Evaluating Singers & Musicians

Yes I definately missed the reasoning. LOL

OK boss, you win. REGGAE is as technically demanding as a musical art form as JAZZ and CLASSICAL music, and SKA legends with solid JAZZ backgrounds like Don Drummond and Tommy McCook is proof of this.

Thanks for the enlightening discussion.

FOOTNOTE

Let me add (shouldn't really have to but you know how it go) that this argument has nothing to do with how powerful, deep and entertaining reggae music is. It will always be the music that has the greatest impact on me and I will listen to more than any other.
    Last edited by Islandman; December 23, 2008, 03:47 PM.

yeah and jennifer Holiday song that jennifer Hudson made her own.

Have you heard the British Leona Lewis, the British idol?

Saw her once on American idol and i think she was great.

Thats how it should be, It will always be the music that has the greatest impact on me and I will listen to more than any other.

In other words to each his own .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I am a diehard Skatalites fan, do you know how many shoes soles I have worn out. I wonder if Lazie can Shuffle? matter of fact this big man challange him anytime any place(easy Wailing Wailers).

Check the Jazz bakground omponent of their musicians, now if you could upload "From Russia with Love"(Not the King Stitt youtube).

Thing is when I was a boy , it was John Holt, Dennis Brown and Gregory for me , when i started to dig in the foundation of them all it led me to ska .Best thing Jamaica ever produced, I doubt if the young ones even some of the older ones about my age , hearing it would recognise it as thier own.It has a huge following in S. american and Japan where stadiums are filled.We just discard it as a part in reggae history , it deserves much more.Phyliss Dillion belted out some classics.

From Russia with Love, the arrangement in those days were great , world class in ,my opinion up there with anything N.America threw out , the proof to me was England lapped it up at the time and it still sells in S.america, Europe and Japan, not as a footnote in reggae but an active paticipant with all these Ska bands popping up .

from russia with love.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nJWGOgvF-K0

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Lawd a mercy, mi find a Selecta, yes I, weh Mosiah deh and lead foot Ben and all who seh dem a "Town" man, challange is in your court, looser swin in Kingston harbour LOL.

This will be in my favorites shek eh shek, talk about kiss up mike.

Check this version, this is the one King Stitt Toast on:
                http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tq_dB...eature=related

LOL , just you tube boss type in the Bar

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h4WXJ...eature=related

Dont Stay Away , Skatalites in the background or what remained of them .An Original.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uvCCQ...eature=related

Phyllis Dillon

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Jump to: navigation, search
                  Phyllis Dillon (1 January 194815 April 2004) was a Jamaican ska and reggae singer who recorded for Duke Reid's lucrative Treasure Isle record label in the late 1960s and early 1970s.

[edit] Life and career

Dillon was born in 1948 in Linstead, St. Catherine, Jamaica.[1] Influenced by American singers Connie Francis, Patti Page and Dionne Warwick, she began singing in talent contests. It was during a performance at the Glass Bucket Club in Kingston, Jamaica with the group The Vulcans, that Duke Reid's session guitarist Lynn Taitt discovered Dillon.[1]
                  Dillon was 19 when she recorded her first record for Duke Reid. In 1967, Reid released Dillon's "Don’t Stay Away". While most of Dillon’s subsequent recordings would be covers of popular and obscure American songs including Bettye Swann's "Make Me Yours", Perry Como's "Tulips and Heather," The Grass Roots "Midnight Confessions", and Stephen Stills's "Love the One You're With"; "Don't Stay Away" was an original composition featuring Tommy McCook and the Supersonics as the backing band.
                  Another original song, "It’s Rocking Time" would later be turned into the Alton Ellis' hit "Rocksteady". While these early recordings demonstrate Dillon's mastery of the rocksteady sound, a much slower, soulful, response to the sultry weather that made ska's upbeat rhythm and tempo undesirable even impracticable, it was no indication of her greatest performance, 1967’s "Perfidia". Popularized by the American surf rock band The Ventures, "Perfidia" is a 1940 song written by Alberto Domínguez and made popular by the Cuban bandleader, Xavier Cugat.
                  At the end of 1967, Dillon moved to New York.[1] The following five years, she spent living a double life. She had a family and career in the United States, flying frequently back to Kingston, Jamaica to continue recording for Reid.
                  After a number of singles and an album entitled Living in Love, Dillon ended her recording career in 1971. She was 24 years old.
                  In 1991, Michael Bonnet, the entertainment director for the Oceanea Hotel in Kingston approached Dillon inviting her to sing. Her refusal at first was later rescinded and sparked a revitalized interest in performing and recording. In the years following, Dillion would tour the UK, Germany and Japan.
                  In 1998 Phyllis Dillon returned to the recording studio with Lynn Taitt, marked by reinterest in ska music in the United States. She remained active until illness took hold.
                  Phyllis Dillon died on 15 April 2004 in New York, after a two year battle with cancer, at the age of 56.[1

Check This Roland Alphonso before the great one passed , heard he fell on hard times in brooklyn before he passed .

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qcskb...eature=related