'Not the noose' - Parliamentarians propose lethal injection,

• 'Not the noose' - Parliamentarians propose lethal injection,

'Not the noose' - Parliamentarians propose lethal injection, electric chair as alternative to hanging

JAMAICA SEEMS set to retain the death penalty but the hangman could have his workload shared as some parliamentarians have proposed the use of lethal injection and the electric chair in carrying out the punishment.

Opposition Leader Portia Simpson Miller, in her contribution to the debate yesterday, said if Parliament votes to retain the death penalty, the gallows must be left to rust.

"If the vote is to retain the death penalty, I would like to suggest that we discard hanging as the method of carrying out the penalty," Simpson Miller said.

Law should be amended

Audley Shaw, the member of parliament (MP) for North East Manchester, moved to appease persons offended by the grotesque nature of the sentence of "being hanged by the neck until you are dead". He suggested the law be amended to include death by lethal inject or death by electric chair.

Government members Michael Stern and Dr St Aubyn Bartlett agreed that Parliament must amend the law to reflect the changes proposed by Shaw.

Whatever form the death penalty takes, Bartlett is ready to put murderers to death.

"I will accept the job as the hangman or the doctor who will pump the lethal injection," he declared.

Most support death penalty

Contributions made by MPs during the debate over the retention of the death penalty, which began last week in the House of Representatives, suggest most members are ready to give a lifeline to the irreversible punishment.

The vote will take place today after Prime Minister Bruce Golding closes the debate.

Roger Clarke, the Central Westmoreland MP, said his constituents had given him a wide range of recommendations on how convicted murderers should be put to death.

Among the methods Clarke shared with the House were putting the guilty before firing squads, drowning them and dropping them from aircraft.

Phillips against death

However, former National Security Minister Dr Peter Phillips indicated he would vote for Jamaica to abolish the death penalty.

Phillips said the death penalty was not the answer to Jamaica's crime problem. Jamaica, he said, has always responded with the strongest possible punishment to violence, yet crime continues to trend upwards.

"The severity of the punishment is not in and of itself a deterrent," Phillips argued. He said certainty of punishment was the best deterrent to crime but warned against using the death penalty.

Phillips called for more social intervention as a means of preventing persons from getting caught up in crime.

Simpson Miller did not give her position on the motion, but noted that Parliament "must be bold in the position we take and, in the end, move in a direction that is required for the attainment of justice for all our people".

More than 1,400 people have already been murdered in Jamaica this year.

Rural area MPs Robert Montague, Ian Hayles, Michael Stern, Roger Clarke, Dr Morais Guy, Audley Shaw and Franklyn Witter were strident as they argued for the retention of capital punishment.

"We want to live a long life, we want to breathe again. Crime has locked our society in a prison," Montague said.

He referred to life imprisonment as "a minimum wage" and charged that this must not be the reward.

daraine.luton@gleanerjm,com

Hanging in the balance

Jamaican lawmakers will today decide whether the death penalty should remain on the books. What are your thoughts on the hanging debate? Email comments to letters@gleanerjm.com or editor@gleanerjm.com; or post to The Opinion Editor, The Gleaner Company, 7 North Street, Kingston.

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ead/lead1.html

Dem people yah nuh serious? As much as I've changed my position on the death penalty .... why should additional expenses be undertaken to use electric chair or lethal injection?

Isn't hanging the more economical method?

mi ore amazed by phillips statement that Jamaica, he said, has always responded with the strongest possible punishment to violence, yet crime continues to trend upwards

what him talking about, eradication squad? dat nuh count.....i am in favour of the death penalty......whether by injection or hanging...i am also in favour of bringing back public flogging!!

mi ore amazed by phillips statement that Jamaica, he said, has always responded with the strongest possible punishment to violence, yet crime continues to trend upwards

what him talking about, eradication squad? dat nuh count.....i am in favour of the death penalty......whether by injection or hanging...i am also in favour of bringing back public flogging!!
        ... but seeing the quality justice system we have and the incompetence of the JCF to bring suspects before the courts, whats the purpose? Do we have a system that we all can say for sure those being executed are guilty?

huh?!!! we're still struggling being able to get ANYONE before the courts for a trial!

This has any effect on your thinking?

LETTER OF THE DAY - 'It is wrong to kill people who kill people to show that killing is wrong'

The Editor, Sir: The polls suggest that Jamaicans wish to resume the hanging of convicted murderers notwithstanding the possibility that innocent persons may be subject to the capital punishment. It is acknowledged that frustration may be a natural response...

Just asking?

nope!

i subscribe to a variation ubuntu which says that you don't deserve to be treated like a human if you don't treat others likewise. capital murder is one such forfeiture

nope!

i subscribe to a variation ubuntu which says that you don't deserve to be treated like a human if you don't treat others likewise. capital murder is one such forfeiture
                I hear you.
                Yuh si ow wi complex!
                I do not believe in capital punish as we are currently discussing...but in the "BUD Policy" I do believe!

most people complex....you just...well you just aahmmhhh ... errrr....ahhh "complexer" than most!

make somebody kill we pickney or mom and we see who is in favor of the death penalty.

I will say I favor the death penalty, for very violent criminals who have no other intention than to kill people. you choose the method but you can't intend on killing people and walking free as some of the murderers are doing in Ja. today.

They kill, get pardoned or kill their witness and walk street again to do the same thing.

make somebody kill we pickney or mom and we see who is in favor of the death penalty.

I will say I favor the death penalty, for very violent criminals who have no other intention than to kill people. you choose the method but you can't intend on killing people and walking free as some of the murderers are doing in Ja. today.

They kill, get pardoned or kill their witness and walk street again to do the same thing.
                      NOBODY on this forum supported the death penalty like me. However, I heard an interview conducted by the IJJ.

This interview was with a former security guard was found guilty and sentenced to death for a killing during a robbery. All along he insisted he wasn't at the scene of the crime, but yuh done know, we love tek police word as gospel.

Appeal after appeal was lost and then it reached the Privy Council. It was at this point it was discovered that there was camera installed at the scene and the Law Lords insisted that the tapes be handed over.

Well, the police had the tapes all along and when it was reviewed, it was discovered the condemned man was actually telling the truth. All now I can hear the man crying during the interview.

I have no confidence inna the Jamaican police and the Jamaican Justice system fi continue supporting the death penalty in Jamaica.

If there is DNA evidence, a video recording of the murder with the suspect commiting the act, if a cellphone tower can put the suspect in the area and there is evidence that he had the phone ..... then, I have no problem supporting it.

As fi the sick SOB that killed that little girl Amanda Dean, if dem can use DNA fi ketch him, dem must simply gas him and light him.

lazie....death sentence cases usually go the privy council (all avenues of appeal have to be exhausted) or something to that effect.....before the sentence can be carried out.

that is one of the reasons why the landmark case of pratt & morgan was so vital and why the move to the ccj...

"As fi the sick SOB that killed that little girl Amanda Dean, if dem can use DNA fi ketch him, dem must simply gas him and light him."

So you support the death penalty then?

What bout the man a St.Thomas who kill the little pickney them and the one a St.Mary?

I support that we must better our justice system and we must use all avenue to make sure we are not killing innocent people but there is that one or two scum bag who deserves nothing less and mi know how it is to feel the violent death of an innocent family member who followed the rules and have so much to give to society and a scumbag took their life and they have nothing else to contribute to society than anarchy and evil.