Bout African-American

• Bout African-American

All some black man whe live in America but are not citizens a refer to demself as African-American. Man call in CSPAN di odda day a talk bout him is a 46 year old African-American male so Pedro ask him who him vote for and him seh nobody he isn't a US Citizen

what if he is from canada?

When a black non-citizen haffe fill out a form in the U.S. that ask fe classify race, what them must put??? Most time it say African American and not black.

That is the problem with using African-American as a race instead of a demographic/cultural group.

me put ODDA

Technically a white South African for example would not be be wrong to check Afrcan American if he is a citizen, would he?

Trust you to come with that one...

it actually happened in one instance that i know of personally.

African American does not necessarily mean you are a black American citizen. It means people of African descent in the Americas. At least that is one of the things I learned while at college in the US. The professor made mention of the fact that we from the Caribbean and other places outside the USA would want to say we are Jamaican, Trinidadian, Barbadian, Canadian, Brazilian, etc, etc, but in fact we are African Americans. He reminded us that North, Central and South America with the Caribbean is by definition the Americas.

Anyway, we got the point, but still consider ourselves from our original nationalities. I guess it is a way of defining the race of a people, but nationality is a different thing. As Peter Tosh said "don't care where you come from, as long as you are a black man, you are an African".
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran