Appearance and Mainstream Success

• Appearance and Mainstream Success

Reading Assasin’s comments just now on the status of Jamaican recording artists Cherine Anderson and sisters Tami and Tessanne Chin immediately got me thinking about a discussion I had read somewhere. I believe that discussion was on Reggaedancehall.com or some other music board, but the primary thesis of that threaded discussion was that, as far as Jamaican artists are concerned, “brownings” stand a better chance at success in the music business than dark complexioned singers. The success of Shaggy and Sean Paul was used by one or two posters there as references.

Nothing could be further from the truth, but since I have never posted on those music boards, I did not seek to enter that discussion.

Whether we choose to like it or not, the fact is that the modern music industry demands a certain, modern “mass appeal” look from artists. The international music industry and the mass media demand nothing less! One example that immediately comes to mind is Jah Bami, the Trinidadian host on Tempo music channel’s “Cross Caribbean Countdown.” Jah Bami joined Tempo during the days when Tempo was owned by Viacom and was a branch of MTV. (Tempo was sold to a group of private investors a year ago.) Within days of joining the MTV-Tempo staff, Jah Bami had become a new “rasta,” complete with a new slick, urbane persona.

Looking at the Jamaican music scene, it becomes obvious that some artists have made a conscious decision to stay true to the original “roots” appearance, whether or not they are rastafarians. Artists like Tony Rebel, Queen Ifrica, Beres Hammond, Luciana, Morgan Heritage, and a host of others would fall in this category. Some, for example Buju Banton in his video for the recording, “Driva,” make temporary changes to their appearance.

Others, in particular the women (for example Alaine, Ce’Cile, Cherine Anderson, Tessanne and Tami Chin, Danielle, D’Angel, etc.) go for the modern, pop-star look so easily digestible to North American music consumers (and, of course, other consumers as well).

The 1970s, the era of the anti-apartheid struggle, is long gone, and with that era essentially went the urge by European and African audiences to accept the “rootsy” dreadlocked “freedom fighter” look. (North American audiences, particularly African-Americans, never accepted this roots appearance, and this is one reason for Marley’s comparable lack of success on that continent.) A primary reason for Bob Marley’s success worldwide, and that of the others that followed in his wake, was that those artists emerged at the right time in history while championing a pertinent and high profile problem: the struggles in Africa.

That era has given way to increased globalization, a phenomenon which brings with it a greater spread of sophistication and international mass appeal.

On the male side I don't think being a browning is an advantage. Certainly not for dancehall music.

On the female side, it probably still makes a difference not just for reggae acts but also R&B acts. I say this because as you have stated, the pop-diva look is what is marketable for female artistes and unfortunately light skinned, non-African features still define female beauty for most of the world, including pop music fans.

Excellent commentary 'istorian.

Your article is worth submitting to the Gleaner.....

BTW: do not recall you commenting on one of Jamaica's "greatest" ...Eugene Gray...

Browning can be an advantage as sometimes people buy for people who look like them. An example is Sean paul who could pass for hispanic, White, middle Eastern etc.

There are many things that goes with this however. like the McGreggor kids, like the Marley kids, the Chin kids were bought up with a studio in their home and some musical guidance. They were groomed. Artists such as Sean Paul and Shaggy have education and a discipline background. Indicipline beat some of our artists.

many managers can't go to studio and artist come 5 hours later and having to look for them when showtime. international companies want artists that is going to work and is dependable.

Having talk to Berres about this, he said he is on the road for most of the year and he is able to command what he wants and at this stage of his career it is hard for a company to offer him anything unless it is something substancial, not what they are offering young and up coming artists.

it is easy to cry the browning thing but junior reid got oppurtunity with maddona company and turn it down. D Brown messed up his contract with A and M records etc. Can you imagine them a put makeup pon the ras them fi go pon Good Morning America?

As i spoke to a DJ who was signed back in the days and he told me signing only give you the money upfront but you have to work hard afterwards. Signing back in the days mean't no dub plates, and voicing over which many a these artist make a killing from. now some artist such as Beenie could record as they just cared about putting an Album togather for the international market, not the little clash tunes.

The fact is talent can only take you so far.

Patra and Dianna king were black and got two of the biggest contract. Remember Tanya Stephens had a contract in Europe and choose to opt out as it wasn't giving her any freedom and her songs were mainly in Europe.

Queen Ifrica...

Eugene started playing a Harmonica(mouth organ), and was the key person why the Serenaders where formed by Rusea's students.

Niney also cut his teeth with this band.