you a try fi change the argument because you know the facts that the current law was not in place then and nobody got lockup for cursing then.
So nothing happen a Sting
So if him live a norbook him a still ghetto youth right?
what is the citeria for ghetto youth? What if he refuse to swear and go a church is he still a ghetto youth if him born a Tivoli and move to norbook? Even if him not as rich as kartel- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
msn broke the law and them a prepare charges, same thing that happen for the last few years.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I didn't think we were discussing legality, I thought we were discussing good/bad or wrong/right in terms of society.
But mek we leave it alone, because next thing you going to say is that dancehall is not bad or wrong, and we were not discussing dancehall in general either.
Happy New Year sah."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
TDWOL tell them
Bounty Killer arrested for using obscene language at T&T concert
Entertainer gets bail but passport seizedBALFORD HENRY, Observer writer
Tuesday, August 17, 2004
BOUNTY KILLER.to face court November 1
JAMAICAN dancehall deejay Bounty Killer has been stranded in Port-of-Spain,Trinidad, since Sunday after his passport was seized by the police there.
The deejay, whose real name is Rodney Price, was taken off the stage at 'Summerfest 2004', a concert staged at the Queen's Park Savannah on Saturday night, for using obscene language during his performance.
He was arrested and charged under Section 51 of Trinidad's Summary Offences Act, which makes it a crime to use language considered profane, indecent or obscene in a song. He appeared in court yesterday and the hearing was postponed until November 1. Although he has been given TT$25,000-bail, his passport has been seized by the authorities, preventing him from leaving the island.
Elephant Man, who was on the same show, but refused to perform after Bounty Killer was detained, was understood to still be in Port-of-Spain up to last night.
According to a source in Port-of-Spain, Bounty Killer and Elephant Man were scheduled to headline the show, which also featured Machel Montano. A crowd of over 15,000 people were said to have descended on the venue despite warnings of Tropical Storm Earl.
Montano opened the show and was followed by Bounty Killer who, sources said, launched into a tirade of obscenities after 15 minutes on stage.
A member of his team went on stage to warn him against the behaviour and he apologised, but suggested that he was a "bad man" who had to use the words. The police immediately took him off the stage and detained him for approximately half-an-hour at the venue before taking him to the Central Police Station where he was charged.
In the meantime, persons in the crowd started pelting the stage and the police with bottles, forcing cops to shield themselves with plastic chairs. However, two constables assigned to the city's Guard and Emergency Branch were injured in their faces and had to be taken to the General Hospital for treatment.
A side screen used to project the happenings on stage to a wider audience and other equipment were destroyed during the incident.
The police, a source said, retreated to the front of the stage and fired several shots into the air and used tear gas to disperse the angry crowd. Sources said that it was the first time the local police had to use tear gas at a music concert.
The local authorities then deployed a large contingent of police and soldiers in Independence Square and surrounding areas to monitor people leaving the event.
Elizabeth Montano, mother of Machel, stood surety for Bounty Killer.
When he appeared in Port-of-Spain's Third Magistrate's Court yesterday morning, the deejay's attorney, Devesh Maharaj, asked the prosecution to clarify the charges against the deejay. Eventually one charge was brought against him, that of using obscene language during the performance of a song.
The entertainer reportedly pleaded not guilty, then tried to change his plea after consultations with his attorney, but insisted that he did not commit the crime during the performance of his songs.
Magistrate Maureen Gafwoor said that she could not accept his guilty plea, since he insisted that he had not committed the offence while performing his songs. The case was put off until November 1. However, the police have decided to hold on to Bounty Killer's passport, as they say they fear he may not return to answer the charges. Efforts were being made yesterday to appeal to the High Court for a ruling which would allow for the return of the entertainer's passport.
Trinidadian sources claim that this was not the first time that Bounty Killer had to be warned about his behaviour on stage there.
In the meantime, the promoters of the event, Tristar Promotions, have promised the public a free concert in September featuring both Bounty Killer and Elephant Man
Historian and Lazie. Both of you have some valid points which I agree with. I see Lazie's point that Sting, a stage show, show not be blamed for the ills of the soceity. This is like saying that stage shows like Sumfest, Irie Jamboree or Rebel Salute should be banned when they put the same Vibz Kartel or Movado on their line up. Who should be blamed is the organizers who promote these type of behaviours and who don't put things in place to control and prevent them. In the past, Beenie Man and Bounty Killer have clashed before on Sting and have gone on to perform at the internationally acclaimed Sumfest. Should Sumfest be banned?
Lazie, in principle you have a point, but the reality of the situation is that Sting and its promoters feed into the slime and the moral decay that our soceity has sunk to, therefore, the authorities need to take stronger actions to address this problem. The big problem however, is that the powers that be don't have the balls to take such stronger actions against the things and the people who are contributing to this alarming rate of decline in our morality. There are other events which also contribute to this decline, such as the nightly dances: Weddy Weddy and others. When I see some of the videos of the behaviour that is excused as "just having a good time", I am appalled to say the least. Regardless of however you, or anybody want to spin it, Dancehall (the lyrical contents, which, for the most part, is real gutter) music is a big contributing factor to the moral decay of the Jamaican soceity.
