I'm no fan of christmas music, but people, allow me
Originally posted by Lazie View Postto present to you .. the BEST Christmas song ever.
I'm listening to the YouTube video of Luther Vandross with his "Every Year, Every Christmas," and it's undeniably a really beautiful recording! In fact, I love it very much! But to call it the "best Christmas song ever"....?
Certainly, this statement of yours has to be hyperbole at its very best! But then again, since you have stated in the past that Luther Vandross is "the greatest" singer of all times, I really should not have been surprised.
Luther is an outstanding singer (although most certainly NOT the greatest black singer in modern times), but I could give you a list of Christmas songs that would more easily befit the title, "The best."
Originally posted by Historian View PostI completely agree with you on your opening statement, Lazie, as you quite clearly are "no fan of Christmas music." If you were, then how on earth could you select this particular recording as "the best Christmas song ever"?!
I'm listening to the YouTube video of Luther Vandross with his "Every Year, Every Christmas," and it's undeniably a really beautiful recording! In fact, I love it very much! But to call it the "best Christmas song ever"....?
Certainly, this statement of yours has to be hyperbole at its very best! But then again, since you have stated in the past that Luther Vandross is "the greatest" singer of all times, I really should not have been surprised.
Luther is an outstanding singer (although most certainly NOT the greatest black singer in modern times), but I could give you a list of Christmas songs that would more easily befit the title, "The best.""Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Lazie View PostPlease list the songs then. Oh ... and one more thing .. If not Luther ... then who?
Regarding great black singers, I've decided to begin a general discussion focusing on that specific topic. It's in another thread that I've started. Nevertheless, Lazie, while you obviously love the vocals of Luther Vandross very much, how would you rank him against a giant like, say, Larnelle Harris?
Trust me, Larnelle Harris is no lightweight!! However, he made the choice of sticking firmly to the gospel genre, and also limiting his tours so as not to ever be away from his family for too long.
Originally posted by Islandman View PostHistorian, I would have to include Luther as among the best R&B singers ever. Right up there in the same league as Marvin Gaye for me.
My concern was with the rather extreme adjective "greatest" used by Lazie for the past several years in describing Luther Vandross.
One of the greatest voices of ALL TIMES...HANDS DOWN...Mr. Lazie and Historian. Listen to the range and feel the goose pimples:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rt0VfiFxtHoHey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Originally posted by Islandman View PostHistorian, I would have to include Luther as among the best R&B singers ever. Right up there in the same league as Marvin Gaye for me."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Willi View PostOr have yuhself a very merry xmas:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WGa-M...ext=1&index=46"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
[quote=Willi;144656]Or have yuhself a very merry xmas:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WGa-M...=46[/quote]
Willi yuh coulda do betta than da one ya!!!Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Originally posted by Historian View PostThere are too many Christmas classics, both traditional and modern, to even begin to make a list.
Regarding great black singers, I've decided to begin a general discussion focusing on that specific topic. It's in another thread that I've started. Nevertheless, Lazie, while you obviously love the vocals of Luther Vandross very much, how would you rank him against a giant like, say, Larnelle Harris?
Trust me, Larnelle Harris is no lightweight!! However, he made the choice of sticking firmly to the gospel genre, and also limiting his tours so as not to ever be away from his family for too long."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Jangle View PostOne of the greatest voices of ALL TIMES...HANDS DOWN...Mr. Lazie and Historian. Listen to the range and feel the goose pimples:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rt0VfiFxtHo"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)