• Trail of the missing sand - 'I was there, I know everything'

Trail of the missing sand - 'I was there, I know everything'

With the police seemingly still unable to shed any light on the 500 truckloads of sand that were stolen from three Trelawny properties by night in late June, yet another man, claiming to have intimate knowledge of what transpired, has decided to share his story with The Gleaner.

Armed with copies of receipts reportedly used in the illicit operation, the names of public officials and police officers he said participated and the date and time it all happened, John (not his real name) turned up at The Gleaner's Western Bureau this week ready to talk.

"I know everything that happened because I was there," John said candidly.

"I know the properties from which the sand was taken and the properties they were taken to. Sometimes I would travel with the last trip of sand to the property it was going."

According to John, a former employee of a Montego Bay hotel, he first got wind of the situation when his boss, knowing of his skills as a mechanic, asked him to travel to one of the sites in Coral Springs, where a tractor, which was digging up and preparing for sand removal, had broken down.

Three-night removal

"The sand was removed on the nights of Thursday, June 26, Saturday, June 28, and Sunday, June 29, by trucks owned by a former politician from down in the west (name withheld) and some other truckers from Montego Bay," said John. "It was not 500 truckload of sand that was taken; it was actually 477 truckloads."

John said he knew the exact amount of sand removed. He showed The Gleaner several receipts with the names of various hotels. However, none of the receipts carried official stamps.

"I know every politician, businessman and top-ranking policeman who came on the site while the sand was being removed," he continued. "In fact, I thought what was happening was legal. It was when the scandal broke out that I realised it was illegal."

According to John, while the vast majority of the sand was taken from the property being developed by Felicitas Limited, sand was also taken from properties owned by former politician Desmond Leaky and politician/social activist Ras Astor Black.

Travelled with them

"The sand that was taken from Astor Black's Flamingo Beach went to a property in Montego Bay," said John. "I travelled down to the property on one of the trips."

Despite having information that would probably help the police in their investigations, John said that while he was willing to speak to The Gleaner, he had no intention of speaking to the police.

"I don't want to talk to the police because I know police were involved in it. I saw a big khaki-suit man there," said John.

Quizzed as to why he has decided to speak out, albeit anonymously - because of the fear he has expressed about naming names - John said he felt he had been used.

"They had me working and I didn't even get a red cent," said John. "When I hear how much money the sand cost, it mek me belly burn me ... the man dem wicked and I hope they all get exposed."

On Sunday, The Gleaner outlined the involvement of another source in the theft of the sand.

adrian.frater@gleanerjm.com

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ead/lead3.html

...with careful preparation?

I hope he has delivered sealed and notarized copies - at least 11 - with 2 retired Judges, 1 in a bank security deposit box, 2 each with extremely close friends sealed and stamp to be mailed to the Gleaner Editor and the Jamaica Observer Editor (these two would be opened he should hope before the editorial committee of each newspaper - nuff su-mady present so likelihood of collusion with the perpetrators of the crime difficult, dangerous and unlikely)...the other 2 to the two leading electronic broadcast stations...and lastly 1 with his pastor...all in the very likely eventually of his demise.

He should keep another three similarly notarized. One he shall keep to himself, one for presentation to his attorney, the other for the police.
    Hopefully he survives!