• Serani's No Games crashes onto Billboard's R&B Hip Hop chart

Serani's No Games crashes onto Billboard's R&B Hip Hop charts

By Kevin Jackson Observer writer
    Monday, December 22, 2008

Dancehall artiste Serani was quite taken aback when he learnt that his current hit single No Games had made its way onto the prestigious Billboard singles charts in America. "I am very happy and I feel good about all that has been happening," Serani told the Observer via telephone on Friday.

SERANI... I am not sure if we are going to shoot the video in Jamaica or overseas, but it won't be a Jamaican director
    No Games, produced by Linton 'TJ' White and featured on the Unfinished Business rhythm, debuted at number 55 on Billboard's Hot R&B Hip Hop Singles and Tracks chart. Over on Billboard's Hot R&B Hip Hop Airplay chart, it is the hot shot debut at number 53.

An established dancehall producer before he took up recording duties, Craig 'Serani' Marsh is a member of the Daseca production team. He came to the fore last year as an artiste with the hit single Doh which featured Bugle. His subsequent hits have included Mama Still Hungry, Stinking Rich, Romance and She Loves Me.

According to Serani, No Games was inspired by a need for mutual respect from females. "It's a real life thing. If I take something serious like a relationship, I would like mutual respect. I would like her to take me seriously. I am not into playing any games."

He pointed out that dancehall selectors took a while to catch on to the song, but he knew it had the potential to be a hit. "From the girls like the song, I knew it was going to be something big," said Serani.

A new video for No Games - which is one of the songs on the Tads Records recently released compilation, Reggae Jammin Vol One - will be shot on film shortly to capitalise on the mainstream success.

"I am not sure if we are going to shoot the video in Jamaica or overseas, but it won't be a Jamaican director," Serani added.

The success of No Games has fast forwarded plans for the release of Serani's debut album. The album according to the artiste, is almost complete. "We haven't yet decided on the next single, but the album is almost complete. Right now, we are in discussions with major record labels with the view of hammering out a deal soon. But we are not yet finished with No Games because right now its locking down the North East in America and we still have the rest of the world to deal with," said Serani.

No Games not only figured high on several charts here in Jamaica, but it reached the number one spot in the British Virgin Islands, Trinidad and Tobago, and St Lucia. It is currently making major moves on the New York Reggae chart.

Interestingly, Serani's stable mate Mavado's hit single So Special (which was also produced by White and also featured on the Unfinished Business rhythm) re-entered the R&B Hip Hop Singles & Tracks chart at number 53.

White was equally excited about the success of both of his singles on the Billboard chart. "This justifies the good work that I have been doing. You don't get that kind of credit and recognition in Jamaica, but it's a good feeling when you get that kind of recognition outside of Jamaica," White said modestly.

Asked if he had envisioned that both songs would have been cross over hits stateside, White said "I was anticipating the Mavado track to be a crossover hit. I had worked with him before on the song Last Night which was a big hit for him. The Serani song is nicely done. But the Mavado song So Special basically opened the doors for the other songs on the rhythm. Honestly, I never thought of them reaching Billboard."

Linton joins a list of Jamaican producers who have had multiple hits at the same time on any Billboard chart. The others include Stephen 'Lenky' Marsden (his Diwali rhythm spewed hits with Lumidees Oh Oh Never Gonna Leave, No Letting Go by Wayne Wonder and Get Busy by Sean Paul); and Cordell 'Skatta' Burrell (whose ****** Dance rhythm dragged hits including Pull Up by Mr Vegas, Move Ya Body by Nina Sky, Jook Gal by Elephant Man and Kip Rich, and Pitbull's Culo up several Billboard listings).

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/lifes...OP_CHARTS_.asp

Good fi Serani.

That song is atrocious

The man might cyaan sing, but him strike gold with this tune.

The young people of today have no appreciation for well composed music. This man is singing off key. I used to tell my 15 yo daughter that she couldn't sing, but after hearing Keisha Cole and Cierra, she is certainly no worse than them. I have to see if I can make a small change off her "singing" voice.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Well the thing with Serani, he is a producer and the way he produces his tracks he ensures that he hides his voice limitations as much as possible. Combine that with the fact that his songs usually have some catchy melodies and he has people singing his songs. Also his songs tend not to have much explicit content, so it is easy to crossover.

That being said. The song is atrocious

I guess same thing can be said of T-Pain and his "singing".
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Well T-pain just simply use the computer and done.