agree wid yuh...after my post above i read this and went to my beres "file" and you are RIGHT....take for example "you don't have to lie" ... TREMENDOUS range in that there song!
Evaluating Singers & Musicians
I can never remember that lady name, always remembered that she died so young. Yes that is a great song, serious singing. Pity she never had a chance to have a long career."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
What about "I am gonna walk away from love" by one Mr. David Ruffin?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
den wi nuh been thru dat...this is the reggae thread...
what about "everything's coming up love"? eh? cho
btw chuck jackson has a version which i believe to be the original and if i am correct...then the remake outclass and outpace the original.
You ever watch the Temptations movie? Look like him was a pain in the a$$ to work with.
He was a one-of-a-kind singer and entertainer though.They must have had sleepless nights before and after they kicked him out of the group."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
I do have a problem with it especially when you coin "GREAT" as if other genres cannot be classified as great ?Then to use it in a plural nature as singers and musicians .
The subject clearly reffered to reggae with a group of genres as having limits , ridiculous to generalise because each have to be judged on its own merit.
If you are going to submit a thesis on great naturally you expect a retort.I reserve that right and yes I will defend my Jamaican music.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Wouldnt you call that so called lack of creativity a musical cultutral expression?
Reggae music and its fans dont require , deep baritone screams as expression , if you can do it to a reggae tune fine , but to sing melodicly on a tune is preffered.
Why would you call our musical expression lack of creativity and thiers great? Its a serious question ?
Its not like we dont have or had singers whom could express themselves creatively , and to argue that the music doesnt allow you to express yourself is simply not true.
Look at these R&B artiste doing reggae ,Estelle ,Lauryn Hill , etc .THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Originally posted by X View PostWouldnt you call that so called lack of creativity a musical cultutral expression?
No I would not call a producers lack of creativity a cultural expression. I would call it a lack of creativity."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by X View PostWhat about this ?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YDMxL...eature=related
or this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aknC-1keUp8
Or this Argentinian Band doing over a ska classic
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UsApj4A-jeQ
Concrete Jungle, big chune sah, the dibby dibby DJ dem nuh know this classic, this is playing the full range of the instruments, changes sweet, a 2 Baba Roots sah.
Originally posted by X View PostWhat about this ?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YDMxL...eature=related
or this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aknC-1keUp8
Or this Argentinian Band doing over a ska classic
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UsApj4A-jeQ
Number 2 link is dead.
Dancing Mood - I have always said SKA is the best music that JA as put out...Damn I would love to be in that audence...Yes, bring bak the Brass instruments..the Trambone man has a mello sound...great arrangement..
Originally posted by Assasin View PostWhat you think about "Loving you" by Minnie Riperton? That is a great song if I have ever heard one.
"Loving You" is indeed a great song. It is truly a beautiful, haunting piece by an obviously talented singer who left this earth way too soon! This recording by Minnie Riperton ranks among my all time favourite recordings!
What has given me many moments of laughter over the past couple of decades is the usual result when many sincere women try to hit the high notes in that song! Talk about women and girls embarrassing themselves! lol
A similar result often occurs when many females try to hit the high note in Whitney Houston's "Saving All My Love For You." I have had countless moments of open as well as supressed laughter as a result.
I guess you missed the reasoning ?
I just wanted to know why would you describe it as lack of creativity ? and could it be ourway of musically expressing ourselves? Its not as if we dont have singers who cannot hit certain notes in a Gospel style but that they dont have to because our musical expression isnt about screaming on a microphone.
I went into an African american church and i was turned off by the GOSPEL CONCERT , thats what it was in my opinion, I went to a west indian church and the low key tone kept my spirit still, why because that was what I was raised in .
To me its proof that this musical expression is all cultural , maybe in the future , well even now I see the Gospel concert vibe influencing our own churches here in NEW YORK , maybe its the same at home.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
I was trying to post the original version by the skatalites of police woman, you tube pulled it !
GREAT tune!THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!