• Judge Brown slams 'gangsta music'

published: Monday | December 1, 2008

Andrew Wildes, Gleaner Writer

It was to a standing ovation that Judge Joe Brown took his seat after addressing the graduating class of the Edna Manley College of the Visual and Performing Arts (EMCVPA) on Saturday night.

The CBS TV celebrity judge, before a packed audience at the Courtleigh Auditorium in New Kingston, delivered a damning sentence against 'gangsta music', while fervently challenging the graduands to use their art to uplift their culture and people of colour everywhere.

"I call upon you to accept the challenge I give you. Don't just be what you can be and what you want to be. Be what you ought to be! Be what you should be!" he charged.

"You have a challenge because I have seen things go down in the last 30-something years I have been coming to this island. I have seen an art form too much influenced by negativity from the United States! Now you got yourselves free, do not let the states who had to be freed come back and poison your minds with the wrong things," Brown added to rapturous applause.

Before anyone could wonder, he clearly identified the poison of which he spoke.

"Hardcore gangster rap is not the answer. Not because it is vile, vulgar or profane, but because it does not show the man or woman of colour about the business of changing his or her neighbourhood for the better," Brown roared. "It merely shows a glorification of negativity in some obscene acceptance of second-class citizenship, in second-class status, in the glorification of dysfunction!"

Preach it

Parents, teachers and graduates alike responded with applause, cheers and shouts of "preach it!"

It was a 'word' especially relevant to a group of students whose training has set a path for them to work alongside the leading dancehall and reggae acts in the world. The robust batch of 140 students is the first to graduate from EMCVPA's degree programme, with bachelor's in the areas of fine arts and education. The graduation, therefore, is a milestone for the college, as it is now the only recognised degree-offering institution of its kind in the English-speaking Caribbean.

andrew.wildes@gleanerjm.com

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ews/news2.html

My my .. pity he didn't slam the gangsta music that is in the dancehall as well. Some of what I'm hearing lately mek rap gangsta music sound like nursery rhymes.

man something is really wrong in dancehall when Lazie a talk like this.

my my.

Nuh War Wid Knife

Intro:
        Vybz : Bad man nuh fight like Latoy
        A teacher an the Real Mackoy

Chorus: (Movado)
        Gangsta's nuh war wid knife
        only k's and 45
        diss mi an wi tek whey yuh life
        nuh war wid knife
        only k's an 45
        Rept x 2

Verse 1: (Vybz)
        p.u.s.s.y hole!! mi squeeze trigga like breast
        p.u.s.s.y rest mi run baddestness,yea
        dress up inna vest fi yes nuh tek check
        coppa chop chop him up like chicken a best dress
        jus a likkle bloody neck lef wid a necklace
        on yuh mark get set when di teck take set
        RRRRRR!! my bulldog nuh pet fi check vet
        who test, mi mek dead mi press yuh get wet
        a gully mi war prep yuh rep

only k's and 45
        nuh war wid knife
        only k's an 45
        Rept x 2

Verse 2 (Vybz)
        gunshot a nail up yuh body tiki tiki tiki like zinc
        watch it wid yuh bird gun wha a guy a tink?
        when di one eye shotgun mek di slug wink
        boat dock,plane land,sub sink
        all hell bruck loose kartel an movado a link
        wha yuh tink likkle chink killa say fi watch di pink
        yea! SLR bullet dem long like a pen
        bwoy blood run my murder ink!!!

only k's and 45
        nuh war wid knife
        only k's an 45
        Rept x 2

Verse 3: (Vybz)
        Hey third verse the killin get worse
        step inna di clinic head open like purse
        kidnapp the nurse di docta skull burst
        any man first curse dem lip a go reverse
        fling bomb pon di alter boom up the church
        shoot up a squady pon patrol a search
        shot a go a big yawd nuh di one roun a burch
        a fox lane whey mek eagle perch!!!

only k's and 45
        nuh war wid knife
        only k's an 45
        Rept x 2