Kartel vs. Mavado. Who unnuh think a win a Sting?

Originally posted by Lionpaw View Post
    how many artistes of your generation made it overseas compared to ours. point the finger at us for being fans? ok, point away historian, point to your heart's desire.
    Sean Paul, Shaggy, Beenie Man to name a few. Now who from your generation?

What you seem to miss is that alot of these DJs are being saved by the riddim. Now the Latinos are taking the riddim and putting their people on it. I guess as long as they have people like you jumping up fi daggering dem cool.

By the way ... Lionpaw ... is a clash between this 2 official?

Movado: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J0cydBHEpBI
      KArtel: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gI-cz4M3PUQ
      Last edited by Lazie; December 22, 2008, 12:42 PM.

it suppose to be official but mavado a start chicken out. him run offa the stage at a show in st elizabeth last week when kartel walk on pon him. him was throwin word but him never know that kartel was the surprise guest artiste. kartel say, "hey barber bwoy" and Movado vanish. anyways, kartel perform and tear dung the place. since dat movado come pon tv and say him nuh inna di clash ting a sting. real likkle gyal pickney him be.

anyways, back to the debate. this right here is my final contribution to it. not even ago say nuttin. just watch this video...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e42CM66__VU

argument done!!

Whats the video suppose to prove?

that dancehall nowadays is easier to gravitate to.

How you figure that?

Tenor Saw, Tiger and others performed to big crowds in Japan.

If you go to the states them still prefer Beenie hits them from over 10 years ago and Chaka Demus and pliers etc. over anything new.

Mad Cobra, Beenie, Super Cat, Capleton and Buju were all bigger than any of the young acts are today.

Most of the the acts from the 80's and 90's were much better performers than those today.

Obviously in your defensive stance you missed something. I'm a fan of dancehall, however the artistes dem need to put better lyrics together. Showing me a video of some Japanese dancing to it is one thing, how many of them are going to want to hear it next week?

Yuh can tek up a Shaggy or Sean Paul hit tune from couple years back and get a reaction from yuh crowd.

The authorities need fi get wick'd. Any sound system whey play anything too graphic get fined. When such pressure reach the sound system, watch and see if artistes wouldn't have to clean up their lyrics.

Sorry fe buss yuh bubble Mr. Paw, but it is no different than Dancehall of the 80's and early 90's. The only difference is that with today's technology it has become more accessible to a wider and more diverse audience. The artiste are still singing about the same crap, but as i said, I'll take the old school any day over today's garbage.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Sorry fe buss yuh bubble Mr. Paw, but it is no different than Dancehall of the 80's and early 90's. The only difference is that with today's technology it has become more accessible to a wider and more diverse audience. The artiste are still singing about the same crap, but as i said, I'll take the old school any day over today's garbage.
                    No Jangle what putting out today is way over the top. Yuh can play most hits from the 80s or 90s and nuh worry about editing. Play a Vybz, Movado, Materon and see? And because they got so popular with it, others just following the trend. Erup have a track call Click Finger with some words whey nuh necessary.

But Lazie, we have to be careful of how we criticize today's young'ns, because our music had to be edited too at the time. Soceity has evolved to the point where certain words are acceptable and are no longer curse words. A case in point is the frequent use of the word "bitch" and "a ss" on tv today. Back in our days, those words would be banned from the air. Back in our days, just seeing a kissing scene would have us blushing. Now I have to bite my tongue when I am watching tv with my daughter and there is a love scene on. At her age, I couldn't even be in the same room with my mother, but now what am I going to do....chase her out..........she has a tv in her room and a laptop. Shabba, who is still my favourite DJ was the king of slackness. Today, Vibz Kartel mek him look like a boys scout. Ninja, who was the "baddest" of them all, can't hold a candle to the likes of Movado. It's just the change in times my friend.
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Very good analysis. It seems its the societies tolerance level that changes and forces these guys to get more and more explicit in order to have the shock effect.

Shabba had some really slack tunes. The other day on XM I heard them play "X-rated" and still had to shake my head. Shabbas slackness was not so much the language, he really didn't curse a lot, it was the graphic descriptions. I haven't really heard much of the current set of DJs to compare though.

Very good analysis. It seems its the societies tolerance level that changes and forces these guys to get more and more explicit in order to have the shock effect.

Shabba had some really slack tunes. The other day on XM I heard them play "X-rated" and still had to shake my head. Shabbas slackness was not so much the language, he really didn't curse a lot, it was the graphic descriptions. I haven't really heard much of the current set of DJs to compare though.
                          Please ... X-Rated could play on air without any editing today. Shabba had a tune, "where does slackness come from?" well, Vybz can answer dat. Right now the only Vybz I can play without worry is "Money fi Spend!"

Isn't there a point where the slackness is so explicit its no longer entertaining? I guess that point is constantly moving.

As much as the slackness can get ridiculous at times, the bad man lyrics to me is 10 times worse. I get what Assasin says about "nuff gyal" and all of that but I will take that any day over the gun lyrics.