This is why I preach to all Jakans, I

RE: This is why I preach to all Jakans, I

Sass suppen wrong wid yuh computer boss?

Anyway let's agree with you for a minute: The PNP is incapable of handling the IT venture, hey just can't get it right. IT on a whole will call for quality education to be successful. What are the JLP plans on education? Thanks.

Mi computer at work post double when I post on this site.

Jawge Jamaican mentality on a whole have to change. When we had free zone instead of our workers learn and start their own as the asians did we wait till them take up them things and move it to mexico and Asia.

Education is good and must be the prinicpal part of moving forward but don't forget Bill Gates and the Bredda who own Virgin(name slip) me, never finish college.

The fact is our mentality have to change. Our UWI student have to think about new business ventures and research as Michael Dell did, Hewlett and Packard etc. did. Instead of been simple workers they have to be wealth creators. Even if they working the can do stuff on the side.

Our people who call themselves tourism expert have not even developed a curiculum to be taught in high school about tourism and it effect yet. Meanwhile that is our biggest employer and it affect us all. Our policy makers have to get real and no excuse regardless of party. I may pressa the PNP a little more because them in power but I won't let up off the labourite them if them come in. I will be writing a proposal in about a year time and then you will see what mi a deal wid.

Boss after saying that the PNP can't handle IT and such forth, why did you have to ask about the JLP position? since you want answer, No they can't handle it too? I can't understand why you and Lazie keep looking for leadership from these party.

How about you two meaningfull bright minds take the lead in getting the IT business to Jamaica, those two parties will fall in line or...? I hate to see you two just blowing breeze here, when you could be effectively setting the progressive trend. Where do you all get the energy to intellectually evade questions,and no meanfull results is attain.

I wonder why the Ladies are posting?

Assasin (11/8/2006)Mi computer at work post double when I post on this site.

Jawge Jamaican mentality on a whole have to change. When we had free zone instead of our workers learn and start their own as the asians did we wait till them take up them things and move it to mexico and Asia.

Education is good and must be the prinicpal part of moving forward but don't forget Bill Gates and the Bredda who own Virgin(name slip) me, never finish college.

The fact is our mentality have to change. Our UWI student have to think about new business ventures and research as Michael Dell did, Hewlett and Packard etc. did. Instead of been simple workers they have to be wealth creators. Even if they working the can do stuff on the side.

Our people who call themselves tourism expert have not even developed a curiculum to be taught in high school about tourism and it effect yet. Meanwhile that is our biggest employer and it affect us all. Our policy makers have to get real and no excuse regardless of party. I may pressa the PNP a little more because them in power but I won't let up off the labourite them if them come in. I will be writing a proposal in about a year time and then you will see what mi a deal wid.
          Sass I'm going to work with you:Yes the Jakan mentality has to change but how and to what? To say do your own thing is one (a leader of JA would always mention self reliance) but as I pointed out to ben we will always be beaten in the low skill game. Our population size is too small for it and there are many nations from S. America to asia with low skilled numbers that can under cut our prices (with lower standard of living as the driving force).

Education is not only good it's our best bet in the info age. It's okay I know you labourites aren't believers in education but Okay on a serious note; the US has a diverse population of two hundred fifyodd million how many Bill gates came from it (Bill gates was on scholarship for math at Harvard). In the US you have people teaching at the Ivy league without degrees. We cannot look at the US and take this route. We must realise that we are a small nation and take the path of the tried and proven (Singapore, Malaysia et al) In the IT game quality education is fundamental. Let me give you a glimpse of the info age:In time to come all colleges in the US will use engineering curiculum (got this from MIT mag)as the standard course (no more liberal arts) you then branch from there to your major. This thing is no joke, some serious things are on the horizon. Education will be the key to winning and dominating in the info age; as you can see India and China has a jump start on most developing countries (Japan with the other Asian tigers have taught the world a lesson here). We did sent out a signal to the world (Jodi Anne Maxwell) but that's it. We have the potential but we must , I repeat must adjust our education system.

Yes the UWI graduates need to start thinking outside of the box, but guess what if you have a faculty that thinks in the colonial way, the students will follow. In the philipines the students attend a vocational school on computers (not college)when they graduate they were writing virus codes and hacking the net. Most of UWI and CAST graduates cannot solve real world problems, they aren't trained to apply the theory. JA could get some professors from India and China to start teaching our future minds (hey MIT and other elite schools are doing it). I had friend in school who always kept saying: "why we blacks kept studying management and we don't have any money? When yuh get money you can start talk about management, wha yuh ah go do manage other people money?" Yuh notice when the Asian countries dem start worry bout management though? after dem start producing. Right now Jakans need to start producing something (if it's human resources in the form of outsourcing so be it). I think the info age is tailor made for countries such as Jamaica.

