• Sand theft arrests

Posted: 2008-12-11 12:32:00

The police this morning arrested two persons in connection with the theft of numerous truckloads of sand from a property in Coral Springs, Trelawny.

There are conflicting reports about the number of truckloads.

Initial reports said 500, but the Mines and Geology Division said it could not be more than 140.

It is understood that the two persons were arrested following a raid of a company in Negril, believed to be involved in the theft of the sand.

When contacted Deputy Commissioner of Police in charge of crime, Mark Shields, declined to provide further details on the matter.

However, he confirmed that an operation was carried out and that a number of persons were arrested.

The sand was stolen from an $8 billion development site.

The developer, Felicitas Limited, had planned to build 36 six-star, luxury villas with spa, restaurant, amphitheatre and marina in phase one of the development.

In August, reports surfaced that the sand was found at hotel developments on the island's north coast.

However, officials said that forensic tests done did not confirm that the sand at these hotel developments was taken from the location in Trelawny.

I am sure this does not represent a cover-up? as that wouldnot be 'new and ifferent'. Jamaica is definitely a country with talented poeple . It takes only two people to plan and implement the moving of 500 truck loads of sand. I guess one was driving and one was loading.

suh is di truck driva dem, di police arrest?

Either that or some lower level person....I recall the street people scandal where one female police constable was charged after months and millions of dollars spent on investigations..not holding my breath for any massive break through.

BTW my office been trying to get some one to confirm the arrests which we heard took place in Negril but so far no one has any answers. The police who were contacted in Negril and in Area One had no clue about any arrests.

hopefully a detain they detain them and a get more info.

ah bwoy(mi have fi hope)

some small fry (if any arrest) the big FISH is smelly and will just ROT a natural death