Kartel vs. Mavado. Who unnuh think a win a Sting?

Originally posted by Lionpaw View Post
    If u want put on tights and go whine up like a gay like the Trinis u go ahead, we wont miss u.
    There is nothing gay with wining up with women. Thats another thing, whats this new trend of men dancing together in dancehall?

you suprise me as you said that nothing nuh wrong wid the "nuff gall" thing.

This is for another thread ... anyway ... yuh nuh hear say there is a man shortage?

"yuh nuh hear say there is a man shortage?"

While I understand things do happen, too many men have too many different kids with different women who they are not taking care of.
          Instead of taking are of the kids the money is used to conquer a new victim.

paw... lyrically, kartel superior... pon de delivery, movado have kartel beat... suh pon de stage show ting weh yuh affi get de people involved, movado mi seh...

kartel tune dem hard fi de people sing... people affi wuk too hard fi really hear weh kartel a seh... movado iz a singjay... him chune dem easier fi listen tuh and more catchy... once again, movado mi seh...

cho, how yuh a gwaan suh... yuh nuh ansa de man question...

respectfully, historian yuh shudda start anedda thread instead a hijack lionpaw thread... yuh have a valid argument, but it belong sumwhere else...

good awgiment lazie... iz like people nuh know seh sting is not for everybody... like many other tings, it has its place... if iz not fi yuh, den leff it an find what iz fi yuh... annuh everybody like jazz an classical music... yuh nuh hear nuhbaddy a lick out pon jazzfest...

Historian, I agree with you on some points but not all. I am not against Dancehall music (I actually love it!!!) nor am I against Sting itself. What i amsimply saying is that the current level of violence being permeated throughout the Jamaican soceity would prevent me or anyone who values his life to go to Sting 2008. I detest MOST of today's Dancehall music as most do not have any content. I have noticed that the artistes/DJ have switched from an anti-gay theme to dance styles, (I am not hearing much badman tunes since I mainly listen to FAMEFM) and now money. I think they are just plain lazy and are in it just to make a quick buck. The DJ Assasin tries to talk about other things, but others like Kartel (who I think is very talented and witty) and Movado (who cannot sing to save his life) are stuck in their rut.

Anyway, as another poster says, we should stick to our tastes. Even though I don't like the current crop of Dancehall tunes, I cannot play the hypocrite because I was/am a great lover of the music from back in the 80's. I am sure there were older folks who felt the same way how I do now about today's music. The lyrics and the current social state of the Jamaican economy cannot be separated, so for now we are stuck with "classical" songs like "Daggaering" and "Badman forward, Badman pull up".
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Kartel say "If it is selling bigtime why change it"?

Historian, I agree with you on some points but not all. I am not against Dancehall music (I actually love it!!!) nor am I against Sting itself. What i amsimply saying is that the current level of violence being permeated throughout the Jamaican soceity would prevent me or anyone who values his life to go to Sting 2008. I detest MOST of today's Dancehall music as most do not have any content. I have noticed that the artistes/DJ have switched from an anti-gay theme to dance styles, (I am not hearing much badman tunes since I mainly listen to FAMEFM) and now money. I think they are just plain lazy and are in it just to make a quick buck. The DJ Assasin tries to talk about other things, but others like Kartel (who I think is very talented and witty) and Movado (who cannot sing to save his life) are stuck in their rut.

Anyway, as another poster says, we should stick to our tastes. Even though I don't like the current crop of Dancehall tunes, I cannot play the hypocrite because I was/am a great lover of the music from back in the 80's. I am sure there were older folks who felt the same way how I do now about today's music. The lyrics and the current social state of the Jamaican economy cannot be separated, so for now we are stuck with "classical" songs like "Daggaering" and "Badman forward, Badman pull up".
                        due to the fact that our generation(apart from me who used to select) can't feel old time dancehall cause we weren't around to understand the vibe and the slang and ting, i would understand you not feeling our generation's music. to me though, dancehall music has evolved. lyrics have gotten deeper and more complex. when u solve the puzzle and understand the analogies that kartel, assassin and busy uses, u jus have to smile and compliment their wittiness. u nah go understand still. please dont use two song as the measurung stick for nowadays dancehall don. cause there were some ****************ty songs back in the day that went number one too. daggering is no different from the cent, 5 cent, 10 cent, dalla type stuff and badman forward is one a dem "how di hell dat mek number one"??? songs.

Stop right there. There is NO comparison with that stupid daggering and dollar wine. Don't disrespect a hit tune.

Same topic. daggaring is the same damn thing as that. i'm not comparing the songs per say, I'm jus talkin about the content, and the riddim. daggering is a whole new genre in dancehall now. leave young people mek we be. i'm sure my colleagues would say that cent, 5 cent stuff is foolishness compared to daggering. my generation and yours will never agree on musical taste. a jus so di ting set up.

Then people in dem ignorance complain when certain artiste nuh mek it overseas. Historian a blame dancehall fi the ills taking place ... maybe him should just simply point the finger at you and yuh colleagues.

how many artistes of your generation made it overseas compared to ours. point the finger at us for being fans? ok, point away historian, point to your heart's desire.