• We lose the trophy!

Caracas named 'murder capital of world'

CNN)
    -- At least 510 people were killed in Caracas, Venezuela, in December, giving support to a recent report that called the city the murder capital of the world. A chalk message reads No More Murders as a student protests killings in Caracas in this file photo.

It's against that backdrop that the country's minister for Interior Relations and Justice announced efforts this week to combat crime in 2009.
    Minister Tareck El Aissami said Monday he will form 50 community police units in Caracas and take other measures so that "we can have in a short time a culture of peace, tranquility and calm for all the Venezuelan public."
    By all accounts, it will be a tall order.
    Foreign Policy magazine said in September that Caracas tops the list of five murder capitals of the world, with an official tally of 130 homicides per 100,000 residents. The city, which is Venezuela's capital, has about 4 million inhabitants.
    Foreign Policy is owned by The Washington Post Co. and published by the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace.
    The United States made the magazine's top five, too, with New Orleans, Louisiana coming in at No. 3. Its murder rate is estimated as 67 per 100,000 by its police department and 95 per 100,000 by the FBI.
    Still, the rate in Caracas comes in far ahead of the following four murderous capitals.
    "Caracas has become far more dangerous in recent years than any South American city, even beating out the once notorious Bogota, [Colombia]," Foreign Policy said.
    Don't Miss

"What's worse, the city's official homicide statistics likely fall short of the mark because they omit prison-related murders as well as deaths that the state never gets around to properly 'categorizing.'
    "The numbers also don't count those who died while 'resisting arrest,' suggesting that Caracas' cops -- already known for their brutality against student protesters -- might be cooking the books," the magazine said.
    CNN affiliate Globovision TV reported this week that officials reported 510 killings in Caracas this month, capping a particularly brutal year.
    "It's shocking," said Jennifer McCoy, director of The Americas Program at the Carter Center in Atlanta. "It's the biggest concern of the population -- crime and security."
    Federico Welsch, a political science professor at La Universidad de Simon Bolivar in Caracas for 25 years, has seen that crime up close.
    "Violence is the major problem for Venezuelans, according to any source you use," Welsch told CNN on Tuesday. "It's doubly sad because, primarily, the deaths occur almost exclusively in the poor sectors, and, secondarily, it's among youth under 30 years old."
    McCoy points out that the killings are "basically poor on poor."
    From the 1970s to the 1990s, the poverty rate nearly tripled, from 25 percent to 65 percent, McCoy said. Even though the poverty rate declined during the oil boom that started in the 1990s, she said, the rate remains high.
    "It's a combination of economic-driven crime ... with other types of gangs, to police abuse," McCoy said. "The police are not properly trained and not properly equipped."
    Anti-crime efforts in Caracas also suffered, she said, when the national government took over the city's police force in 2002.
    "There has been trouble getting the police force back to par," she said.
    Welsch said he doubts the anti-crime measures El Aissami announced Monday will work.
    "You can't resolve this problem with police," Welsch said. "The government is co-responsible for there being so many firearms. There is no good gun control, there are no permits and there is no good control over the militias."
    The problem, Welsch and McCoy said, transcends the drug trade and gang battles.
    "You don't have the guerrilla problems," McCoy said. "You don't have drug cartels. You don't have a large mafia."
    Welsch lays much of the blame on the 10-year-old government of socialist President Hugo Chavez.
    "The government discourse," he said, "is that if you are lacking something it is because of injustice. Then look for it, take it away from those who have it. You can obtain justice with your own hands."
    The magazine lists, in descending order, Caracas; Cape Town, South Africa; New Orleans; Moscow, Russia; and Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea, as the top five murder capitals in the world.

see that we not unique? just have bad company

Re: We lose the trophy!

The fact is that, as a supposedly Christian nation (one of the largest numbers of churches per capita on the planet), we should not have been in the running for this questionable distinction in the first place!!!

Having said that, the accuracy of reports on so-called "murder capitals" of the world have to be questioned, as how many countries keep reports and statistics of the real homicide situation? Nevertheless, one thing remains clear and it is that Jamaica's horrendously high homicide rate has played a major role in putting the Caribbean in a bad light! Other regional nations, most notably Trinidad, also have their share of high statistics, but certainly Jamaica contributed immensely to the recent international report that placed the Caribbean at the very top of the regions with the highest violent crime rate!

Re: We Not Unique

see that we not unique? just have bad company
        It's New Year's Day, and so I won't start this debate over again except to say this: The facts will show that of the more than two dozen independent and non-independent nations of this region we call the Caribbean, Jamaica is unique in that it has:

1. By far the largest homicide rate per capita of any island (including unstable Haiti);

2. Some of the most violent crimes frequently committed (burning of homes, even with people inside on more than one occasion); forced upheaval and removal of entire communities; one of the largest source of drugs (marijuana) imported into other countries;

3. Poor annual economic growth. For example, during the 1990s era when the region was benefitting from the positive growth in the USA, guess which country was recording continuous negative economic growth?

4. A popular cultural form that at this present time displays vastly more potential, when compared with other Caribbean popular cultures, of causing social problems in neighbouring countries. (See the recent discussions on Sting and some dancehall proponents today; see also the harsh reaction of several Caribbean governments -- Guyana, Bermuda, the Bahamas, St Vincent & the Grenadines -- to specific cultural representatives (read dancehall artists) performing in their countries.)

5. One of the highest road deaths (vehicular accidents) per capita.

Historian,

Christianity, or religion, has no bearing on criminal behaviour. the countries with the lowest rates of crime are primarily secular and there is no public "endorsement" of any particular religious groups... the fact is that the most religious societies are the most murderous.

Historian,

Christianity, or religion, has no bearing on criminal behaviour. the countries with the lowest rates of crime are primarily secular and there is no public "endorsement" of any particular religious groups... the fact is that the most religious societies are the most murderous.
            Amen!

Really Sad

Historian,

Peter, I am by no means going to even suggest that you are wrong.

What I'm going to say, though, is that the church (representing the predominant religion in this hemisphere) seems to have failed to make the moral impact on our societies that one would have hoped. Throughout the Caribbean, North, Central and South America, we see where the church plays a fundamental role today, as it has (through various denominations) since the arrival of the first missionaries to the Amerindian societies (Spanish colonists) in the late fifteenth and early sixteenth centuries. This role increased substantially with the arrival of the Africans, and then increased very rapidly after 1838.

Despite this influence of the church in the Caribbean and Latin America, we see where some of the highest homicide statistics per capita emanate from the Americas. I suspect that, on a per capita basis, the only non-New World (Americas) states to surpass our region are Russia, New Guinea and South Africa! Look at the islands -- Jamaica, Trinidad, St Lucia, the Bahamas -- and mainland territories such as Venezuela, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Guyana, etc.!

Really sad. Really incomprehensible.

Maybe the churches are part of the problem?

H,

Check this article...it's about T&T but maybe one could apply some of his analysis to Jamaica?
                  http://caribbeanfever.com/forum/index.php?topic=1863.0

That's the conclusion of the article I 've cited below.

Yes in cities with that kind of high level of murders, I think it is very hard to say which one is really the absolute worst. For example I saw a recent news report about Rio de Janeiro, where thousands of people had disappeared in the last 2 years, never to be heard from again. Who knows how many of those are homicides that never get cleared up.

There is no credible correlation between religious beliefs and crime. I agree with the authors that the "turn-to-God strategy" can worsen the crime problem if it is a substitution for good police work.

Not so fast! The report talks about cities. What about countries? Where do we fall on that list? Do we still hold on to that trophy?

Wha' appen Mo? Yuh sound disappointed.

Here's Another Article

H,

Check this article...it's about T&T but maybe one could apply some of his analysis to Jamaica?
                              http://caribbeanfever.com/forum/index.php?topic=1863.0
                              Peter, thanks for this very interesting finding.

At the same time, though, I'll say this: There are researches and there are researches, and the best thing that one can probably do is check various researches and findings. Look at this, for example:

Does religion lead to more self-control?

A new study by University of Miami professor of Psychology Michael McCullough finds that religious people have more self-control than do their less religious counterparts. These findings imply that religious people may be better at pursuing and achieving long-term goals that are important to them and their religious groups. This, in turn, might help explain why religious people tend to have lower rates of substance abuse, better school achievement, less delinquency, better health behaviors, less depression, and longer lives.

In this research project, McCullough evaluated 8 decades worth of research on religion, which has been conducted in diverse samples of people from around the world. He found persuasive evidence from a variety of domains within the social sciences, including neuroscience, economics, psychology, and sociology, that religious beliefs and religious behaviors are capable of encouraging people to exercise self-control and to more effectively regulate their emotions and behaviors, so that they can pursue valued goals. The research paper, which summarizes the results of their review of the existing science, will be published in the January 2009 issue of Psychological Bulletin.

Complete article:
                              http://www.scienceblog.com/cms/does-...rol-18125.html