No cause for alarm, says Shaw

...and this is part of your consistent set of arguments?
    Did you attack the PNP for just about borrowing from Tom, Dick and Harry?

Did you also attack the PNP for not creating the enviroment to stimulate growth and thus jobs, jobs, jobs?

'bout serious discussion?
    You are a fraud! ...a blind partisan...a fraud!
    You are not consistent and you never issue apologies...or admit being wrong on any issue! ...just a fraud!
    Karl, you're the clown who after seeing the numbers made it clear, "the numbers may well be true, but no black dog fi monkey fi me!"

When other economies were growing 5-6%, idiots like you were rejoicing bout progress when we grew at 1.5%.

Now with the state the global economy is in ... unuh want the man dem turn water inna wine? If yuh nuh have nothing sensible fi say ... guh back at the football forum.

I said as much but it could have been far worst for us and looking at it now gurantee for American Airline may not have been bad.

I think Jamaica will be ok until late January as i know people who wanted to book and not much was available.

yes the all inclusive maybe our savior this time with one price for everything. Even Halfmoon a get into it now.

Ok sah. I am comforted.

Well, since the buzzword for the day is "petty", perhaps you can tell me whether the closure of a large hotel in Jamaica would be considered petty. No, it has not happened, yet, but the industry appears to be reeling from what has happened at the Atlantis Resort in the Bahamas where 800 persons were laid off recently.
          Come on Mosiah .. how is that being petty? The reality is people are losing their jobs, losing their homes etc. How are they going to travel? We gonna feel it in Jamaica as well. People like Karl the Klown mock Bartlett but his approach of trying to attract travelers from other markets is a good move ... the question is if it will pay off.

Again, I point to the sectors Shaw mentioned lastnight where they are providing funding for.

Thanks, Lazie. One of your less "cute and evasive" responses.

There is hope! If not for the country, at least for your posts!

Jamaica needs to move aggressively into the Asian, South America, and Canadian markets.

Make use of the Jamaican-Chinese heritage in places like China and Hong Kong to attract visitors.

No comfort - Opposition reacts to Shaw's address

Meanwhile, Opposition Spokesman on Industry and Commerce, Mark Golding says the Finance Minister failed to provide specifics on how the Government intends to stimulate the struggling economy.

"There was nothing in his speech to indicate any kind of stimulus even for the construction sector or getting existing projects back on stream and so on to try and revive the economy.

2009 is going to be very difficult and there's nothing really in what he said that would give me any comfort that the Government is really looking at ways to try and ease that problem."

Was looking for more - Johnson

And Financial Analyst Orville Johnson said he is happy that the Government is able to secure additional funding from multi-lateral agencies and there was help for the agricultural and manufacturing sectors.

However, he said the Finance Minister could have been more forthcoming about pending problems facing the country.

"You gonna have problems with the tourist season and I think we should just talk frankly about it to say that there will probably be some lay-offs ... he could have said a little bit more (about) what would have been done for the more vulnerable, so some of those specifics would have been good to know."

According to Mr. Johnson, one should always prepare persons that there could be downsizing.

"We're on the brink of a problem that is unprecedented."

http://www.radiojamaica.com/content/view/13501/26/

Karl, you're the clown who after seeing the numbers made it clear, "the numbers may well be true, but no black dog fi monkey fi me!"

When other economies were growing 5-6%, idiots like you were rejoicing bout progress when we grew at 1.5%.

Now with the state the global economy is in ... unuh want the man dem turn water inna wine? If yuh nuh have nothing sensible fi say ... guh back at the football forum.
                  Are we not in a state that proved me right? Is it not "just musical chairs" - different party leading us down the path of still poor results?! Right?

btw - Wasn't it you who spoke of Sistah P having 18 months...and failing? How many months has it been since Brucie a di driva?

Are we not in a state that proved me right? Is it not "just musical chairs" - different party leading us down the path of still poor results?! Right?

btw - Wasn't it you who spoke of Sistah P having 18 months...and failing? How many months has it been since Brucie a di driva?
                    Suh wait ... you considered Portia's reign a success? Know what ... stop waste mi time Karl. When yuh serious mek mi know.

Run from "now" and "present" as a true partisan!
                      Portia is not the issue. Your Brucie has been elected to lead and govern. Address the current issues as you called it in Portia's 18 month term...or admit there was more to what Portia could do and did...or admit you were wrong to berate her in the manner you did...or berate Brucie is in the same manner.

Drop the partisan blind 'silly' trying to justify as terrible all things PNP and as fine all things JLP...try to be honest...objective and fair! Try!

Run from "now" and "present" as a true partisan!
                        Portia is not the issue. Your Brucie has been elected to lead and govern. Address the current issues as you called it in Portia's 18 month term...or admit there was more to what Portia could do and did...or admit you were wrong to berate her in the manner you did...or berate Brucie is in the same manner.

Drop the partisan blind 'silly' trying to justify as terrible all things PNP and as fine all things JLP...try to be honest...objective and fair! Try!
                        Karl .. believe it or not Portia is a DAMN DUNCE. Only jokers like you, Jawge and other unthinking persons see her as any success.

This gov't may not be perfect, but one thing is certain, people who are used to the grand annoucements are complaining that the gov't has no plans, only to hear what has been done. Maybe thats a bad thing. People cursed Mullings that he was doing nothing, only to find out things were in advanced stage of planning. I recall the ladies on NNN telling him to do a better PR job.

People curse the Cape candidate to announce what they're going to do to address the economic crisis. The Dunce we have as Opposition Leader was at Vere shouting Shaw must come with a plan. Only to find out various steps that have been taken by the gov't to date.

No wonder people trying to credit the previous gov't for moves this gov't has made.

Again, when yuh stop form fool, yuh can post in this forum again.
                        Last edited by Lazie; November 25, 2008, 10:05 AM.

This gov't may not be perfect...
                          Ok, wi getting somewhere!

Come now Mosiah, where have I ever said or given the impression anything or anyone is perfect? With such a post a first timer to the forum will get the wrong impression. Post Responsibly!

heh heh!

Karl .. believe it or not Portia is a DAMN DUNCE. Only jokers like you, Jawge and other unthinking persons see her as any success.

This gov't may not be perfect, but one thing is certain, people who are used to the grand annoucements are complaining that the gov't has no plans, only to hear what has been done. Maybe thats a bad thing. People cursed Mullings that he was doing nothing, only to find out things were in advanced stage of planning. I recall the ladies on NNN telling him to do a better PR job.

People curse the Cape candidate to announce what they're going to do to address the economic crisis. The Dunce we have as Opposition Leader was at Vere shouting Shaw must come with a plan. Only to find out various steps that have been taken by the gov't to date.

No wonder people trying to credit the previous gov't for moves this gov't has made.

Again, when yuh stop form fool, yuh can post in this forum again.
                                There you go again! To hear you the former government did nothing right...or good!

...and btw - If Portia is such a dunce...how is it so many Jamaicans supported her ascension to her prominence in our politics? A bunch of dunce people tuh?

Stop the foolish partisan extremist postering?
                                Yuh su-marta dan dat!
                                Get over your emotional pucking out of those PNP bad...JLP good positions! Control yuhself an mek yuh brain wuk!