Will someone tell us something we don't want to hear?

• Will someone tell us something we don't want to hear?

Will someone tell us something we don't want to hear?

Monday, November 24, 2008

Imagine for a minute, a primary care physician deciding to withhold information regarding a medical condition from his patient; not because he feels that if he tells the patient he would drop dead. But the doctor decides not to share the diagnosis because he doesn't feel like it. I don't know about you, but I'd be hopping mad and would fire him for not giving me the option to seek a second opinion or to make lifestyle changes, however limiting. Well, there are striking parallels between the doctor's decision to withhold pertinent information and the actions of the Bruce Golding-led Jamaica Labour Party government.

Complete Story ...

Promises to use power wisely have been deleted from the political lexicon and power and prestige now prostitutes the political process.
    Classic!

This would also give him an opportunity to level with the country. If, or when he does, he should not obfuscate the fundamental issues by being cute or evasive and should communicate without descending into the kind of sly rhetoric which coloured his recent West Kingston speech.
      My wish for the New Year is for Maudib and Lazie to save us from the cute and evasive rhetoric and deal with the issues in a mature fashion. Or just tell us when they are stumped.

That speech was patently annoying, because while he gleefully heaped praise on his constituents for a 74 per cent reduction in crime, he did not provide the rest of the country with any specifics for the remarkable success of the West Kingston model. The conclusion being drawn is that he was being imprudently selfish or pretending to be the prime minister of the narrowly defined geopolitical boundaries of West Kingston, with no expanded interests in replicating the success throughout the country.
      Tek people fi eediat! Matters not how safe West Kingston is, esp. when one considers the number of gunmen who have taken refuge in that fiefdom. Who cares about it's level of crime when not one police patrol or independent media can dare pass thru the area at will!?

My wish for the New Year is for Maudib and Lazie to save us from the cute and evasive rhetoric and deal with the issues in a mature fashion. Or just tell us when they are stumped.
        The problem is there are those who think because everybody nuh agree wid dem all willy nilly .. then people being "cute and evasive." Well if yuh guh into the new year with the same attitude, the outcome will be the same.
        Last edited by Lazie; November 24, 2008, 12:18 PM.

Not true, Lazie. And you know exactly what I am talking about. But, you shall continue to be "cute and evasive".

See ... there you go with the assumptions again. I have no idea what you're talking about ... the facts do remain that some on this forum quickly get a wedgy when people nuh quickly agree with them. Sorry, I see where you're wrong .... well yuh done know ... my back broad.