Out of bounds? - Henry questions Christie's actions

• Out of bounds? - Henry questions Christie's actions

Out of bounds? - Henry questions Christie's actions - Says contractor general might have overstepped boundaries in JUTC probe
    published: Monday | December 1, 2008

Minister of Transport and Works, Mike Henry, is raising questions about whether Contractor General Greg Christie overstepped his boundaries by recommending that criminal sanctions be laid against the acting managing director of the Jamaica Urban Transit Company (JUTC).

Mr Christie, in his report, recommended that criminal charges be laid against Bindley Sangster, the acting managing director of the JUTC. He made the recommendation after a special probe into the awarding of some contracts at the state-run bus company. The investigation was initiated after the June 27 murder of then JUTC chairman, Douglas Chambers.

False statement

In the 104-page report, the contractor general said Sangster wilfully made a false statement to his office when he said the JUTC's finance committee approved contracts with Simber Productions that were awarded in February. The contracts were for a JUTC SmartCard feature on the 'Susan' show, a JUTC commercial, and a 'Ride and Win Summer Bling' advertisement. Sangster was the chairman of the JUTC's finance committee when the contracts were awarded.

Conflict of interest

Mr Christie also found that there was a clear conflict of interest in the award because Chambers was part of Simber Productions.

Christie said Chambers lied when he claimed that he was not the major shareholder in the company.

In his first response since the tabling of a damning report on procurement breaches at the state-run bus company in the Senate on Friday, Henry said yesterday it was his view that such a judgment would be better made by a member of the judiciary or the director of public prosecutions.

"[It] may have the effect of actually prejudicing any possible judicial handling of the matter," Henry said in a release from his ministry yesterday evening.

He also raised questions about the methods employed by the contractor general in disseminating the report.

According to Henry, the tabling of the report in the Senate before it could be reviewed by the House of Representatives was contrary to normal parliamentary procedure.

He said he had asked the attorney general to advise him on how to address the matter.

Henry also said the document, which was delivered to him on November 26, was not marked urgent and that he therefore did not peruse it before Friday after its contents had already been in the domain of the media.

But the Opposition People's National Party has since called for the resignations of Sangster and others who sat on the JUTC's procurement committee. The party is to hold a press conference on the issue at its Old Hope Road headquarters in St Andrew this morning.

Henry says OCG's statement could prejudice JUTC matter

BY BALFORD HENRY Observer writer balfordh@jamaicaobserver.com
    Monday, December 01, 2008

MINISTER of Transport and Works, Mike Henry, is concerned about the Office of the Contractor General's (OCG) statement that there is prima facie evidence that Jamaica Urban Transit Company's (JUTC) executives acted criminally in awarding contracts.

The minister said that such a decision should be left to the judiciary or, at least, the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP), and that the OCG's claim could prejudice the judicial handling of the matter.

Henry said that he has also taken note that the OCG has asked the Commissioner of Police to institute a probe into certain matters relating to the JUTC's late chairman, Douglas Chambers' estate, ahead of any ruling by the DPP.

In a release to the media from the ministry yesterday, Henry said that he will be writing to the DPP requesting a speedy review of the OCG's report, to determine various considerations in respect of the JUTC board.

"This is within the context that the OCG, in the report, laid claim to having established a 'prima facie' case against elements of both the present and former management of the JUTC, something which the minister considers to be more properly within the remit of members of the judiciary, certainly, the DPP at least, and something which the minister considers may have the effect of actually prejudicing any possible judicial handling of the matter," the release from the ministry said.

In the report, tabled in the Senate Friday, the OCG said that it had, "concluded that there is prima facie evidence that both Mr Douglas Chamber (the late chairman of the JUTC) and Mr Bindley Sangster (the acting managing director) had wilfully made false written declarations to the Contractor General, respectively, in the JUTC's 2008 1st and 2nd quarter QCA (Quarterly Contracts Awards) Reports."

The OCG report added that this was in breach of Section 29(a) of the Contractor General's Act and was a criminal offence under the Act. The offence claimed by the OCG carries a fine not exceeding $5,000 and/or imprisonment of a maximum 12 months. The OCG also said that on that basis, it had formally referred a copy of the report to the DPP.

Chambers was killed by gunmen outside the JUTC's office, Spanish Town, on June 27.

Sangster is off the island and has chosen not to address the issue until he returns home and reads the report.

Henry said in yesterday's statement that he is analysing the 104-page report in preparation for a "comprehensive response" to the assertations made by the OCG.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...TC_MATTER_.asp

Come now Mr. Henry, if thats it, thats ... weak. Was he out of bounds when he made similiar recommendations against Kern Spencer?

The first step to remedy this is get rid of the Executive Chairperson position. People holding such positions had too much power and basically answered to nobody.

Has the CG operated any differently with this matter compared to others? I think not. The minister need fi chill before it can be rightly claimed that he is attempting to avert the course of justice.

Thank you, Lazie!

(Father God...praises unto you!)

Wah yuh seh Sass & Lazie...
            ...The CG's actions must not be scrutinized?

Come now Mr. Henry, if thats it, thats ... weak. Was he out of bounds when he made similiar recommendations against Kern Spencer?

The first step to remedy this is get rid of the Executive Chairperson position. People holding such positions had too much power and basically answered to nobody.

Change yuh tune, now?

Stop form fool Karl. Where have I changed anything? Stop mislead people bredren!

I support his action 100 percent.

he uses the facts he has and put it out there in the public domain.

I back his action 100 percent. If they have more information then let it come to the public. There is no need to question his action, just give him the info to do his job.

Stop form fool Karl. Where have I changed anything? Stop mislead people bredren!
                    Did you berate me and others at an earlier date for suggesting Christie should be open to scrutiny...similar to the scrutiny that he subjects his targets?

Yuh cudda fool mi! (kis teet)

I support his action 100 percent.

he uses the facts he has and put it out there in the public domain.

I back his action 100 percent. If they have more information then let it come to the public. There is no need to question his action, just give him the info to do his job.
                      At least you stand firm!
                      ...athough your position is patently wrong!

Did you berate me and others at an earlier date for suggesting Christie should be open to scrutiny...similar to the scrutiny that he subjects his targets?

Yuh cudda fool mi! (kis teet)
                        KArl, you took exception to the CG because of his reporting of the corruption involving the PNP. Thats why you questioned him .. suh nuh come wid nuh smoke screen giving people the impression you had any objective grounds to question the man.

yes lick them CG.

people like Karl want to beat at the edges and have you comprise.

Go dig them out PNP or JLP. Instead of just accepting "corruption abound" but a name and face to it.

Let them prove you wrong.

Good work sah.

KArl, you took exception to the CG because of his reporting of the corruption involving the PNP. Thats why you questioned him .. suh nuh come wid nuh smoke screen giving people the impression you had any objective grounds to question the man.
                            That was not true then...it is not true now! I questioned the CG on his response to being questioned. I said, among other things, he could not be held to be above being questioned.

Yuh questioned the man's integrity after Dean Peart accused the man of leaking his report on the light bulbs. Dean Peart had to extend an apology to the man, todate, yuh still caught up in yuh folly.