Is there no end to the savagery engulfing our land?!?!

• Is there no end to the savagery engulfing our land?!?!

SAVAGERY!
    Dunoon student chased, stabbed to death over cellphoneKARYL WALKER, Crime/court co-ordinator walkerk@jamaicaobserver.com
    Tuesday, November 18, 2008

A grief counsellor from the Ministry of Education consoles this student of Dunoon Technical who witnessed the murder of his classmate, 16-year-old Shevon Johnson, yesterday. Johnson was stabbed to death by another student at the school. (Photos: Naphtali Junior)

BLOOD flowed yesterday at Dunoon Technical High School after a schoolboy was chased and stabbed by another student with whom he had a dispute over a cellular phone, ironically, just minutes before the students were to attend a class on conflict resolution.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/..._SAVAGERY_.asp
    Last edited by Karl; November 19, 2008, 08:53 AM.

The deadly attack occurred as the students waited for a class that was to be taught by former gang member Orlando Hamilton, who now works as a volunteer with the Peace Management Initiative. Hamilton, who lectures students on conflict resolution, was just about to start his class when he saw Shevon bleeding heavily from his wounds.

Heard it on the news yesterday. Whey school pitney a do wid knife inna school inna dis ya time...wha happen to pencil sharpener?
      Six days I work for my children, on the seventh day they work for me.
      Mitty

..probably more questions than answers and/or solutions

Dat cyaan peel orange.

But seriously, what the hell is happening in Jamaica!?!?

Too much Mavado. Karl it looks like we need to ban knives. All knives. Whosoever have a knife? Bud!!! Mi muh business if yuh a eat yuh Sunday dinner. Bud!!!

mi think knifes were "offensive weapons"?

Dunoon student stabbed to death
                published: Tuesday | November 18, 2008

Petrina Francis, Staff Reporter
                Members of the Jamaica Consta-bulary Force gather information at Dunoon Park Technical High School in Kingston after the fatal stabbing of a 16-year-old student on the school compound yesterday. - Norman Grindley/acting Photography editor

Grief counsellors and officials from the Ministry of Education were yesterday kept busy comforting students and teachers at Dunoon Park Technical High School in Kingston, after 16-year-old Shevon Johnson was stabbed and killed by a classmate.

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ead/lead3.html

The ministry, in a release, said the incident underscores the importance of the zero-tolerance approach to violent behaviour in schools. This position, the ministry said, is clearly outlined in the Safety and Security guidelines which have been distributed to schools.
                  Do we know what zero-tolerance means?

zero tolerance by whom and for what? this stabbing is an example of zero tolerance!

Mi seh the 2 bwoys @ Calabar thief mi nephew cell phone, and then draw an ice pick out of his waist and start brandishing it, mi nephew run fi him life & thank God him life to tell the tale.

Sad state of affairs. When we have to use a former gangman as a Motivator - what does that tell you about our society!

Things not much better in T&T... my own son was suspended for fighting! I told him that nowadays fighting is not an option unless you HAVE to defend yourself. It's about self-preservation. Nowadays when yuh "diss" somebody dem gawn fi knife an gun...

This article distressed me... 5 yrs old?!?
                        http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,90095.html

Which one? Hmm....a wonda a who him get it fram???

Nightmare ?