• There is a classic tune called "Shaving Cream!"

Who was the singer? Thanks!!

fab 5 has a version as does pluto i think..

I know Fab 5 has one and Byron Lee has one. I'll check out Fab 5's version. I was searching for the original.

I think it is Pluto that did it, because he doesn't normally do cover version. He was a good writer.

http://www.imeem.com/gtangel87/music...shaving_cream/

Cho, that was an easy question!

The group is Stanley & the Turbines. You can't ask a tougher question?

I think it is Pluto that did it, because he doesn't normally do cover version. He was a good writer.
            Cool!

Not so sure Assasin. That song has all the makings of a Grub Cooper song.
              Fab Five been around since the early 70s too.

Pluto was an outstanding writer, but his writing style was more storytelling than playing on words. I don't remember hearing his cover of Shaving Cream but I know he did a cover of the song with the line "Country Girls, country boys sitting on a rock,..." which is similar in style to Shaving Cream.

If unoo find out for sure who wrote it mek me know.

Benny Bell (1906-1999) was a vaudeville comedian who did the original song, I think in the 1930's. The song is a staple of the old Dr. Demento radio show. Now, Dr Demento is no longer on radio but available on Internet through paid subscription.

I may be a big fat old white guy,
                but I love soccer, I'll ad-MIT.
                I watched a game on Wednesday
                Mexico is a big pile of SHHHAVING CREAM!

BE NICE AND CLEAN.
                SHAVE EVERY DAY AND YOU'LL ALWAYS LOOK KEEN.

Benny Bell: Judaica Sound Archives, Florida Atlantic University
                http://faujsa.edu/bell/home.php
                Last edited by Bruce; November 24, 2008, 02:59 PM.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                  http://www.imeem.com/gtangel87/music...shaving_cream/

Cho, that was an easy question!

The group is Stanley & the Turbines. You can't ask a tougher question?
                  Thanks ... thats the version I was looking for. It wasn't a stump you question, I wanted to know for myself. Wait ... mek mi wheel up dah tune deh.

Almost certain it's not Pluto. Just doesn't sound like him. Don't think it's Grub Cooper either. Could have been written by Grub, but doubt if he was the singer.

News to me! I didn't know that!

http://amiestreet.com/music/reggae-g...60-s-and-70-s/

Of interest! ----

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=5rpq6u8hYgk

I guess none of us except Bruce did!!

Stanley & the Turbines....