Lazie, I love Jamaica with all my being, that's why I am addicted to this forum. The forum offers a link to Jamaica that goes beyond the media. I have been living outside of Jamaica for 10 years now, and it pains me to say this, but I am glad. The reason why I am happy is because of my soon-to-be 16 year old daughter. When I read and hear about what is happening in Jamaica today, I am happy for her sake that we are not living in Jamaica. Outside of the daily murders, which have crossed all boundaries (gone are the days when the murders were concentrated to the innercity communities), there are so many other negative influences which would be outside of my control that would be giving me sleepless nights: "No panty Wednesdays", the abductions, the increase in porn movies...starring ordinary Jamaicans, violence in the schools, the wanton disregard for authority, ........................... (space left to add your own ills). These are the signs of a soceity heading for total anarchy, and Danchall music "generally" glorifies most of these ills. Everything that I listed above can happen here in the USA, however, not to level which prevails in Jamaica. However, I am comfortable in the knowledge that if found out, it would be dealt with swiftly by the American authorities. This is what separates the USA (a First World country) from Jamaica (a Third World country); the willingness to act and the effectiveness of its authorites. Our authorities are failing us. Stamping out the negativity out of Dancehall music and banning or implementing stricter controls or requirements for stage shows like Sting would be a great start.Last edited by Jangle; January 1, 2009, 01:02 PM.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Lazie...inasmuch as peole need to take responsibility societies cannot function properly without certain laws in place...and laws that are enforced. There is something about our human nature that is primordial and if not regulated, then anarchy will reign. So for the drinkers e.g. there are (in a developed society) rules and consequences for abusing alcohol let's say behind the wheel.
Some things cannot be just left alone for people to regulate themselves.Peter R
Deserving of a Second Reading!
Most forumites have probably already read this hitting-the-nail-on-the-head post by Jangle. It should be required reading by all dancehall apologists. In case anyone missed it, I'm quoting it and taking the entire thread to the top again to provide another opportunity for reading. This post, in my opinion, sums up the situation and the problem perfectly! Excellent! Amen!
Originally posted by Jangle View PostHistorian and Lazie. Both of you have some valid points which I agree with. I see Lazie's point that Sting, a stage show, show not be blamed for the ills of the soceity. This is like saying that stage shows like Sumfest, Irie Jamboree or Rebel Salute should be banned when they put the same Vibz Kartel or Movado on their line up. Who should be blamed is the organizers who promote these type of behaviours and who don't put things in place to control and prevent them. In the past, Beenie Man and Bounty Killer have clashed before on Sting and have gone on to perform at the internationally acclaimed Sumfest. Should Sumfest be banned?
Lazie, in principle you have a point, but the reality of the situation is that Sting and its promoters feed into the slime and the moral decay that our soceity has sunk to, therefore, the authorities need to take stronger actions to address this problem. The big problem however, is that the powers that be don't have the balls to take such stronger actions against the things and the people who are contributing to this alarming rate of decline in our morality. There are other events which also contribute to this decline, such as the nightly dances: Weddy Weddy and others. When I see some of the videos of the behaviour that is excused as "just having a good time", I am appalled to say the least. Regardless of however you, or anybody want to spin it, Dancehall (the lyrical contents, which, for the most part, is real gutter) music is a big contributing factor to the moral decay of the Jamaican soceity.
Lazie, I love Jamaica with all my being, that's why I am addicted to this forum. The forum offers a link to Jamaica that goes beyond the media. I have been living outside of Jamaica for 10 years now, and it pains me to say this, but I am glad. The reason why I am happy is because of my soon-to-be 16 year old daughter. When I read and hear about what is happening in Jamaica today, I am happy for her sake that we are not living in Jamaica. Outside of the daily murders, which have crossed all boundaries (gone are the days when the murders were concentrated to the innercity communities), there are so many other negative influences which would be outside of my control that would be giving me sleepless nights: "No panty Wednesdays", the abductions, the increase in porn movies...starring ordinary Jamaicans, violence in the schools, the wanton disregard for authority, ........................... (space left to add your own ills). These are the signs of a soceity heading for total anarchy, and Danchall music "generally" glorifies most of these ills. Everything that I listed above can happen here in the USA, however, not to level which prevails in Jamaica. However, I am comfortable in the knowledge that if found out, it would be dealt with swiftly by the American authorities. This is what separates the USA (a First World country) from Jamaica (a Third World country); the willingness to act and the effectiveness of its authorites. Our authorities are failing us. Stamping out the negativity out of Dancehall music and banning or implementing stricter controls or requirements for stage shows like Sting would be a great start.