Evaluating Singers & Musicians

• Evaluating Singers & Musicians

In the thread of my recent post on “Great Black Singers,” I was asked the question, where do reggae singers fit in. That was a very good question, and perhaps an inevitable one in a case where there was an absence of reggae stars in my thread on great black singers.

The problem, for me at least, is that genres such as reggae, calypso, soca and hip hop do not demand much from a singer or musician, and so much is not required by performers in those styles. Classical music, jazz and American gospel music, on the other hand, impose immense standards on singers and musicians, which is why, for example, African-American gospel is such a fertile field for discussing great singers.

Now, there are various criteria that one can use for evaluating singers. Each of us reading this thread has his or her own set of criteria, I’m sure, and it is hoped that this thread will encourage responses from the regular readers here on what they use to evaluate greatness in singers and musicians.

For me, range is one of several criteria, and one only has to listen to a singer like Melba Moore (remember that 1980s hit, “Lean On Me” where her classical training was displayed?), or to someone like Maria Carey to see the impact that the ability to hit very high notes can have on the listener. As a little boy, I was always fascinated by Patti LaBelle and the Bluebell’s rendition of “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” because of what Patti did in that song.

On the other hand, singers like Anita Baker and Mary J. Blige show us so well that alto singers can be outstanding too! Popular alto singers like Baker and Blige never ever touch high notes, yet they touch us with the beauty of their work in the same way that Melba Moore and Maria Carey do. The same things apply in the case of male singers. So, while range is an important measuring stick, the paradox here is that lack of wide range is not necessarily a drawback.

A next criterion of mine is creativity; the ability to be flexible with ones voice. Remember an oldie from the 1960s called “Broken Hearted Melody,” by Sarah Vaughn? Listen to how she plays with that song, with the result being one of the most beautiful pieces ever recorded in pop music history.

Vocal creativity is vital in jazz, and to some lesser extent, in African-American gospel and R&B. Do you recall the impact made by Take-6 when they first emerged? Here were guys who were literally using their voices as jazz instruments, singing not merely your regular three-note harmony, but using their complex harmonies to give the illusion of extended and altered chords! This was not some silky, beautiful Boyz II Men harmonizers! These guys were taking harmony way beyond the woo-bop level, and to this day I remain a huge fan of Take-6. In my opinion, Take-6 is without question the greatest singing group I have ever heard!

Turning now to the music itself, have any of you readers watched the new Morgan Heritage DVD live recording of their “You Don’t Haffi Dread”? Check out that lead guitarist. I have no idea who he is, and my guess is that he’s an African American dreadlocked musician hired for this European tour in order to provide a rock-edge to the group’s sound. His accurate, solid rock style and finger-tapping harmonics reminds me of another outstanding dreadlocked lead guitarist I had seen accompanying Shine Head at a Kingston concert back in either the late 1980s or early 1990s.

I have always felt that having a rock fusion feel to our reggae music would contribute immensely to success abroad, particularly in rock-crazy Europe. This feeling is bolstered by what Chris Blackwell did to Bob Marley’s “Concrete Jungle” back in the 1970s.

Anyway, as far as instrumentalists are concerned, my criteria are:
    (a) Technique (chops) on the instrument;
    (b) Speed and accuracy
    (c) Knowledge of chords
    (d) Knowledge and usage of notes and scales
    (e) Taste

What you think about "Loving you" by Minnie Riperton?

That is a great song if I have ever heard one.

Dis bredda serious.

The problem, for me at least, is that genres such as reggae, calypso, soca and hip hop do not demand much from a singer or musician, and so much is not required by performers in those styles. Classical music, jazz and American gospel music, on the other hand, impose immense standards on singers and musicians, which is why, for example, African-American gospel is such a fertile field for discussing great singers.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

What standards do they impose(Great Black Singer N.America) that ska, rocksteady and reggae did not impose on themselves ?

Exclude dancehall , like you did rap ! Funny thing is when dancehall just came in all the reggae singers used to bawl about this computer music as being limited.Now you come with this to argue against one of the most revolutionary music .

Have you ever head of D.Drummond, Skatalites , R Alophonso etc geniuses by some in the Jazz world.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I believe this tune meets all your criteria:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Loy55z4GpA

I agree that black gospel and R&B tend to stretch a singers talent more than reggae does. Thats why sometimes it is difficult to tell how good a reggae singer is, because thier range is not tested. A good example of that to me is Sanchez. If you have ever heard him singing standards on original chords and not the typical dancehall tunes he does you will know what I am saying.
            Wasted talent (from an artistic point of view, not necessarily commercial).

Historian I agree with just about all of your criteria but don't you have to give some weight to consistency? There are so many one-off great performances , so I have to draw the line somewhere. Take for example original Dreamgirl Jennifer Holiday's rendition of "And I am Telling you". I was watching a youtube clip the other day of one of her Broadway performances of this and it is special! But did she do much else after that?

Melba Moore brings back great memories for me. What a voice and an ability to control it! I saw her a few years ago doing one of those touring black gospel plays where there is a lot of singing, still sounds pretty good.

I think I saw only Willi mention Whitney but nobody else and really she deserves to be with the best of them. She fits all of your criteria in my opinion, and the thing that used to amaze me about her is the ease with which she would hit and hold those high notes. When you can sing something like the Star Spangled Banner and make it sound like she did at the Super Bowl in the early 90s, you good!

