• Bolt launches clothing Apparel to the world

http://sunisland2008.win.aplus.net/s...=8&iPageSize=6

'Speedstar' Bolt launches Sun Island clothing line
    BY KAYON RAYNOR Senior Observer reporter raynork@jamaicaobserver.com
    Monday, December 15, 2008

WINNING three Olympic gold medals and being crowned the IAAF's Male Athlete of the Year do not seem enough for Jamaican sprint sensation Usain Bolt.
    Like international sporting icon Michael Jordan, formerly of the NBA, Bolt has ventured into the fashion industry with his own clothing line. The lanky sprinter, who is only 22 years old, officially launched the Usain Bolt apparel collection in conjunction with Sun Island Jamaica Limited on Saturday.
    Triple Olympic gold medallist Usain Bolt (left) examines a t-shirt from his apparel collection along with Ray Miles Snr, chairman of Sun Island Jamaica Limited, at Saturday's official launch in Kingston. (Photo: Bryan Cummings) "Sun Island and I started a relationship and it's looking good so far. I want to thank them because it is going to be big and it's good for the country because it will do a lot," Bolt said, before donating J$100,000 for charity to the United Way of Jamaica.
    Bolt's apparel collection will focus on three target markets which will be covered by the Souvenir Line (will appeal to all age groups), the Urban Line (with trendy prints targeting people aged 16 to 30 years), and the classy and conservative Signature Line of polo shirts bearing the "To the World" pose popularised by the sprinter in Beijing.
    Norman Peart, Bolt's manager since 2003, told the Observer that, while the clothing line is a commercial venture, it will benefit a number of charities. "We felt that aligning ourselves with Sun Island, we could reach out to charities which would have a significant impact on society," Peart said.
    "We are just trying to help to better Jamaica and the project which we will help United Way with is to put extinguishers into basic and primary schools across the island, starting in my parish of Trelawny," Bolt added.
    The affable sprinter cemented himself as the new face of track and field at this summer's Beijing Olympics by winning three gold medals. He clocked 9.69 seconds in the 100m and posted 19.30secs in the 200m before sharing in the 37.10secs victory in the 4x100 metres relay.
    Managing director of Sun Island, Raymond Miles Jr, says plans are advanced to market the Usain Bolt apparel collection, which is targeting both male and female customers in Europe, Asia and the Pacific.
    "Additionally for the European market, Sun Island is also finalising plans to introduce the Bolt apparel line with organic cotton fabrics and printing with environmentally friendly inks using state-of-the-art digital direct technology," Miles Jr said, noting that many consumers are demanding that manufacturers go green with their products.
    "Then of course there is the market in Asia and the Pacific which has a huge track and field following. We have already initiated discussions with potential distributors in Hong Kong and Australia," he added.
    "These plans may sound ambitious for a small Jamaican company looking to launch globally, but dreams do come true, and with hard work and a committed framework to achieve these goals, I am confident that we can achieve these targets," Miles Jr noted.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Him nuh have nuh sense! How Sun Island fi compete gainst adidas and Nike?!?

Bolt needs a new manager!

Yuh feget Puma ,Big Up Bolt & Sun Island Jamaica

http://sunisland2008.win.aplus.net/s...=8&iPageSize=6

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

the fact that it is his line makes a lot of sense.

I wonder what Puma had to say about this? They maybe the ones losing here.

Sun Island?

how yuh mean? him nuh still sign wid puma? PLUS there is the issue of it competing with his puma endorsement.

i think it is a brilliant move.

I hope the quality is of the highest standard. I remember back in the days there jerseys could not take more than one wash.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I ordered two I will let you know , in 2 weeks.

ok awaiting your report sir.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Adi Dassler started Adidas in a back room after the first European Conflict (WW1) and Phil Knight started Nike in the same way and used to sell the shoes out of the back of his car at local meets on the west coast of the US.

...so that Usain wouldn't have to!

Duh!

Exactly my point. Not sure which was worse Sun Island or Patrick