• Sizzla in Gambia

http://tube.thayard.net/media/1386/S...rica_-_Part_1/

http://tube.thayard.net/media/1387/S...rica_-_Part_2/

Gambia: A Chat With Sizzla

Sheriff Janko
    23 December 2008
    Share this on:
    • <LI class=share_item> <LI class=share_item> <LI class=share_item> <LI class=share_item>

interview
    Emerging in the latter half of the 90s, Sizzla helped lead dancehall back to the musical and spiritual influence of roots reggae and heavily Rastafarian subject matter. Born Miguel Collins on April 17, 1976 in St Mary, he is one of the most prolific leaders of the conscious reggae dancehall movement.
    GA_googleFillSlot( "AllAfrica_Story_Inset" );

He was raised in the community of August Town by devout Rastafarian parents. The 1980s witnessed a dancehall explosion, and with the music came the lifestyle. Sizzla watched carefully, collecting his lyrical ammunition. He began his career in the music industry in his early teenage years.
    After honing his vocal skills, he landed a gig with the Caveman Hi-Fi sound system, where he first made a name for himself as a performer. He cut his first single for the small Zagalou label in 1995, and soon moved on to Fattis "Exterminator" Burrell. Extensive touring with fellow roots and culture artist, Luciano, followed, earning Sizzla critical acclaim.
    Working with Fattis marked an important turning point for Sizzla. From the outset their relationship was one of mutual respect and inspiration. A run of successful singles led to the release of Sizzla's debut album, 'Burning Up' (RAS). The alliance again proved fruitful a year later with the follow-up, 'Praise Ye Jah' (JetStar). Securing his position as a top conscious reggae artist, he set about cultivating his role as a spiritual messenger.
    Sizzla's combination of Rasta principles and up-to-the-minute dancehall rhythms made his hard line approach more palatable. A brilliant and passionate performer, Sizzla broke boundaries, appealing to those looking for something new, music with depth.
    On Thursday 11, December 2008, marks another important day in this country, especially for the reggae enthusiasts, as it witnessed the arrival of the Jamaican star (Sizzla) ahead of his first musical concerts in the whole of Africa. He was received at the foot of the aircraft by the organisers amid hundreds of reggae enthusiasts who escorted the visiting Jamaican star from the airport to his hotel, at Seaview Garden Hotel in Kololi.
    Meanwhile, the tour known as the African Explosion -"Rise to the Occasion ' is being exclusively organised by Betts Promotion, under the auspices of a Gambian based in the United State in collaboration with Rebel T Music and Kolonji Records. However, the show will also witness a life performance by two other Jamaican finest stars, namely Jesse Jendah and Princess Menen.
    Below are the excerpts:
    Can you tell us something about yourself?
    My name is Miguel Collins. I was born 17 April 1976 in Scott Hall, St Mary, Jamaica. I am an entertainer or a musician and a Rastafarian. And all is about black consciousness of the youths of today, the back to Africa filled by Marcus Garvey and the black people in the Diaspora, treasured from the "Nyahbinghi" Rastafarians.
    I am the president of the Bobo Ashanti and the musical ambassador for Africa and Jamaica and the whole beautiful nation. As you go by you learn more.
    Listening to your music and speech, you sound very much aware of what is going on in the world today. Can you tell us a little about your educational background?
    I attended primary school and graduated at a high school level. Though my parents where not that much rich to assist me through college level; so from there I ventured into the mining industry and stone making until I got little money to go back to college. I am now attending the University of Technology in Jamaica, while still in the music industry.
    What subjects are you studying at university?
