• JFJ - Excellent Comment by Wignall

WIGNALL'S WORLDMark Wignall
    Sunday, November 30, 2008

Congrats to Carolyn Gomes
    Today I turn 58 and my first duty, apart from the unseen ones, is to warmly congratulate Dr Carolyn Gomes for having won a UN Human Rights award. She deserves it.

In the late 1990s when I first saw her and others demonstrating in the tough inner-city enclave of Grants Pen, I walked up to her and said, "What's a nice brown-skinned, middle-class lady like you doing in Grants Pen?"

She smiled almost shyly then went on to give me chapter and verse on the human rights of the poor. Since that time, Gomes has fought relentlessly to right the wrongs of a heavy-handed state apparatus that is often misunderstood by armchair commentators in Jamaica.

In 'normal' societies, a Carolyn Gomes would have her place without the rancour and the suspicions of hidden agendas. Jamaica is anything but a normal society. As head of Jamaicans For Justice (JFJ) Gomes was at most times a misunderstood person.

At the formation of JFJ, I was of the view that it was a splinter group of the NDM and the JLP. At another time I looked upon the JFJ as a group of uptown, brown-skinned, white-skinned professionals who were on a great conscience trip; trying to give back a little after doing so well in a country that protected the brown minority class but battered the majority black-skinned class. For a while, I dismissed the JFJ as a group of persons socially and economically well off who came together to have a demonstrable guilt trip.

But Gomes and the JFJ would not go away. They were like little uptown poodles constantly yapping at the heels of government. The fact is, JFJ is ahead of its time in terms of the ability of our citizens to recognise that all views and positions must contend. Too often it appears that JFJ is anti-police. The other fact is, the closer one understands our police force, the clearer it becomes that too much of the JCF (Jamaica Constabulary Force) has elements of state thuggery attached to it.

The JFJ has never singled out justice and placed it aside only for one set of people. But it appears that way. This is so because JFJ and Gomes believe that it is the 'little man' who must be protected. Many of our armchair commentators have deliberately avoided criticisms of the JCF for obvious reasons. The JCF has awesome power so it is better to hurl barbs at 'suspects,' too many of whom are executed by the police.

Keep on doing what you have been doing, Carolyn. I may even criticise you in the future but, guess what, you have been there before, and in the first place you didn't have to do it. It may be controversial to say this, but a group of black Jamaicans as bright as those making up JFJ would not be anywhere near as successful as the initial group formed by Gomes.

Why? Because in our society, our police force finds it easier to crack black skulls than even talk hard to uptown, brown-skinned professionals.

Why? Because that's the way Jamaica is.

Ditto! Just a pity that Wignall has not been supportive on some occasions. And that doesn't mean one should agree with everything the JFJ does, but there are some things that are not up for debate!

like?

"In 'normal' societies, a Carolyn Gomes would have her place without the rancour and the suspicions of hidden agendas. Jamaica is anything but a normal society."

Second article fi the day that indicates that Jamaica(ns) nuh normal. Been saying this since when?

what makes normal?

Can't recall the particular occasion.

Normal means she would be our 8th National Hero.

Jamaica is more normal if you ask me. We choose not to recognise our own but look to the bigger powers to do it. You see the woman who plant tree inna Africa who win the big award at UN?

Too many societies do not regard Human Rights. Do you call America under George Bush "normal"?

the word normal should be changed to "ideal"

what makes normal?
                  ...and under certain conditions it is good to be not 'normal'!

While I'm not inclined to enter any debate surrounding the adjective "normal," I'll just state simply here that Jamaica is by no means a normal society. It cannot be!! Unless one has lived for the past three decades with one's head burrowed deep, deep, deep down in the sand, it is quite clear that we are a society that has gone so wrong it defies logical explanation!

So, we are faced with the irony of a country with one of the largest number of churches per capita in the world having one of the largest homicide rate on the planet!! And I could go on and on with a commentary on the paradox that is Jamaica. But what would be the point?

The fact is that any nation that is given a choice between the two leaders we currently have is indeed a nation that is in serious trouble!!! "Normal Jamaica" has to be an oxymoron, for heaven's sake!!

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                    The fact is, JFJ is ahead of its time in terms of the ability of our citizens to recognise that all views and positions must contend. Too often it appears that JFJ is anti-police. The other fact is, the closer one understands our police force, the clearer it becomes that too much of the JCF (Jamaica Constabulary Force) has elements of state thuggery attached to it.

Normal as compared to who?

Most countries in the world have problem with Human rights despite some very good organziation trying.

Is it normal for human rights activists to b given a hard time? YES even in America organization like Human rights watch and Amnesty international is given a hard time.

Yes Jamaica is very violent but we are not worst than many of the third world countries. Yes we have to strive and do better but realise that "Normal" is not term.

What so obnormal about Jamaica that is so unique, that is not present in many other third world country or inner city in the US?

Yes Jamaica is very violent but we are not worst than many of the third world countries.
                        YES WE ARE! A whey yuh come fram?