I'm no fan of christmas music, but people, allow me

The continued recycled Christmas music nuh mek it Jangle. The World Greatest didn't do that ... he gave us something simply out of this world.

Warlord why yuh hijack Lazie handle? Yuh caan just switch argument in mid-stream like that. Yuh neva set down nuh parameters.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Warlord why yuh hijack Lazie handle? Yuh caan just switch argument in mid-stream like that. Yuh neva set down nuh parameters.
      Didn't switch anything? Yuh ever guh a the mall this time a year? Walk into 10 different stores and hear the same song 10 times being performed by 10 different singers. It get boring now.

True. However, one thing that makes Christmas so special is tradition. Regardless of how old you get, you will always remember something in your past that makes the season so special. My memories are just witnessing the change of moods of Jamaicans during the season. No matter how hard times are, there is a softness that comes over the island and the people when the Day draws near. Plus nuff food..........mmmmmmm...and office parties!!!!! The traditional Christmas songs also plays a big part, and Mariah's version of that classic is outstanding to say the least. Go back and watch it again and tell me if it nuh move yuh? Whilst I love Luther's "new" Christmas song, it will take many....many....many more years to become a classic.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

donnie hathaway's 'this christmas' for one....even harry connick jnr rendition of the "this christmas" is superior to what is a very very good song by luther but still not even HIS best christmas song....which in my opinion is "may christmas bring you happiness"

"This Christmas" and "one day at christmas" are my favorites.

There is a saying that those who can't do become teachers. Well, those who can't make it in the mainstream stick to gospel.
              I have to completely disagree here, Lazie. You will find that many of today's sincere gospel singers have never tried to make it in the mainstream, nor have any intention of doing so! Their faith keeps them focused on delivering a message of God's love, God's goodness and the necessity of salvation. A guy like Larnelle Harris, to stick to the example I gave, made a conscious decision to remain a deacon in his home town church. Mahalia Jackson confessed on more than one occasion that she turned down several big label offers, because she had no interest in singing secular music.

The reality is that many gospel singers have made a conscious choice to focus fully on spreading God's word! Look at a genius like that keyboardist, arranger and composer Richard Smallwood -- how many pop stars can fill his shoes for sheer genius. But, he has absolutely no intention of ever leaving gospel.

In the same league in my book. Marvin was something special.

I have a hard time picking a single "greatest ever" in categories like these. Often times it just comes down to the impact of the particular artiste or even particular songs on your personal life.