Why not firebomb Downtown Kingston and rebuild there?
Billion dollar development at Caymanas unveiled
I am not sure what the plans are to redevelop downtown Kingston (nuttin really a gwaan). But that area already has all existing infrastructure, water & sewer & utilities etc. High levels of crime & and you would also have to account for money for Dons, and that would be a major deterrent.Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else - Vince Lombardi
Originally posted by Hortical View PostI am not sure what the plans are to redevelop downtown Kingston (nuttin really a gwaan). But that area already has all existing infrastructure, water & sewer & utilities etc. High levels of crime & and you would also have to account for money for Dons, and that would be a major deterrent.
There is thinking outside the box and then there are attempts at profundity...
Not that I would not mind that location for selfish reasons...
The Port Esquivel proposal which is a more sensible version of your idea is behind due to uncertainty of availability of certain fundamentals resources..
Which Port facility will your location utilize ?
Energy Supply ?
Human Resource ?
Here is a good approach..Pretend you are a tennant seeking to locate in an Industrial Park.. what would be your concerns..
Originally posted by Maudib View PostThere is thinking outside the box and then there are attempts at profundity...
Not that I would not mind that location for selfish reasons...
The Port Esquivel proposal which is a more sensible version of your idea is behind due to uncertainty of availability of certain fundamentals resources..
Which Port facility will your location utilize ?
Energy Supply ?
Human Resource ?
Here is a good approach..Pretend you are a tennant seeking to locate in an Industrial Park.. what would be your concerns..
The highway has opened that entire corridor for development. Jamaica has extreme employment and housing needs and any development should have an integrated and optimal long term approach.
The Caymanas solution is easy and cheap... good in the shorter run and very easy to implement.
The long term benefits of a greenfield location in the highway corridor are far superior.... however our politicians generally think not for the long term but for the next election term.
Port facility? ..... easy shot by rail (existing line runs right through the area) to KCT -- this will help to make a rail revival viable with the container traffic. Bulk and RORO goods can use Port Esquivel if cheaper than Kingston's bulk terminals.
Energy supply?.... Old Harbour power station... practically walking distance
Human Resources?... Portmore has the highest concentration of tertiary graduates in Jamaica... 15-20 mins away by highway and/or commuter rail...also making rail revival more viable.
The optimal solution is to leverage this development to anchor a new and self sustaining planned township with proper housing solutions and social could be induced to invest in such an integrated industrial/coamenities.... the multiplier effect would be enormous as private capital mmercial/residential township development.
Such a development is impossible or undesirable in Caymanas.
Kingston needs a break from overdevelopment and unplanned, sloppy development. The urban sprawl needs to be contained in the KMR not intensified.
Caymanas is OK but not the optimal location.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Caymans is OK ???
Kingston Needs a break from OVER development ?
It certainly needs a break from unplanned and sloppy development.. it needs something like the proposed Caymanas project.. Kingston population is under utilized and the current paradigm were portmore migrates to Kingston every day is highly innefficient.
The Caymanas location is quite logical.. dormitory community,sewage, airport, port and potential alternative energy source within walking distance..
Given the infrastructure and population realities Caymanas is the optimal location..
Originally posted by Maudib View PostCaymans is OK ???
Kingston Needs a break from OVER development ?
It certainly needs a break from unplanned and sloppy development.. it needs something like the proposed Caymanas project.. Kingston population is under utilized and the current paradigm were portmore migrates to Kingston every day is highly innefficient.
The Caymanas location is quite logical.. dormitory community,sewage, airport, port and potential alternative energy source within walking distance..
Given the infrastructure and population realities Caymanas is the optimal location..
Kingston is dense, suffers from urban blight and is in need of relief... not necessarily more development in spatial terms.. but re-development of its existing infrastructure.
This proposed project sited in Caymanas is easy as I said and logical if one thinks in the typical Jamaican short term manner. All it will do sited there is produce jobs.
The multiplier effect of siting such a development in the Hwy2k corridor and combining it with sorely needed and properly planned residential and community developments far exceeds the output from the much more limited Caymanas solution.
Such long term thinking is beyond most Jamaican politicians unfortunately... they will go for the easy, short term benefits... the better to trumpet that come election time.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
me? mi want a piece a di capital too and a percentage of the contrak
Is like hiring Beckham.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.