• Jamaica votes for death penalty

Jamaica votes for death penalty

Jamaica has one of the worst murder rates in the world

Jamaica's parliament has voted to keep the death penalty, as the Caribbean nation struggles to contain one of the world's highest murder rates.
    MPs were allowed a free vote, rather than having to vote along party lines.
    Jamaica has had a moratorium on the death penalty since 1988 but the governing Jamaica Labour Party, elected last year, has pushed for its return.
    Jamaica currently has nine men on death row. There have been 1,200 murders on the island so far this year.
    The vote followed weeks of passionate debate. Thirty-four members of parliament voted in favour of capital punishment, 15 voted against. There were 10 abstentions.
    Those opposed wanted improvements to Jamaica's heavily criticised police and justice system, while those in favour pointed to the ever-upward rise in violent crime.
    The Jamaica Labour Party was elected with a call to resume hanging immediately.
    Concerns had been raised about the risk of sanctions - primarily from the EU - but Prime Minister Bruce Golding said that if due legal process was observed, then the law should take its course.

What a freaking joke... mi aget plenty tideh...nine man pon deat row??? hongle nine??? a wha de?? and dem a vote fi deat penalty??? but unuh see my trial... what with FOX, WICB and now de Parliamentarians is pure dunce people deh bout??? Lord help us!

Since 1988, 9 man pon death row!

I feel safer already!

Can we get a conscience vote to decriminalize small amounts of ganja as well?

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
            Can we get a conscience vote to decriminalize small amounts of ganja as well?
            Why?

I heard there was some type of positive recommendation from a senate committee, however no action has occurred to date. If dem don't want to vote publicly, then vote privately via the so-called conscience vote mechanism. BTW, I am not a smoker, but if Lazie wants to light up, it is not a big deal.

when will these people learn that the death penalty is not counter productive?

how about retooling the justice system?
                Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
                Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

mek dem stay deh.

btw, i slept with my door open last night. i feel so safe in jamaica these days!

hehe
                    Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
                    Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll: