• this affect tourism more than the downturn

Anti-harassment force launched - Marksman to patrol tourist towns
    published: Monday | November 24, 2008
    Denise Reid, Staff Reporter

A major security company has been enlisted to patrol all of Jamaica's resort towns, effective December 1, to stem rampant tourist harassment that continues to damage the island's image and threaten the lifeblood of the economy.

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ead/lead6.html

Downturn will change but the impression will last.

Makes Me Wonder

Makes me wonder if the trip from Breezes Runaway Bay to Drax Hall is worth the trouble.

Poverty is driving the harassment, plus beggars see a wite person as sumady wid money. I was solicited once for ganja last week, but a couple wite women appeared to want to solicit certain immoral favours from me last week in MoBay. I rejected all offers.

It is not poverty brethren. If you go a the hotel front and the craft market you have these people rushing you. If you go into any country area that is poorer you can walk into any shop, walk into places f your choice there is no harrassment.

In the craft market if the people them easy you will spend a money but when them a rush my two year old kid with a toy fi mi fi buy then it is time for me to leave no matter how much Jamaican inna me.

It is what they percieve as been culture and not necessarily poverty. many of them in the craft market not that poor.

ALL offers? every single one?!! yuh sure?!!

like dem people wid booths in the malls? di dead se salt people? as for the toys......HA!!!

When dem a rush your two year old kid that is going way too far.

what about those dead sea salt people?

Many people stay on ship or stay in their resort because of this kind of behavior. If they behave themselves I am sure more people will pass through and buy.

It was tough to go to the Indian man store and buy a few things to carry back bexause a them treatment.

Another thing I notice is the environment right outside a the hotel. A river full with garbage. I was wondering if these people invest millions can't come togather with the local government, the people living by and cook some food and clean up the dump in a real Jamaican fashion.

These are the little things the tourists are concerned about, not the crime a Tivoli or up a Jungle.

Great idea, some cities in the US also use private security in their core downtown tourist areas to ensure a greater feeling of safety and well being, excellent idea, if they are doing that in the USA to preserve their tourist dollar we should have been doing this from the 70's.