• 'Rhymes and Reason' - Some artistes genetically gifted - Sem

'Rhymes and Reason' - Some artistes genetically gifted - Semaj

There are a handful of artistes who, at the drop of a hat, can cunningly craft spontaneous lyrics. Have you ever wondered what makes these artistes so different from others who can't?

An article posted on the website, heraldsun.com.au, shows that both the left and right sides of the brain play an important role in one's ability to construct rhymes instantly.

The left side of the brain mainly acts as the conscious mind, which is responsible for reasoning and logic. While the right side of the brain operates as the subconscious mind that forces the belief into action.

Well-known psychologist Dr Leachim Semaj believes that these artistes have a genetic gift.

"Yes, it is true that some artistes have the ability to respond to verbal que more quickly than others. It's part of our African tradition where you give a title or a rhythm and they can build a song almost immediately," said Semaj, chief executive officer of The JobBank.

He continued: "It's a combination of two things: for one, they must have had some innate early exposure. Some deejays might say that in school they would normally give jokes in class. And, when they realise that, they tend to practise more and it becomes a norm. It's a combination of nature and nurture."

Stage clashes

Two prime examples of impromptu lyricists are Desmond 'Ninja Man' Ballantine, who made his name from stage clashes, and Carl 'Professor Nuts' Wellington.

When asked about his creativity, Ballantine, said his talent was given to him by God, but agreed with Semaj's statement.

"Because I'm a man of God and he gives us special powers to use I use mine in music," he said.

'The Ninja' added that he listens keenly to his opponent when engaged in a lyrical duel, to equip himself with a stinging response.

"Well, for me, my advantage is to just listen to what the other artiste has to say, because him must say something where you can counter him on," Ballantine pointed out.

Recognised as one of Jamaica's first artistes to combine comedy, social commentary and music, Wellington said his ability to build comedic lyrics on the spot is innate.

"Well it is something that was embedded in me from birth, growing up I was just a typical joker, I would normally say something and the people them laugh," said Wellington.

He added that it was important for artistes to create their own lyrics.

Big advantage

"Yes it's a big advantage. Put fun and joke aside, when you don't have your own thing, anybody can have a hand into it ... the final analysis is that no man can take your own," said the vocalist of the famous Inna De Bus, recorded in 1991.

Semaj, a former lecturer at the University of the West Indies, believes that once lyricists understand their strengths, it becomes a part of their daily life.

"Everything that these artistes see stimulates a rhythm or a song. Look at Lovindeer, Kartel, Ninja Man, and Professor Nuts. These deejays, who are most lyrically, powerfully gifted, are the most educated deejays, and once they hear or see something they can build a song around it," he said.

Wait ... Semaj is no longer a ****************?

Why do Jamaican journalists keep referring to our performing artistes by their birth certificate names?!? Who the hell is Ballantine?!?!? Wellington? A oo dat?!?!

As I read the article I have to be going to the top of the article to remind myself who it is the writer is talking about. Aaargh!

no longer a what? ra s?

all him have fi say is the "front teeth, back teeth Don Gorgan say"

Bro "Desmond say" and "Nutsy" say. A wha do him?

no longer a what? ra s?
            Yeah! My mistake .. maybe I did put an extra 's'

don't forget "gun 'pon teet'"