    I am studying Physics, Chemistry, Maths, English and Architecture. As Rastafarians, we are very much concerned about the natives of Africa and the children of Africa being born into slavery, and those all over the world. As a human being I got feelings just about anything I do. We as God's children should be working for each other as spoken in the Bible. However, beautiful people all over the world do beautiful things for me, so is very right to love other people because Africa foundation is love.
    There were media reports that you once came to Senegal with Luciano, but did not perform. Why did you choose The Gambia to be your first country in Africa to stage a concert?
    Yes, I have been to Senegal but just accompanying Luciano, because he is a very good friend of Baba Maal. And we were there under the invitation of Baba Maal because we all had been to Ethiopia on our own, because I was singing and educating the people of the world and the children, so it is only right for a leader to go and see for himself the beauty of my homeland - Ethiopia - Africa.
    Now we Rastafarians, like I said before, are concerned about the economical welfare, agriculture and educational system of Africa, because if we praise the king of kings, and lords of lords, the Empirial Majesty, Emperor Haile Salassi I, we must shoulder the responsibility.
    So it is not only the duty of the king to look for the people but also we as humble citizens and servant should do equally. We hope to bring about peace and love to our motherland and to the people of Africa. Now, I, personally, as Miguel Collins, known to others as Sizzla Kolonji, hold Africa in high esteem. I have travelled around the world and meet so many people and have done so many shows and every one look up to me. But, Africa is much different from the rest of the world as Africa is a cradle for civilization.
    As our motherland what you do in the West you cannot do in Africa. I have been taught about these by my parents and the people of my country - Jamaica, even by the Rastafarian priest, church and community. So going by the teaching of his Majesty, Marcus Garvey, Prince Emmanuel and the great phenomenal leaders, I have seen the concern about this for Africa. So I don't just give Africa to anybody and I keep it secret.
    I have decided now in these days and in conjunction with the millennium that I will now come to Africa to start my part of the work to unite Africa, and help in the modern day creation. With the help of African people we can achieve this. Now is the time and the most high gives me things with the help of black promoters to start this work. So I have decided to start in the Gambia.
    I have been asked quite a few times to do show on the continent but for some reason or the other I couldn't follow up, because I am a Rastafarian who is responsible for Rastafarian community. I don't just go to Africa without notifying my priest. Now Rebel T Music and Betts Promotions has asked me if I could stage a show in The Gambia which I said yes, because I thought to myself this is the perfect time and God gave me the opportunity to do so. I thank God and I am honoured to be here.
    As you warm up for your first concert sometime soon, at the Independence stadium, being your first time performance in the whole of Africa, how does it look like to you?
    Oh, it feels great, this being my first time here, especially given the welcome I received. I too believe it is going to be a good show, because the spirit is there and the people are good. And I can see this in the faces and in their eyes whenever they smile.
    Being one of the few musicians credited for your versatile skills, since you arrived in the country, did you record any new song?
    Oh yes I did. I have done 12 songs since I came here. And immediately after this interview, I am going to record another three songs to make it fifteen. After the necessary works like correction of grammatical errors, punctuation and proper music punch, I will add another bonus track of two to make it seventeen.
    That is just how I work anywhere in the world, and I find it fitting to record this in the Gambia and on the motherland. For me it's like handing over the God -giving talents and spirit back to the native land of my continent -Africa.
    Relevant Links

