Lazie, can you bring us up to date with the AA - Ja govt.

• Lazie, can you bring us up to date with the AA - Ja govt.

deal? I might have missed it.

Thanks!

Thanks!
    I'm sorry! Wasn't aware of a deal between the gov't and Alcoholics Anonymous.

Your AA monthly mag did not make mention of it?

American Airlines, moron!

Oh ... yuh need fi be specific man. Haven't heard anything. Enlighten us nuh? Obviously yuh know something.

You've got to be specific mon - AA stands for a lot of things

Read http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ead/lead6.html.

True. Most of us would think of American Airlines, but when yuh get monthly magazines from your support group, you might think of the other AA.

heh heh!

Didn't see it! Well, this basically confirm that there will be no Air J divestment come March. Why after making such an agreement now they want to protect Air J?

Lets hear from the minister.

One more reason why we should be wary of rosy, self serving statements by politicians.

Many here like to lap up our politician's pronouncements and rosy projections as if they are gospel.

I doubt that this latest turnaround will give them pause unfortunately.

Didn't see it! Well, this basically confirm that there will be no Air J divestment come March. Why after making such an agreement now they want to protect Air J?

Lets hear from the minister.
                    Care to change your position when you reacted to my opinion on what should be attempted at AirJ, the JUTC, etc?

Make the organisations more efficient by...? Solve the problems...not run from them and add to our unemployment figures..put more fusturated persons on the streets...add pressure to our already pressure-cooker of a society?

Lazie tink seh wi nuh have nuh memory. Many of us warned against the deal between AA and the govt.

Care to change your position when you reacted to my opinion on what should be attempted at AirJ, the JUTC, etc?

Make the organisations more efficient by...? Solve the problems...not run from them and add to our unemployment figures..put more fusturated persons on the streets...add pressure to our already pressure-cooker of a society?
                        You put forward anything about more efficient? Really? The JUTC was overstaffed and as they went about cutting the unwanted staff whose was here mekking up noise bout jobs jobs jobs?

Lazie tink seh wi nuh have nuh memory. Many of us warned against the deal between AA and the govt.
                          LOL!!! Now mi affi wonder what yuh memory stored about what Lazie said about the deal!

Thanks!
                            American Airlines deal progressing nicely, says Tourism Minister
                            Thursday, 15 January 2009
                            Tourism Minister Edmund Bartlett said things are going well with the deal the government entered into last year with American Airlines.

The controversial $300 million deal raised eyebrows in the local airline industry and resulted in stark objections from the Opposition People's National Party.

This resulted in the Contractor General requesting documentation relating to the airline deal to probe the terms of the agreement.

Mr. Bartlett however Wednesday said American airlines is living up to its end of the bargain with reasonable loads of passengers entering Jamaica via the airline

He said in addition to this, the agreement has led to the opening up of the gateway through Chicago.

"We gave that undertaking when we were completing the arrangements with American Airlines that we would look at Chicago gateway with the view of getting out of the agreement if we could so as to facilitate Air Jamaica's activities there,"

"I am very pleased to say that we were able in fact to negotiate with American Airlines out of that a gateway without any penalty to Jamaica and that was very important,"

He added that with the Chicago gateway opened large loads will come into the island as bigger planes will be used for flights.

"So we ended up with two flights per week until the end of March and on the first of April American Airlines would be out of that gateway but in doing the two flights we are able to get larger planes" said Mr. Bartlett.

In the meantime, the minister said all the relevant documents requested by the Office of the Contractor General in its probe of the deal were handed over.

http://www.radiojamaica.com/content/view/14909/26/