is just getting accustomed to their brand of incompetence.... there has been no real difference so far.... and I don't anticipate any.
                          Last I checked you weren't the only Jamaican suh what you care about nuh really relevant don't it? Strange ... unuh sit back and allow incompetence fi 18 years when things were good. But unuh want everything fixed with the snap of a finger when there is a global crisis? Stop giving the impression that yuh nuh have nuh sense Don1.

The fact is Real Business is a popular program. Wow is celebration or an emphasis of surprise? Omar, who many regard as the best finance minister made it clear that he knew what he was talking about, and it was inexperience by Shaw to anticipate getting that much money. Wait ... aren't you the one that made it clear that yuh nuh need fi read the newspapers or listen to the radio to know whats happening? Suh once again yuh arguing from a point of ignorance!

No, of course not. And why woud you want to throw a wet blanket on those who are busy cheering this deal with their pom-poms and ********************riders?
                            Once again, a position of one fool leading many. But a you name Mosiah!

Who said what was impossible?? Getting more loans??

The fact is generating new loans for basic housekeeping or to pay down old is not putting the country anywhere and not cause to feel good.
                              True ... but if the economy wasn't growing all along what unuh want?

No real difference so far?

The JLP had the balls to legalise casino gambling.

Getting 300 million at 3% as oppose to 12%

Free healthcare where people were not going to the hospital as they can't pay. As someone who had problems said to me when I was in Ja that if it was not for the free healthcare I don't know how I would have manage"

No tutiton for kids to go to high school

encouraging manufacturing and farming.

While it is not enough and there are several disappointment but there are glaring differences.

How can you put the last 18 years in a vacuum of the PNP in a vacuum?

You expect some miracle wand in 1 year?

I expect no miracle and have always stated that.

I expect more of the same decay Jamaica has experienced..... so I am not surprised at any lack of performance or continuation of corruption.

Neither the PNP nor the JLP has policies or politicians in charge who will significantly change the country's fortunes.

But... feel free to continue your beliefs.