And I have done this to connect the children to me, because they listen to my songs a lot and I know that with the knowledge that I have and what I will do here will make them happy and prosud. My duty as a Rastafarian and as a musician is to bring love, righteousness and comfort to work.
    Why did you choose to be a Bobo Ashanti?
    It is a way of life. If you should read the Bible, you will find out that the most high alone give us charge over Holy Labersiacle. We must keep the sabbatical holy, as we are not rowdy set of people, war mongers, hooligans, but we are beautiful children of the most high from the motherland.
    Gambia: A Chat With Sizzla

Sheriff Janko
    23 December 2008
    (Page 2 of 2)
    Because of slavery a lot have been scattered and I myself have studied Africa and the trans-Atlantic slave trade and have seen youths going to prison, people dying, children suffering and I don't want such inhumane activity to repeat it self.

So I am a son of Africa in search of the original order of Black people because I was in the world and my only help was Jah, myself and the Rasta man, including the teachings of Marcus Garvey. From there I found out that we are kings, queens and prophets' people. So, therefore, we should teach the African people the order of kings, queens.
    So that is why I embraced Bobo Ashanti "Nyahbinghi" which is 12 tribe orthodox. Not because the people who were scattered into slavery should neglect the order given to us by the most high, but we should remember that we are the first set of people on earth. So we must keep the ancient African ways and teaching because that is the only way we can solve and overcome all sickness, suffering and death.
    Do you plan to help the young sprouting Gambian talents by establishing something to boost their skills to international level?
    Oh yes I do. I think with the help of people themselves and the Gambia government and I myself, I believed we can accomplish and manifest all positive things for the betterment of the country and the continent of Africa, our dear motherland.
    Majority of youths in The Gambia spend a lot of time listening to your music, daily. Your advice can reflect positively on them in contributing their quota towards the socio-economic development of this country. Any words to the youths?
    I want to thank them because they supported Mama Africa and the children. Collective work is the only thing we can overcome our weaknesses, because unity is strength. And I am here to do my best as you encourage me to do. Your participation in the growth and prosperity of Africa is well appreciated. You are my brothers and sisters, mothers and fathers and you are my African family. You are not only just my friends.
    Relevant Links

Please continue to help me motivate the children of Africa and the world, because Africa is the parent for the children of the world. Maximum respects to everyone, Jah bless and keep you always. One lover in the name of Rastafarai. Repatriation is a must, and Africans in the Diaspora need to come and once they see individual for themselves, will see others making a move towards the continent and even to reside there.
    They will eventually get up and come home, because the sheep follows the shepherd wherever he goes, so if the shepherd goes to motherland Africa, the sheep will obviously follow suit. Jab blesses.
    Thanks for granting us this interview
    You welcome
    Last edited by Sir X; January 12, 2009, 01:07 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Gambia: President Jammeh Receives Sizzla Kalonji

29 December 2008
    Share this on:
    • <LI class=share_item> <LI class=share_item> <LI class=share_item> <LI class=share_item>

His Excellency, Professor Dr Alhaji Yahya Jammeh, on Sunday, December 20th, received renowned reggae singer, Sizzla Kalonji, and his delegation at the Gambian leader's Juramba Farm in Kanilai.

The meeting between the two icons rekindled a hope of understanding between Africans and Africans in the Diaspora. President Jammeh and Sizzla Kalonji spent the day harvesting rice on a multi-acre rice field, where they discussed several development-oriented issues such as repatriation, reparations, education and agriculture.
    The landmark meeting also served as a replica of the scene when the reggae musician first touched on Gambian soil earlier in the month. There was rapturous singing and dancing from a crowd of admirers.
    Kalonji used the opportunity to make a commitment to be a musical ambassador for The Gambia as well as to serve as a bridge between The Gambia and the Diaspora. He also proclaimed his desire to become an honorary citizen of the Gambia. One of Sizzla's goals for the Gambia is to assist the music industry, something he intends to fulfill by establishing a studio for the youth, helping schools, building more hospitals, and assisting in different areas of The Gambia's development endeavors. He also requested that President Jammeh open a Gambian embassy in Jamaica.
    According to information received from other sources, Sizzla Kalonji was also invited by the SoS for Information and Communication, Honorable Fatim Badjie, as her chief guest at her wedding, alongside the vice president of The Gambia, Her Excellency, Isatou Njie-Saidy. The chief of defense staff of The Gambian Armed Forces, Major General Lang Tombong Tamba, also had an official meeting with Sizzla and his delegation, where General Tamba presented Kalonji with an award for his work.
    Relevant Links

As part of his exploration of The Gambia's development infrastructure, the renowned reggae maestro also met with the chief medical director of the country's main referral health facility, the Royal Victoria Teaching Hospital, Dr. Tamsir Mbowe.
    Kalonji had earlier on visited Bakau Primary School, where the children went wild on seeing him, excited to see the reggae phenomenon in their midst. All these happened as the country prepared to see Sizzla's first performance in Africa on December 25th and 29th, at the Independence Stadium and December 27th at the Brikama Mini-Stadium.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Live in Gambia stadium

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F_vnlmpktR0

Not one bad word.I Keep telling you reggae music is comfortable with its niche market , It doesnt have to sell out to anyone , except itself .Which it does everyday with the slackness in dancehall.

Pity sizzla nuh carry on with the same positive vibes when him in Jamaica.