1) John Holt
2)Marcia Griffiths
3)Dennis Brown
4)Gregory Issacs
5)Phyliss Dillon
Much as I enjoy their music, I would not compare these singers you mentioned above with the likes of, say, Jackie Wilson, Larry Graham or Solomon Burke.
If I were to choose really brilliant singers who have done reggae, three that come to my mind are A.J. "Boots" Brown, the late John Jones, and the late Peter Scarlett.
sometimes beres voice sound like an musical instrument...beres haffi deh deh....richie stevens too...
i think that the lead singer for the tamlins had really great voice too.
someone whose voice smoothed out in later years was tony ..... jeez his last name escapes me noe..he had spent some time in germany and had a hit about 20 years ago called "gypsy"
Infidelity does not consist in believing, or in disbelieving; it consists in professing to believe what he does not believe.Thomas Paine
Tabby Diamond of the Mighty Diamonds was always one of my favorute reggae voices. Bunny Ruggs in the early days was a serious voice too.
Nuff of the reggae purists might disagree but to me, but Sanchez is one of the best Jamaican voices I have heard. I don't know if it was just the era of the music or just laziness, but he was much better than the songs he recorded.
I remember the "Gypsy" guy, but thats the only song I remember him doing.
"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
sometimes beres voice sound like an musical instrument...beres haffi deh deh....richie stevens too...
i think that the lead singer for the tamlins had really great voice too.
someone whose voice smoothed out in later years was tony ..... jeez his last name escapes me noe..he had spent some time in germany and had a hit about 20 years ago called "gypsy"
Tony Gregory. Throw Ruggs from Third World inna de mix de fe me. While unuh at it, then just put in my baby Tami Chin from now. It's not too early fe start call her GREAT!!!!
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
The best Jamaican female voice for me is Diana King. I remember early in her career when she used to be with a little known local band ( City Heat I think??) and would always do some Anita Baker tunes as part of thier set, I said this girl can sing with the best of them.
One night at Epiphany I heard her do "Closer I get to You" with one of the Gold singers (The light skinned one, is that Brian or Tony?) and believe me, Donny and Roberta would have been proiud.
"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
I did have a crush pon her....from a distance. We went to Exed together and back then she lived in Spanish Town. "All my dreams were shattered when I heard she had a man". "House and me money" a she me did waan spend it pon. But she go get pregnant after she did Shy Guy during the heights of her career. Me luv har still!!! I remember when she would perform at the many concerts in the Exed auditorium, from then we knew she was destined for stardom. Incidentally, Nadine Sutherland was there at the same time with us.
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Johnny Gill too young fe de pon the list? What about the "King" of R & B Bobby Brown?
Is Tami that good though? Have to admit I have not listened to her much.
Both she and her sister Tessanne are incredible singers, and very pleasing pon the eyes. I have been waiting for either one to drop an album. Maybe they have, but I have checked and nothing. There are some new female reggae singers out there who are doing some very good (well composed and well written) tunes. The man dem naw gwaan wid nothing except for Beres and Taurus Riley.
ronzoni? isn't that the machine dem use to clean the ice at the ice hockey rinks?
yuh notice nobody threw out michael jackson? in fact ongle YOU mention him .... as inappropriate as his name is in this serious discussion .... sorry we are a little sophisticated in our taste in music than that ..thank you very much!
Re-read the post again. Obviously the michael Jackson comment was sarcasm. Have you ever done an assessment and got one wrong? Not question if unuh sophisticated when it comes to music or not ... but when it comes to Luther Ronzoni Vandross ... unuh nuh have a clue.
Ronzoni? According to his mother when she was asked what his middle name was, she didn't have a clue and saw the name Ronzoni on a box.
Johnny Gill too young fe de pon the list? What about the "King" of R & B Bobby Brown?
Johnny's problem was he needed better quality writers. My My My, There you go, Rub .. the right way .. were some of hits ...but New Edition was what basically kept him afloat.
Tabby Diamond of the Mighty Diamonds was always one of my favorute reggae voices. Bunny Ruggs in the early days was a serious voice too.
Nuff of the reggae purists might disagree but to me, but Sanchez is one of the best Jamaican voices I have heard. I don't know if it was just the era of the music or just laziness, but he was much better than the songs he recorded.
I remember the "Gypsy" guy, but thats the only song I remember him doing.
Yuh just redeem yuhself by mentioning Bunny Ruggs. One of the BEST voices from the reggae genre.
I just couldn't understand his affections for boy bands (hmmmm?). Temeber he was in another group....I forgot their name. He has such a distinctive lead baritone voice, with hit songs. I just cannot understand why he would want to share the fame and money with five other man.