• Miriam Makeba dies at 76

Singer Miriam Makeba dies aged 76

Miriam Makeba was a leading symbol in the struggle against apartheid

South African singing legend Miriam Makeba has died aged 76, after being taken ill in Italy.
    She had just taken part in a concert near the southern town of Caserta, the Ansa news agency reported.
    The concert was on behalf of Roberto Saviano, the author of an expose of the Camorra mafia whose life has subsequently been threatened. Ms Makeba appeared on Paul Simon's Graceland tour in 1987 and in 1992 had a leading role in the film Sarafina! Ms Makeba, known as Mama Africa, was born in Johannesburg in 1932 and was a leading symbol in the struggle against apartheid.

RIP. She was good. Somehow I thought she ws older than that....use to hear her on radio and TV since I was a boy....

Me too. Seems she has been around forever.

One of the many great things Harry Belfonte has done in his life was to give exposure to this outstanding talent.

the african songbird will sing no more.....

pata pata and the click song are 2 of my favourites and brings back wonderful memories......

RIP Ms Makeba and I am happy that, like dallabunga, you were able to live in an free south africa!

pata pata and the click song are 2 of my favourites
          Wait till Hortical see dis. The woman is dead and all Gamma can think about is himself

dallabunga?

So sorry I never got to see her live. A concert in NY when I was there was unfortunately cancelled. As a little boy, I remember my parents going to her concert in Jamaica. At that time we must have had at least 3 albums with the legend.

Glad to know she saw the release of Nelson Mandela and the election of Barack Obama. I guess, in many ways, her work was done.

RIP warrior queen.

RIP my pata pata girl

you'll be singing with the angels

did you READ everything i wrote?

Sarcasm bredrin sarcasm it was directed at holier than thou Hortical

Pata Pata - RIP Miriam!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pygqt...eature=related

...and the "CLICK SONG" -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Mwh9...eature=related
                    Last edited by Karl; November 10, 2008, 10:58 AM.

oh...ok well den...me too!

You were around then??? A suh yu owl?

Don't mek mi boyish looks fool yuh!

She was married to a Trini - Kwame Ture or Stokley Carmichael:

After calling for a political boycott of South Africa in 1963 before the UN Special Committee Against Apartheid, Miriam Makeba was stripped of her South African citizenship and barred from returning home for about 30 years. Matthew Lavoie says her 1968 marriage to black power activist Stokely Carmichael (who later changed his name to Kwame Toure and moved with Makeba from the US to Guinea) transformed the artist into a subject of continent-wide focus.
                            "Really, one of the few artists who not only spoke about pan-Africanism, but really creatively invested herself and her entire career into being a pan-African artist. And some of that was a creative decision. Some of that was due to the realities of her life. She was forced into exile from South Africa, lived in the United States, and was more or less forced out of the United States. The government didn't say,'You have to leave.' But after she married Stokely Carmichael, her record contract dried up, her concert appearances dried up. And so she was more or less, to continue having a career, forced to leave the country. And all these again political decisions had artistic consequences," he said.

http://voanews.com/english/Africa/2008-11-11-voa5.cfm

RIP mama Africa