5 Flights a day to Miami, don't mean

• 5 Flights a day to Miami, don't mean

a ting to dis man!" (Pluto Shervington's I Man Born Yah). I do love the song ... any body know where him live now?

Yeah ... another favourite. http://www.imeem.com/people/iG7STc/m...ervington_dat/

Such storytellers nuh exist in the music nuh more. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0b7liotfQUE

Don't forget "Ramgoat Liver".

Outstanding writer.

well he was last known living in fort lauderdale...one year he played at fau and mi axe him fi play iman born yah...di man wrinch suh 'til...him neva play it!

i wonder if it still inna him reportoire...

He did a show with Ernie Smith in JA a few years ago and he played it. Gave an explanation like " my heart still nah leave yah" or something to that effect.

LOL!!!!! chuss mi is mussi nuff nuff grief him did get!!!!

btw did he change any of the words?

Me nuh think so. Is read me did read bout it.

Is a wikid tune though. Even now it mek me feel nostalgic when me hear it.

"Remember saltfish fritters, bulla and pear,
                Wash it down wid a ice cold beer,
                A true, it nuh bad at all."

I hear he relocated to Jamaica, as did Ernie Smith. Smith actually lives in my neck of the woods a country.

well den..maybe dat is how come him can sing it wid a straight face......i wonda ef him come back AFTER september last year.....

Phyllis Dillion:

Thanks for this link Lazie. I listened to some of Phyllis Dillion cuts. brings back good memories.

Ever heard of Adina(sp) Edwards?

you still have good story teller but most a the dj and dancehall fans have no time to listen to story, them just want here a riddin in timing with the dance steps.

Driver by Buju is not a bad story although it a drugs story.

I can think of a few good story dancehall songs only that most the message is negivitive.

Audience nowadays hardly care for the content of a song so the artist just get a good riddim lick and say "Yeah Yeah", Come now.

Have listen to the tune "Bad bwoy forward"? The song has absolutely no verse whatsoever and when the singer them run outa lyrics them talk bout big up tivoli, big up, jungle, big up Jamaica, New York and London. That a one verse a some a these songs.

"bad bwoy forward" (a suh it did name?) a one a di chupiddest chune ever created. a bet Brickie love it doh!

Adina Howard, perhaps?

she was a gospel singer