Mek mi see if di forumites dem have sense. Speak unnuh mind.
Kartel vs. Mavado. Who unnuh think a win a Sting?
I used to go to Sting evry year back in the 80's. I saw the clashes between Shabba vs Ninja, Supercat vs Ninja and others, but if I was still in Jamaica, I would be a fool to risk my life to go to Sting in these times. I am willing to bet any money that Sting will come to a violent and abrupt end this year.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
we will see.... mi amigoHey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Best Reply of the Year 2008!
Originally posted by Jangle View Postbut if I was still in Jamaica, I would be a fool to risk my life to go to Sting in these times. I am willing to bet any money that Sting will come to a violent and abrupt end this year.
Today I was looking at the 2007 figures for rape, beatings, murder and other gender-based abuses that Jamaican women and children endure, and the statistics present a horrifying picture!! It seemed almost unreal as I watched several women being interviewed, and as I fought back my feelings of anger, I wondered yet again just how great a role has our culture played in desensitizing the attitude of so many Jamaican men to their womenfolk, children and step children.
Ever since the early days, I have listened to (in fact, studied) the lyrics emanating from dancehall's idiots, and I cannot help feeling that the dancehall culture, with its arrogant, uneducated, sexist attitude towards the women in our society, is a huge part of the problem! Children and teens easily inculcate and adopt what they are taught, and the massive irony we face in Jamaica is that the uneducated class (many of them school drop-outs) are today the teachers of our young ones! This is sickening and almost surreal.
Personally speaking, I hope that Sting comes not only to an abrupt end, but to a permanent one as well.Last edited by Historian; December 21, 2008, 06:09 PM.
Originally posted by Lionpaw View PostMek mi see if di forumites dem have sense. Speak unnuh mind."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
rhatid, why unnuh a try derail mi thread. mek a new thread bout all dat other stuff. Vybz Kartel vs. Movado, who unnuh feel ago win? mi doubt movado or kartel tunes have nutt'n fi do with women being abused and raped. none a dem nuh sing fi beat or abuse woman. next thread please and tunx!
Originally posted by Lionpaw View Postyaaa madman. this sting ago have more armed forces dan up park camp.
Boss, I'm talking here about the gradual destruction and erosion of positive values, attitudes and practices in Jamaican society! Don't you read the newspapers and realize what is happening?
My unshakeable belief is that aspects of our attitude and our culture have contributed directly to our social, economic and political state, and I see looming before me the spectre of Jamaica being officially recognized as a failed state! If you think that Guyana and Haiti are the only CARICOM nations capable of becoming abject failures, then you have another gues coming!
Wake up man! Nonsense like Sting have to go!
Originally posted by Historian View Post...
Personally speaking, I hope that Sting comes not only to an abrupt end, but to a permanent one as well.
Of all the quality music being put out by Beres, Morgan Heritage, Etana etc, the songs getting the heaviest rotation in the NY area are I'm So Special by Movado and No Games by a singer who can't sing, Serani. Funny the other day I saw this white kid walking in the Student Center singing "So Special" and its obvious the only words in the song he knows is ..."I'm so special".
As for Sting? How many years now has this show been going on? How much money this event circulate in the economy? You are aware that there are fans who fly down just for Sting? You are aware that one of the MAJOR attractions for the event is a clash? Personally I think we need another Reggae/Dancehall Show on the Island. I've never been to a Sting and I'd never go to one, but I cannot support the calling for an end to this annual event.
Its amazing, Reggae/Dancehall is from our island, an island that is now hosting Soca and Jazz events, yet we want to do away with our own?"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
big up lazie. yaa sensible yute.
Historian, Jamaica had a high crime rate long before these artistes. politicians are the ones that mash up JA in the 80s. u need fi attack dem historian. they are the ones that developed the savage mentality in the people. the dancehall artistes are just a product of politicians' shady practices starting from the 1980 election. dont point u finger at those from the ghetto who dont decide to go down the regular route of commiting crimes to make a living.
anyways, back to topic......
EMPIRE MI SAY!
Originally posted by Lazie View PostAs for Sting? How many years now has this show been going on? How much money this event circulate in the economy? You are aware that there are fans who fly down just for Sting?
Its amazing, Reggae/Dancehall is from our island, an island that is now hosting Soca and Jazz events, yet we want to do away with our own?
Boss, your views on Jamaica's socio-economic and political scenario on the one hand and your views on dancehall's wasteful cultural practices on the other seem to be a walking contradiction in every sense of the word!! For you, economics take pride of place over morality, and you don't see a problem with this? Is your apparent concern with Jamaica's deep-seated problems mere entertainment from a bored person?
For your information, I could care less how much money is being circulated as a result of dancehall concerts, or how many fans "fly down just for Sting"! I'd much rather Jamaica be a poor country but morally rich than what passes for our society today!
Don't the national problems that you so often articulate on this forum mean anything to you? Can't you comprehend, for example, the nexus between the products and practice of dancehall and dismal primary and high school performance? And there is a link, as has been clearly articulated by educators and sociologists in Jamaica over the past several years! Can't you see any link between the self-aggrandizement and unchecked crudity among dancehall performers with the new idols and get-rich-or-die-trying attitudes of so many of Jamaica's marginalized youth?
Trust me, nowadays when I see your commentary on Jamaica's social and political situation, I simply sit back and smile sadly to myself. You have seen the results/consequences, but you are unable to comprehend some of the causative factors! And it's not only the politicians!
You fail to understand that dancehall is a way out for ghetto youths. Until you, or the politicians can find them another way out, stop complaining. I'm from Portmore and know about Kartel before him buss. If he wasn't an artiste I'm sure a lotta famlies would be crying because of him so relax yuhself and stop fight against our past time. If u want put on tights and go whine up like a gay like the Trinis u go ahead, we wont miss u.
It is ironic that my Anthropology teacher told me that that kind of singing is common amongst tribes in West Africa as they try to degrade each other.
I can't bother with a lot of the stupidness. I however think Ninja man is one of the most talented entertainer ever in Ja. He can create lyrics just in an instant, he can deliver in such a way others can't, He could be a comedian and does well in the studio. Only a pity he wasted himself and his talent.
The big problem with Jamaican music is the connection between the music and violence. Man are educated but in most cases there are no differences with the educated ones. One would have to think hard that Vibez Cartel have any education. I met him once when he just started out and my brethren was doing some promotion and we visit some radio stations with him and I can tell you he is no idiot.
What is even sad about our music is that the some promoters, producers, concert producers were connected to illegal activities so who you think they going to promote?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
History we also have to take responsiblity. Too many of us walk away from the kids and don't even serve on parent teachers assocations, We wreck community organizations. I have friend who had a progressive thing sports thing going only to find the big man dem inna the community was betting on it, and these are university grads etc.
If elders had spend more time giving back then the youths would have something to look up to. The djs are the ones they see in the community and hear so the blame need to go around. The funny thing is when you go a these show you see some granny a jump up to badman/under you business so what do we expect from the kids.
I have oftenly said that my generation and the one before has failed our kids and this is the end product.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Historian View PostThe next time you post any news item or statistics on major social problems in Jamaica, I will remind you of this particular post of yours.
Boss, your views on Jamaica's socio-economic and political scenario on the one hand and your views on dancehall's wasteful cultural practices on the other seem to be a walking contradiction in every sense of the word!! For you, economics take pride of place over morality, and you don't see a problem with this? Is your apparent concern with Jamaica's deep-seated problems mere entertainment from a bored person?
For your information, I could care less how much money is being circulated as a result of dancehall concerts, or how many fans "fly down just for Sting"! I'd much rather Jamaica be a poor country but morally rich than what passes for our society today!
Don't the national problems that you so often articulate on this forum mean anything to you? Can't you comprehend, for example, the nexus between the products and practice of dancehall and dismal primary and high school performance? And there is a link, as has been clearly articulated by educators and sociologists in Jamaica over the past several years! Can't you see any link between the self-aggrandizement and unchecked crudity among dancehall performers with the new idols and get-rich-or-die-trying attitudes of so many of Jamaica's marginalized youth?
Trust me, nowadays when I see your commentary on Jamaica's social and political situation, I simply sit back and smile sadly to myself. You have seen the results/consequences, but you are unable to comprehend some of the causative factors! And it's not only the politicians!
Of course the national problems are a concern, thats why I constantly bring them up. How many songs have you heard that promotes the abuse of women or children? I can only think of two, Prince Buster's 10 commandments and Professor Nuts, "Tan suh back" and the argument can be made that Nuts wasn't promoting suh a thing. I've said it here time and again that the artistes need to improve their lyrical content and the DJs (those that spin the discs) need to take a stand. But this stance of blaming dancehall is comical.
I'd much rather Jamaica be a poor country but morally rich than what passes for our society today!
See, this is why we're on completely different pages. If people a suffer how unuh ago expect all of them to care morals?
Mek mi keep it real wid yuh boss. Unuh want to address the ills in the society? Here are SOME of what people should be looking at. Address the issue of too many single mothers having too many children. Address the issue of too many absentee fathers. Address the issue of one man having 1 child in almost every parish. Matter of fact promote the concept of a family being father, mother and child(ren). There is a problem with gray assed men messing with young teens ... address that. Push for property of convicted Dons and drug dealers to be seized by the gov't, when they get released from prison they'll be seen as another has been and no one will look up to them.
You mentioned something about school performance. Students who cannot show respect to their teachers face some serious consequences. If dem cannot respect their teachers they certainly won't respect others in society. Encourage parents to be involved in their children's academic affairs. Buses that transport the public and play music with certain NFFAP content must be fined or taken off the route. Sound Systems that are playing certain NFFAP content or having the MC cussing or talking in a very graphic manner on the microphone should be fined and the culprit fined as well. Hopefully such a move would force the artistes to improve their lyrical content. I'm certain others here may have other ..even better suggestions.
Banning or seeing the end of Sting will not solve the issues we're facing Historian. Just keeping it real."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)