• Perhaps we should replace our leaders with Brazilians

Sugar divestment deal could be sealed in two weeks
    Patrick Foster
    Wednesday, December 31, 2008

THERE was no word from the agriculture ministry up to press time last night on the status of negotiations between Government and Brazilian company Infinity Bio-Energy for the sale of the state-owned Sugar Company of Jamaica (SCJ).

However, chairman of the Jamaica Sugar Cane Growers Association (JSCGA) Allan Rickards told the Observer late yesterday that the deal could be inked as early as two weeks from today.

Sugar workers register before collecting their notice pay at the Bernard Lodge sugar factory in St Catherine on December 18. (Observer file photo)

"It is my understanding that representatives from Bio-Energy will be in the island in the next two weeks to sign the agreement," Rickards disclosed.

Today is three months since the original September 30 date for the signing of the deal that would see five sugar factories - Monymusk, Frome, Bernard Lodge, Inswood and Duckensfield - and the Petrojam ethanol plant at Marcus Garvey in Kingston sold to the Brazilians.

"There was an extension of three months after which any party could opt out of the deal," Rickards told the Observer last night.

He added that all the arrangements that formed part of the divestment package were now in a state of readiness.

However, a press release from the Ministry of Agriculture yesterday said only that Government had put in place transitional arrangements for the commencement of the 2008/2009 sugar-crop as negotiations continued with Infinity Bio-Energy.

"After consultations with the JSGA and trade unions respectively, arrangements are currently being finalised with Wray and Nephew and Worthy Park estates to accept and process some of the cane to be reaped by private cane farmers registered to Frome and Bernard Lodge," the release said.

Wray and Nephew and Worthy Park operate privately-owned sugar factories.

Two weeks ago Government paid out approximately $800 million in notice pay to employees of the SCJ with a promise of redundancy payments to begin next month.

The ministry said then that the redundancy payment process was initiated based on the advanced nature of the negotiations with Infinity Bio-Energy.
    Last edited by Karl; December 31, 2008, 01:05 PM.

happy new year when it comes, rockstar!

Re: Perhaps we should replace our leaders with Brazilians

Perhaps we should replace our leaders with any other leader from the Caribbean region! (Although I would select Barbados' former prime minister Owen Arthur first of all.)

The 2007 United Nations Human Development Index (HDI), which is said to measure development, shows clearly the success of our leaders over the years! As far as the Caribbean is concerned, we ranked below everyone else (except for Haiti), with Guyana immediately above us and Haiti immediately following us!!

how about replacing them with youth.

Based on the journalist them the two best performing ministers are the young Minister of Education, Minister of Agriculture.

Brazil have some bad leaders too although the current president seems to be doing good this time around.

And consider that 50 years ago, Jamaicans voted against the West Indies Federation because it was felt that the other Caribbean nations would be an economic liability.

They voted for Busta, tell me how many voters during that time told you "the other Caribbean nations would be an economic liability" so Sir?

Right back at you bredren, respect gamma!

Blessed

Where have you been Sir Rockman ? How is Man U doing ? Happy Holidays and the all the best for the new year.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Heheheh, u tink de lickle 7 points lead(quite possibly ongle one point)Pool has mean seh de fat lady dung sing already?
                  Ask man and man wha Man U did to fi dem team whey dem sure did ago win cause a some point they were lucky to have the lead.
                  Happy New Year boss, and u were right from the get go about Simoes chances of.......
                  Well done!

Blessed

Lata we will talk , January will be a decisive month , I bet I wont see you again until next season when January pass ...lol.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

And consider that 50 years ago, Jamaicans voted against the West Indies Federation because it was felt that the other Caribbean nations would be an economic liability.
                      True, Islandman, but it's easy for us to say differently in the context of hindsight. Back in the late 1950s and early 1960s, no Jamaican could conceivably have predicted that bauxite-rich and banana-rich Jamaica would have reached this economic and social abyss! The same thing with Guyana! But look how both countries have collapsed.

The new players today in terms of economic power in the English speaking Caribbean are obviously Barbados, Trinidad and the Bahamas. But, aside from Trinidad, which was a Caribbean "power" even back in the early 1960s, could one have known in advance the rise of the other two (Barbados and the Bahamas) to the economic status they now hold?

I'll say this, though: Owen Arthur's democratic removal from office is a major loss to any attempts at Caribbean integration at this time in our history.