• Misplaced deterrent - from the Gleaner

published: Friday | November 21, 2008

THE EDITOR, Sir:
    JAMAICA COULD capture and incarcerate murderers and, thus, very effectively preventing them from ever committing another crime. That redress is now available under law and does not seem to be working. Crime continues to rise. We are either not finding the murderers or we are producing new ones at an accelerated rate.
    Death no deterrent
    If, instead, we turn to killing murderers, it seems we will still need to fulfil the above. We must first catch them. We must also prevent the appearance of new murderers. So, murdering the few we catch is unlikely to make our streets any safer than if we lock them away.
    Most violent criminals seem to have a rather short life expectancy. They are more likely to be killed by their peers than they are to be killed or caught by the police. So, how can the threat of death be a deterrent to people who live their lives in the shadows of death? If they were afraid of dying, they would most likely have chosen another trade.
    I am, etc.,
    DOREEN McGANN
    doreenmcgann@aim.com
    OrionvSgen 20
    JSrfSlla, Stockholm
    Sweden

But some politicians need to go down in history as being strong on crime.

sigh

the gangster them nuh tink bout death

dat a di first ting. complete waste of our time!

i don't care whether it is a deterrent...it is punishment and that is good enough for me and yes....an eye for an eye is a fitting punishment.

No reform them and then pardon them.

Some people a killer and will remain killer and they need to face that penalty. There is no reform for them.

You see a man confess to killing all them innocent kids up a (Killonkolly) inna St.Mary, now how mi fi sorry fi him?

I was expecting a more informed and deep discussion of the issue but I guess it's why we remain 3rd World. I guess it's Friday anyways....

raise di level den nuh? make a difference!

Well, what yuh want fi hear? Mi dun tell unnu say it nuh mek nuh sense fi spend so much time that is going to give us at the most a new death row inmate every year. Since we stopped hanging how much decades ago, how many people wi have on death row? A grand total of 8!

1500 murders per year, 35 solved, 3 sentenced to death, 2 get off on appeal. Imagine if our parliamentarians had spent that time brainstorming solutions for the crime problem instead of swapping insults as to who a hug up gunman from who serious fi stop it!

And then we are going by our own emotions when we think of it being a deterrent. Is me and you fraid a di gallows. Gunmen nuh fraid!

Now, that don't mean I am for or against it. I think I am more for it, because some of these people too dog-heart and mi nuh waan dem fi waste good tax-payer money inna prison. Mi woulda raada di family get fi choose what fi happen to dem.

What else yuh waan fi hear?

When yu goin and talk to the PM.

Yuh know him? Nuh yuh peeps? Set up sumpten nuh!

Ah bway....