Why them Stone Maxi Priest/Bunny Wailer at Sting?

• Why them Stone Maxi Priest/Bunny Wailer at Sting?

Islandman and Historian think about this.

Not because them can't sing but the majority of the music buying public in Jamaica is more concerned about the baseline and lyrics.

Just looking at it I think the Jamaican crowd just need a catchy lyrics and a baseline.

Most a the people who actually sing are marketing their music in Europe, Califonia and Japan these days hence people like Tony Curtis, Singing Melody, Thriller U and a lot of singers don't even bother to release songs in Ja.

Historian as you talk about AJ boots Brown don't you see were he was singing for a while? Vegas and even now he does selected audiences. He record song for the local public just to remind them that he is still there.

The singers have to only go with certain experience producers. Joe Gibbs was good at letting the voice be heard and Sly and Robbie is good at that too. Look at Madonna song they had with her, the clarity and the voice came accross.

Singers have to do a better job of getting there voice in the music. Sanchez have a few songs that the hold the baseline for the start of the song and he came accross very well, one such song is "your are not alone" and the killer is "I will never fall in love".

I think its more to it than just that they didn't like their music. It is the whole environment of Sting that caused even a legend like Bunny to be treated like he was.

This is the most hardcore dancehall crowd you will ever find, for the most part they have ZERO tolerance or interest in any other kind of music and even if they do, they don 't want to hear it at Sting. They come to see lyrical violence and if there is some real violence to make it more exciting, so much the better!

Not much different from ancient Romans who went to see two gladiators fight to the death. The pre-show may have been some "light entertainment" like throwing a few Christians to the lions, but if this takes the lions too long they wouldn't have had a problem with going down there and carving them up themselves so that the main event could get started.

Sting is a hardcore uptempo dancehall audience. You don't have to clash to mash it up, but you can't go there and sing a whole heap of slow music to them unless you perform very early.

True but remember is more than Sting. Dancehall night at Sunsplash and Sumfest regardless of which act is performing is the biggest night. These people actually go out and support so the producer etc. locally go after them.

Yes I realise that but the mood of Sting from almost the beginning and the track record suggests that there is something unique about that show.

If I heard that a top flight DJ got shot at Sting it would not suprise me in the least. I never had that kind of expectation at Sumfest and Splash dancehall nights.

The big difference is the organization behind the other major shows. Josey Wales once step up to Ninjaman and said "Hey bwoy a longtime me a look fi you yunuh" and give him a box as he walked off the stage at Sunsplash and ninja run leave him.

The same kinda behavior is on display at some a the NY area show them too. As mi say them have a big audience that them can exploit.

once again, it comes down to the audience... the sting crowd dont want reggae one drop, culture and lovers rock... they want and expect hype from the artistes... sting is clearly a hardcore dancehall event...

on another show bunny wailer and maxi priest would be enjoyed and celebrated, even by some of the same people who 'backle' dem...

Damn, I could not have stated it any better! This is actually a very good summation of the issue highlighted by Assasin above! And your analogy using the gladiators of the ancient Roman empire simply makes your point even clearer.

Another excellent post, Islandman! Well thought out.

I think its more to it than just that they didn't like their music. It is the whole environment of Sting that caused even a legend like Bunny to be treated like he was.

This is the most hardcore dancehall crowd you will ever find, for the most part they have ZERO tolerance or interest in any other kind of music and even if they do, they don 't want to hear it at Sting. They come to see lyrical violence and if there is some real violence to make it more exciting, so much the better!

Not much different from ancient Romans who went to see two gladiators fight to the death. The pre-show may have been some "light entertainment" like throwing a few Christians to the lions, but if this takes the lions too long they wouldn't have had a problem with going down there and carving them up themselves so that the main event could get started.

The big difference is the organization behind the other major shows. Josey Wales once step up to Ninjaman and said "Hey bwoy a longtime me a look fi you yunuh" and give him a box as he walked off the stage at Sunsplash and ninja run leave him.

The same kinda behavior is on display at some a the NY area show them too. As mi say them have a big audience that them can exploit.
                  Very good and logical point here as well, Assasin! Good example given, and I also fully agree with your last sentence.