Sass Ja is nice and we will always have a certain amount of vi

eehhhh, eeeh, deh pon dem, I too notice that the poster and Lazie did not comment on the Crusie Ship post, I don't blame them from staying away, serious matter yu know:angry.

Lets see if Jawage ago comment here, I know him know nuf bout Tourism, CC man mi unda stan::smooooth:.

Wait til I find the story fi post about the World wont have any fish by 2050, let me see the party politics spin they can put on it.

May have to call this site Spiders web, they have more weave movethan Tappa, guh deh Tappa.

See my answer to Sass JA hasn't reach the

level and sophistication in approach to the US as yet. Everything on a major scale must go through a party or GOVT. Ja is just grasping the concept of leadership (election of Portia by delegates). Creative thinkers cannot survive in the present JA, JA still has a mentality of ages gone by. There is improvement though but there is a far way to go. I just post because I cannot stand to see the rants and hand waving. It's not easy boss, did you see how many years it took to subdue the balck market? (the info age helped here)

TDowl (11/8/2006)... I can't understand why you and Lazie keep looking for leadership from these party.
                TDowl, is leadership importantfor citizensofa country? Before yuh mek a mistake, why are others countries so taken up with the leadership? How can the policies of a government impact onthe direction a country? If youthink that there aren't any leaders in either of the parties, what yuh want? Fi England tek it back? Might as well!

" If youthink that there aren't any leaders in either of the parties, what yuh want? Fi England tek it back?" NO NO, but for you Lazie to among that leadership group. My argument is based on your passion and concern about Jamaica.

Good leadership is essential period.

Lazie is not one to shy away from obligations.

BTW next time reply under my thread.

Thanks for your reply, as I now know you are aware of those parties limitations of such, but the obstacle can still be overcome by the Brainy people.

Now, What are your thoughts on turning away of Cruise Ships, due to lack of berth space? take into consideration Port Lucea and Port Antonio idling?

I beg you pardon here, I now notice that you did follow up on my thread.

Please answer the cruise ship question.

I heard an interview with the head of the PAJ, pity .. I didn't hear all of it but I did hearthere was to be a meeting yesterday to address the pier in Ocho Rios. I have been searching the papers to see the outcome of that meeting. I washolding off until then.

Bredren based on my studies in polices and economics I see how important a role government plays in growing the economy. Economies don't grow despite government policies instead it grows because of it and that is why I pressure them so much.

If you see the last part of my statement it is "I will be writing a proposal in about a year time and then you will see what mi a deal wid" right now I have been so busy with a young family, school work and some business on the side so in a year or two I will be able to contribute in terms of polices directly to some of these politicians on both side.

In the mean time you can't excuse them for their waste and lack of economical and business policies and background the enhance growth. Government have to do their jobs or you will only have a few successful businessmen and the massive get poorer and poorer.

PNP, JLP I don't care and call me what you want. Any government in Jamaica can grow the economy by 5% a year I will give full hundred. That means the GDP is growing and our debt will be less and over 10 years we will have manageable debt. Until then making promise and doing nothing will not be good enough for me or telling me what Manley or Seaga did in their times. Jamaica have unique oppurtunty to grow and all the other caribbean Islands around us are growing except Haiti and their growth may surpass us under UN supervision.

Just check the growth of Trinidad, Barbados, Dominican Republic and othe caribbean islands over the last decade and you will see we are joking and just talking pretty words.

Jawge the fact of the matter is UWI have educated some very bright people and so many would just hold a job in Ja but when they go overseas they do others things and florish. That is because the culture and economic evironment in Ja.

When a family member of mine build a guess house in the hills of St.Mary and invited guest up everybody talk bout the condition of the road and say them nah come back again. Who should fix the road?

When a family member who have a business in Kingston since the 1990 sixties and employ over 15 workers run into a little hard time and want a loan and the bank tell him bout 25% interest rate or higher, who should he blame? Should we all do like the people in Fort George who run their own water supply? If the Government run it, it is income generating for the nation and can be monitored properly, so when government a get blame you can't tell me bout opposition or that we don't have enough talent. Granted we should all strive for better education and educate everybody but it depend on what you are teaching them or they will only be slave to a trade and nothing else which is what many Jamaicans are falling into and that is why we have been reaping sugar cane the same was as it was in slavery days and can't mek a profit. Government policies have everything to do with developement.

mi see Tdowl and Jawge run left this yah one

Nu sah, mi nah dance weh from it, nuh put mi inna dem deh daggas class deh, but nu yu seh "I will be writing a proposal in about a year time and then you will see what mi a deal wid" mi too patient fe yu, I am with your article hiyah, mi nuh si no hole inna it.

You want si fe a long time I man a try figet one a mi well learned brethren pon di forum to collabarteinna some big venture, but since yu have mi hayes cookup, memba seh mi receptive for positive, uplifting and faawudness, de I nuh come ya fe jesta.