Somalia 2008 (For Assasin)

• Somalia 2008 (For Assasin)

Assasin, about a week ago you expressed your disagreement with my suggestion that Jamaica is not a normal (as in "typical") society. My implied view in that post was how many peacetime societies have scenarios like our beloved Jamaica? In fact, I will now ask you, in which other Caribbean country do incidents like that reported below take place? And this is not the first time!

Wake up, boss, remove the rose-tinted spectacles and smell the roses!

The Star, Monday December 8, 2008
    http://www.jamaica-star.com/thestar/...ews/news1.html

LEAVE NOW OR DIE
    Rasbert Turner, Star Writer

A policeman watches as these residents move their belongings from Gravel Heights, St Catherine, following a warning by gunmen yesterday. - Ricardo Makyn

SPANISH TOWN, St Catherine
    Almost 200 residents of Gravel Heights, St Catherine, fled their homes yesterday after they were labelled as informers and ordered to leave the area by gunmen.

The residents, for whom the police provided security, hurriedly packed whatever they could of their belongings into a number of trucks as they hastily left the community. Clothing, furniture and household items, including bags, pots, stoves, refrigerators, cupboards and even a coal stove, on which a pot of rice and peas was being cooked, were hurriedly placed on the backs of the trucks. Residents expressed mixed emotions - some cried, some sang while others just looked blank - as they removed their belongings. Many residents said they owned the land, which they are paying for under the Operation PRIDE programme. "Oh, Lord have mercy upon us, what next Lord Jesus!" exclaimed a young lady, as she walked to a truck with a barrel on her head and a small child holding on to the hem of her skirt.

Rush and chaos
    The residents, despite the rush and chaos that were created as they moved, told THE STAR that early yesterday morning gunmen entered the community and warned them to leave immediately or risk being killed. The gunmen, they said, claimed they were behind a massive raid on the community by members of a police/ military team on Saturday night. A helicopter was used in the operation. As a result, the residents were given marching orders by the gunmen, and none was apparently waiting to see if the thugs would act on their threat.

"The man dem claim seh we a informer and we must leave the area. So all of us who buy wi land, do all kind of work to build the house and send we children a school, now have to start all over again. In fact, some can't even start over as we not working," said Marcus Ranglin, one of the residents.

Bewilderment
    Bewilderment, fear and concern were evident on the residents' faces. Some just looked into space as they waited to move, while others were pensive, obviously wondering what to do next. Whenever a truck returned to the area, they rushed to get their belongings into the vehicle. Many said it was a really sad situation, but all were glad their lives had been spared.

The residents said there were mostly women and children living in the community as most of the men had fled because of the violence which had erupted. Police confirmed that for months now, they have been patrolling the area due to an upsurge in gun violence. They plan to make their presence felt in the community and have taken a man into custody, whom they say can assist with their investigations into the violence.
    Despite this, the fleeing residents, even those with furniture left behind, say they have no intention of returning.

Historian while I agree that this is bad but this is a very small community.

Yes it is getting worst but we are no worst than India right now, Brazil right now, so many South and Central American countries and African countries. As a matter of fact we are no worst than many American cities right now. Go into Hartford, Atlanta, Philli, some places in LA and the same kind of things going on.

If this was going on in 6 or 10 parishes then I could support your view.

Sass,

It is going on in too too many places in Jamaica. Jamaica is the approx. the size of Connecticut.

It maybe true but it is still not obnormal as we would like it to be.

We shouldn't have gotten there in the first place and should do a whole lot better but there are many other places where the same safety is a concern as well.

Absolutely crazy! With police helping the citizens to move!!!

Madness!!!

Yuh not for real! Das all I have to say.

Mi notice that earlier and mi just haffi shake mi head. Nuff a dem police probably dem pon the payroll of the gunmen.

and a supply gun to di gunman dem tuh! di real informahs is most likely di police!

Historian while I agree that this is bad but this is a very small community.

Yes it is getting worst but we are no worst than India right now, Brazil right now, so many South and Central American countries and African countries. As a matter of fact we are no worst than many American cities right now. Go into Hartford, Atlanta, Philli, some places in LA and the same kind of things going on.

If this was going on in 6 or 10 parishes then I could support your view.
                  Are you freaking insane? What is Brazil's population what is Jamaica's. By any per capita measure Jamaica is at the bottom of the barrel globally. This stupid rationalisation of comparing an island of barely three million to countries of over 100 million is comedic at best and shows a level of denial bordering on insanity at worst.

there are many islands we can compare with. You want to start by using Haiti?

Is Somalia an island? and how many people they have? How can they be compared?

there are many islands we can compare with. You want to start by using Haiti?

Is Somalia an island? and how many people they have? How can they be compared?
                      You have just made my point. Haiti and Somalia are both pathetic failed states. Somalia has been in a state of anarchy for decades with no functioning government. Haiti well where do we start?. Do you reallywant to base your argument based on a comparison between Jamaica and Somalia and Haiti? The comedy/denial continues.

Isn't that what other are doing? You don't see that. The question is asked if this is Somalia?

Jamaica has it share of problem and we have no reason been there but there are many violent spots and many hot spot around the world.

Sorry to buss the bubble but we are not that unique as we want to make it sound. We have company. THAT IS MY POINT.

Can we do better, Yes. Should we do better? Yes.

We need to stop thinking we are unique and use others example that has fixed their problems and that is the only way we are going to get better.

Not by thinking we are a special case, when it comes to violence and criminality.

I really don't undertsand your reasoning. Jamaica IS A SPECIAL case when it comes to violence and criminality hence the comparison to Somalia and Haiti which you readily embrace. Haiti and Somalia are not the norm that is the point, they are at the bottom of the barrel in the world. The fact is what takes place in Jamaica is a lot closer to Somalia and Haiti than anywhere else. The difference is that Jamaica has the facade of democracy blah-blah which the rationalisers buy into.

there are many more countries that could fall into that list.

Most of the US big cities also suffer from similar problem. Many that have a population of between 2-4 million just like Jamaica. We often don't want to hear it. NY itself had similar problem a few years ago.

Yes I can find more than 30 other countries with Jamaica like violence. What is so unique about it?

there are many more countries that could fall into that list.

Most of the US big cities also suffer from similar problem. Many that have a population of between 2-4 million just like Jamaica. We often don't want to hear it. NY itself had similar problem a few years ago.

Yes I can find more than 30 other countries with Jamaica like violence. What is so unique about it?
                              Please list the countries with population between 2-4 million who are not at war and claim to be functioning democratic state who are approacing 1600 murders for the year. I'll even make it easier for you just list ten. Or better yet find five.