that's funny as hell!

how so?

I have no doubt them a good company, so too is Microsoft and Apple but these companies steal each other technologies on a daily basis and use it and get sued. How much is 600 mill when you make 600,000?

These companies continue to do it.

Based on that article that Assasin posted I would have to agree with you. I don't see anything that RIM did wrong.

But where in that article does it suggest that RIM stole thier technology?

so you think the court just a go award so much money because them nuh like Blackberry?

that was taken from Wikepedia and don't go in details.

Ok, if there is more to it then fine. But that article doesn't show me anything that RIM did that was morally wrong, more just like bad timing.

I have not time who broadly license a concept and sit on it only to wait for someone to come and use it. Imagain if Xerox did not allow anyone to use the Network Card.. or Stanford university with lan distribution?...

that maybe true but there are fine lines sometimes that are two obvious.

I have no problem with them using it and paying for it later, All I am saying is that is the history.

Rim had to pay them for the use of it. It was a very big settlement as they had a injunction for u.s. base subscriber to Rim to be barred. I think it was I will pay you so you get away while I make that money. I am not sure NTP was right but you know how lawsuits work.

NTP did not conclusively proof that RIM Stole their technology. What they did prove they had some kind of similar technology or the technology that Rim is using is theirs and they wanted billions. A US court awarded them and then RIM appealed. At some point NTP sort an injuction in the U.S that would prevent RIM from operation thier so RIM Settled.. NTP has sued some other companies also...

Xerox?! For years, the only copier in the world was a Xerox copier. They sat on their patent for xerography and then suffered when it expired or was challenged by the Japanese.

Patent holders like to keep it to themselves. In this case with RIM, however, not sure if the patent holder actually held anything! That's my understanding anyway.

Funny thing is, Xerox developed so many groundbreaking technologies through Xerox PARC, that if they had played thier hand differently we would be saying Apple who? Microsoft who?

Ethernet, the mouse, GUI, laser printing to name a few.