How would you rate Beres and William Bunny Rugs Clark ? and why is Gospel singers the standard ? To some it sounds like screaming in the microphone with a deep tone.I dont think that is hard to do .How about catching a high note , which reggae singers do with ease .Or singing with a smooth tone .

Gospel is the american standrad , and for any other culture to try and define itself by that would be cultural suicide, our singing culture especially in the Gospel arena isnt personified in a deep baritone screaming on a pulpit, totally opposite , usually someone trying to catch a high tone.

The musical standard of our artiste were just as high as any american in the early 60, 70 , 80s when live bands were the norm , our horns men , guitarist , composers etc were and still are rated among the best in the world.

In this computer age we still hold our own and in some cases out do our rivals .Its hard to argue against an Island competing against the most powerfull financial music industry in the world the USA.

You see Jamaican musicinas have sung to the world for decades that there are other standards that can be attained in this world of music and it also can be calle great and in some cases rated as the greatest.

No female singer touches Marcia Griffiths and Phyliss Dillion in my book.
              Last edited by Sir X; December 22, 2008, 09:11 AM.

What about this ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YDMxL...eature=related

or this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aknC-1keUp8

Or this Argentinian Band doing over a ska classic

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UsApj4A-jeQ
                Last edited by Sir X; December 22, 2008, 09:44 AM.

X, I notice that you seem to have a need to constantly make pronouncements about the greatness of everything Jamaican, even when these areas of greatness are not being questioned. You have to realise that as outstanding as reggae music is, there are certain limitations that come with playing or singing that kind of music It is not a bad or a good thing, it just is what it is. That is all we are saying.

Are you suggesting that the technique required to be an accomplished reggae bass guitarist for example, requires about the same talent and effort as becoming an accomplished jazz guitarist? Of course not! Its just two different types of music and one is more difficult to master than the other. Sorry if you take that as a knock on Jamaica or reggae, it is not.

If you want an equivalent example in sports, would anybody who understands both baseball and cricket say that the requirements to be an outstanding hitter in baseball is the same as being a world class test cricket batsman? Of course not! Sure both need good eyesight and hand-to-eye coordination but a test batsman has a lot more to master including long hours of concentration, different kinds of pitches and environments, a lot more different kinds of scoring, batting and running with a less accomplshed partner, etc,etc. It doesn't mean cricket is "better" , more exciting than baseball, has more fans, or generates more money. It is a simple comparison of the difficulty level in technique required to excel in two somewhat similar sporting activities.

Hope that helps you to understand where we are coming from.

Historian and Islandman.

I can't agree fully with what you what you guys say fully.

Singers can still use ranges but there is a difference with a suffisticated audience such as a Jazz and a broadway audience as oppose to a dancehall and hip hop one.

Some singers do use good ranges but the audience is more concerned about the lyrics and the riddim.

What is nicer than to go to a stage show and hear Ken Boothe do a song like "Puppet on a string" and hear Sanchez using his vocal range after drinking a juice or two.

Dennis Brown had a nice vocal range at the top of his career listening to songs like "have you ever", "Love has found its way" and "Sitting there watching" etc. Berres in his early day while working with Harold Butler and others concentrated on his deliver and vocals in "one step ahead" and "Give me your name and number, got to be your lover".

There are some singers who do sing but whether or not the producer is interested in the talent and the sound.

I don't see where we really disagree too much. To use the same Sanchez example, its not that he doesn't have a serious vocal range, its that 95% of the time he does HAVE to on his recordings. A jazz singer or a gospel singer has to use thier range a lot more often, just because of the nature of the music.

Like you I have heard Sanchez voice out on a stage show and realise this guy could probably sing any genre successfully.

What Historian says about why gospel singers are the fertile ground for R&B singers is very true. I have visited a few black southern churches in the US in recent years, and mek me tell you sometimes the pipes I hear on some of those local choir singers is simply amazing. But I only get to hear it because of the kind of songs they are singing!

So its not that reggae singers can't sing or that a few like Beres and Ruggs don't display thier vocal range at times , it is that in general the music does not require them to do it anywhere near as often as a Gospel or Jazz singer does.

Where I differ is I think it is more the audience don't demand it and many a di producers are lazy to explore.

some of the music if you tone down some a the baseline and let the singer sing it will demand better vocals but if you dub it will a heavy baseline then it wont.

An example is Buju Banton Album that he Destiny and the other classics that he did a few years ago. Not Buju is a singer but it was far different from his regular stuff and you had vocals with clarity.

Ok I think i get your point. You are saying its not that reggae music in itself cannot challenge the singers more, its the lack of creativity of the producers and lack of demand from the fans.

I would definately agree with that for the singers, even for the musicans to a lesser extent. Seems as if when the drum and base dominates the music too much it gives the musicians too little room to explore.

definately.

Sometimes the man them can ease off a the base if it is even for a line or two and the song will be ok. A very good example was the halfpint "Greetings I bring from Ja". Them just hold the bass a little and make the singer come to the foreground and then let it go again.

yes that high note was something else boy...often initated, rarely duplicated...i understand that maya is her daughter and the song is really about her....in the ad lib he says maya maya maya.....

have not been able to confirm that.

brokenherted melody....agreed.

beres may not have great range but what he does with what he has is fantastic ddly enough i find this to be more true in his early work...;i'm in love, one step ahead, got to get away, somebody lied......