Billion dollar development at Caymanas unveiled

While I like you suggestion better...why cant we have BOTH?
    yeah... that would be good! But if we have only one opportunity I'd definitely support the option with the most bang for the buck.

There are plans for the corridor development... those are more long term.. nothing is wrong with having a short term (in terms of schedule) medium term and long term.

Don1 has latched unto the 'short term' plan and used it to define the JLP vision..

I wonder what he thinks about the Vernamfield proposal...

The Caymanas proposal is attractive to investors and is something that can be implemented in the short term.. that does not mean it is a short sighted option...

Kingston and St. Catherine/Portmore NEEDS a REAL live/work/play solution to relieve the pressures of the poor implementations.. this is an immediate issue

Not sure how addressing this issue makes one 'short sighted'

So you propose a project 20 miles from the largest port in the caribbean and largest professional base in the country rather than 2 miles ??

E-Services is looking for land in Bushy Park ?

Hmm..

A guess the investors have some say and sway.

What we don't want to end up with is a white elephant. Remember how money spent on the good year factory and all now them can't find nothing to do with it. It has to be development but development that is supported by investors and good government policies and guidelines.

Thanks!

Maudib, what are the plans to tackle the crime problem?

Thanks in advance!

So you propose a project 20 miles from the largest port in the caribbean and largest professional base in the country rather than 2 miles ??

E-Services is looking for land in Bushy Park ?

Hmm..
              Build it and they will come.

Those minor distances are irrelevant once there are good transportation links.... which is the case with the Hw2k corridor.

There is a modern highway readily available for road transit and the existing rail line runs directly from the port area through Portmore and into the target location... the rail line is already slated for upgrade I believe.

Yes that makes the local freight and people transport element more expensive than a Caymanas location... but those increased costs pale in comparison to the massive social and economic multiplier effects of a new town made more viable by anchoring it with this proposed industrial/commercial development.

I believe also that Caymanas Park should be bulldozed and converted to an informatics free zone.... move that operation and Tinson Pen to the corridor as well.

Land should be employed to its highest and best use.

Just my take on things.
              Last edited by Don1; November 16, 2008, 04:38 PM.

There are plans for the corridor development... those are more long term.. nothing is wrong with having a short term (in terms of schedule) medium term and long term.

nothing wrong at all with that

Don1 has latched unto the 'short term' plan and used it to define the JLP vision..

one can only comment on what is publicly proposed... if the current regime has or is developing a master plan for the Hwy2k zone... that would be interesting to see.

I wonder what he thinks about the Vernamfield proposal...

That proposal sounds good...especially since there is consolidation and cost cutting in the logistics business.. what with DHL pulling out of the domestic US market (10,000 jobs gone) and others downsizing and/or seeking efficencies.
                Jamaica could easily be positioned as a lower cost air logistics center compared with some other N. American location.

The Caymanas proposal is attractive to investors and is something that can be implemented in the short term.. that does not mean it is a short sighted option...

Investors will always grab the least costly solution... that does not necessarily mean that it is the best solution for Jamaica's development. They can be incentivized to buy into another solution which may better suit our development priorities and also fit their requirements.

Kingston and St. Catherine/Portmore NEEDS a REAL live/work/play solution to relieve the pressures of the poor implementations.. this is an immediate issue

Not sure how addressing this issue makes one 'short sighted'
                Caymanas will produce jobs... if there is a viable housing or community development component to that plan I'd love to hear it.

The Hwy2k solution offers that and many more possible economic and social multipliers... in my opinion.... the entire corridor will be primed for development.... properly planned.

Kudos fellas.

High class discussion.

Oh... it appears you are lacking a good deal of data.

What I have seen addresses your concerns as it relates to corridor development.. the Caymanas proposal is just one aspect of it and can provide immediate (in relative terms) traction...

What aspect of the crime problem ?

The 'crime problem' is a many headed beast, vibrant after being well fed by the actions/inactions of a previous administration...

Do you have to see everything in orange or green? I guess that bullet that killed last evening at the conference was one of those colours too, huh?

How long are you going to talk about the previous administration. It's now 13 months into the "new" administration. When does the statute of limitations run out?

To come back to the question - when will we get and implement a crime plan?

Thank!

Well in solving a problem, one must first analyze the root of the problem and understand its genesis and growth...

You seem to want to magically make the opposition disappear pretend they never existed and in fact continue to exist with a nice likkle power base in Gordon House... mi hear seh dem all promise Nightmare...

Oh, I get it!

"One of the big problems we have in this country is what to do with young men and I can assure you that a lot of thought is taking place," Senator MacMillan said.

Anedda Don1 prognostication might come to pass..

Good ting di Chiney dem tink BIG and LONG TERM ... dem realize dat KMR region too chuck up

Mi tink mi might ave some Chiney blood to ****... woooiiieeeee

You miss the point.

The highway has opened that entire corridor for development. Jamaica has extreme employment and housing needs and any development should have an integrated and optimal long term approach.

The Caymanas solution is easy and cheap... good in the shorter run and very easy to implement.
                              The long term benefits of a greenfield location in the highway corridor are far superior.... however our politicians generally think not for the long term but for the next election term.

Port facility? ..... easy shot by rail (existing line runs right through the area) to KCT -- this will help to make a rail revival viable with the container traffic. Bulk and RORO goods can use Port Esquivel if cheaper than Kingston's bulk terminals.

Energy supply?.... Old Harbour power station... practically walking distance

Human Resources?... Portmore has the highest concentration of tertiary graduates in Jamaica... 15-20 mins away by highway and/or commuter rail...also making rail revival more viable.

The optimal solution is to leverage this development to anchor a new and self sustaining planned township with proper housing solutions and social could be induced to invest in such an integrated industrial/coamenities.... the multiplier effect would be enormous as private capital mmercial/residential township development.
                              Such a development is impossible or undesirable in Caymanas.

Kingston needs a break from overdevelopment and unplanned, sloppy development. The urban sprawl needs to be contained in the KMR not intensified.

Caymanas is OK but not the optimal location.
                              Last edited by Don1; August 23, 2013, 04:48 PM.

Might still not be politically expedient plus JFJ and all

that.

I think you missed the firebomb part of my post