How about vasectomy for irresponsible men?

• How about vasectomy for irresponsible men?

Monday, January 05, 2009

Dear Editor,

Reference is made to a letter in your January 2 edition, "The answer lies in tubal ligation" where the writer proposed that the state should pay for tubal ligation for all (teenage) mothers.

I note with concern the continuing trend of placing the sole responsibility on females for contraceptive and reproductive measures. This trend is not only limited to discourse on the issues related to unwanted or abused children (as offered by the writer of said letter) but in the stark reality confronting many women who are left to raise children on their own while the fathers of these children continue to be fruitful and multiply with other women. Indeed, in the instant case of the girl who it is alleged abandoned her baby to attend Sting, public criticism and the legal repercussions seem to be levelled mainly against her. The father should be charged as well, and perhaps since we are getting the state involved, they should consider legislating a new offence dealing with abandoning the mother of one's child.

The fact is that the solution to the issue of unplanned parenthood cannot be dealt with in those drastic terms as proposed by the writer. It is one that has to be dealt with through education and empowerment of our young people. At this point, Jamaica is trapped in a cycle of children becoming parents who themselves did not receive proper parenting and guidance. This reality has far-reaching effects on other aspects of our society and contributes to social and civil decay, economic hardship, crime and violence, among other things.

Unplanned pregnancy is caused usually by two irresponsible people - a man and a woman. The responsibilty is therefore 50-50. In response therefore to the ludicrous suggestion of having the state pay for tubal ligation of women, I propose an equally ludicrous one which seems apposite in the circumstances: How about the government paying for the voluntary vasectomy of "males" who already have at least one child not being properly supported financially or emotionally, and these "males" could opt to have a vasovasostomy (vasectomy reversal) when they can afford and are ready to become real fathers?

Lisa Williams
    Montego Bay
    St James

over to you HL.

Some man nuh have no cohoness and maybe dem fi get check before undergoing a vasectomy.

I note with concern the continuing trend of placing the sole responsibility on females for contraceptive and reproductive measures. This trend is not only limited to discourse on the issues related to unwanted or abused children (as offered by the writer of said letter) but in the stark reality confronting many women who are left to raise children on their own while the fathers of these children continue to be fruitful and multiply with other women.

Unplanned pregnancy is caused usually by two irresponsible people - a man and a woman. The responsibilty is therefore 50-50.
        Lisa Williams
        Montego Bay
        St James
        So, the most that can be made here on this message board of a very serious, forward-looking letter is the rather ridiculous and legally challenging "vasectomy for irresponsible fathers"? The most that can be made of the comments by a lady who has ventured to think out of the box is a humour-laden question?

This letter has raised some serious issues, and plunges straight at the heart of a society that has always been blatantly sexist in gender issues! Hopefully, more relevant comments will be forthcoming! But I must confess that the issues raidsed in this letter by Lisa Williams are issues that I have thought about in the past, and they are issues that, ready or not, Jamaica will have to start discussing as soon as 21st century economic woes really start to set in!

I see some will continue with their self-righteousness in 2009 while Rome is burning.

Over to me Assasin?

You well know my position on mandatory 'sterilization' after x amount of kids--( depending on the case) ....

What is wrong with these people? How hard it is to go research how we used to live before slavery and what our norms and culture were?

we are a spiritual people and now we have adopted all the ways of the slavemaster. What about holistic medicine and spiritual upliftment?

Its like we have been fed a steady diet of negativity about ourselves for so long we can't even bring ourselves to think outside of what we have been taught

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9WOZ0C4gPAI

We have to go back to our past to even start to believe that we can build a new future.

Yet our elders and so called intellectuals have a problem with us revisiting our past and dem same one turn round a bawl bout the youths and how dem vile.

Who are these people and weh dem come from with dem brainwashed views

respect

a full time we go back to seeking