Words of one Ed Bartlett

• Words of one Ed Bartlett

"Once the airlines are travelling and moving this way, I am predicting that this winter season is going to shock and shame a lot of people," Bartlett said.

I hope you are right Mr. Minister.

"Once the airlines are travelling and moving this way, I am predicting that this winter season is going to shock and shame a lot of people," Bartlett said.

I hope you are right Mr. Minister.
    ... and what if he isn't right? He was doing what is expected of him, but with how things stay, alot of people are simply staying home this holiday season. The PM Sunday night spoke about the advertising taking place, I'm wondering if its worth it, maybe some of that money could be used elsewhere. Who knows.

Bartlett went out and aggressively did what he had to do but this global crisis seems to be too much of a hurdle.

Lazie we can't fold up and die. There are people taking advantages of lower hotel prices to travel.

Hopefully it is not that bad, the more expensive properties might feel the pinch more but a good bargin hotel can win over traveller who use to take long and expensive trip but might instead need an inexpensive trip.

Tourism in december is up by 15% over last year. I pretty much said we wouldn't be affected until late January as there was not a lot of booking available for the holiday period to Ja.

Currenlty we have new flights coming from Britain, new flights from Mexico, new flights from LA and New flights from Canada so hopefully things will not be as bad as predicted.

If he is wrong he will leave with egg on his face but I like Bartlett as he is one trying Minister who don't roll over and die.

Bartlett is one of the old Jamaican government dinosaurs. He has no new ideas.

I know him very well. 'Specially his brother St Aubyn...

Bartlett should be pressuring his government to solve the crime scourge. In that way he would not be left speculating.

(I am sure there is a positive correlation between tourism and the level of crime...).
        Last edited by HL; December 17, 2008, 03:14 PM.

Its not roll over and die Sass. People must constantly be evaluating their strategies. Our major tourist market is in a recession, thousands of people have lost their jobs and others are now wondering if they will be next. Yuh think those people are going to be interested in vacation now?

I didn't say stop all advertising, but why advertise so aggressively in a time like this? I may very well be wrong and I will hold my hand up and say yes ... I was wrong, but some of that fund could be used locally.

Egg on face? Really?

Lazie it name reach out to the ones still travelling. Yes everybody is feeling it but there are people who are still travelling. There are people who still have a little money and wanted a long vacation but couldn't afford it and at record low prices might take advantage.

There are alot of people who normally go Europe, them can't afford it now, some use to go Asia and Middle East and can't afford it but might be able to handle a $700.00 all inclusive trip to Ja for the holidays.

People are stressed and sometimes a little vacation can do wonders especially if you are pampered.

Him nuh really have to have new ideas, he has some very brilliant people working with him, only hope he listen.

$700 all inclusive vacation in Ja, where, when?????
                That sound like a price fi DR.

Link me offline. Mi nah promote them on the forum. Winter might be a little more expensive but upon until December 15 there was some steal prices.

lazie, this is time to spend in advertising... when the market is slowing, is when you have to up the advertising...

Link me offline. Mi nah promote them on the forum. Winter might be a little more expensive but upon until December 15 there was some steal prices.
                      send it to me in a private message. I live for vacations

...i am longing to liddung on a nice beach at an all inclusive in jamaica.

No longer dan nex 'ear...chussss mi.

that prove my point and it may end up that the All inclusive might save we again.

While I support a diverse hotel policy in a time like now All Inclusive is king.

I know him very well. 'Specially his brother St Aubyn...

we are in agree-ance on this one..I was asking the same questions the other day, that even if there are two millions seats coming to the island will any one be in them..will people be thinking about taking vacations, no matter how cheap when they dont know where they will be in six months time.

Bartlet has never impressed me as some one who does any forward thinking and has always come off as being very shallow.