Jawge, as a man who love science and Garvey I

• Jawge, as a man who love science and Garvey I

thought you might be interested in this video.

It is a presentation by a physicist who got an award for promoting science education in Africa.

http://www.ted.com/index.php/talks/n...rize_wish.html

Bless up fi dis one boss.

The only sad part is that we are critical of powers who are moving ahead,
    whilst we ignore our own house. The man said it: "only Africans can fix Africa". The last time our intellectuals met was to find new first world countries to beg (well it's polished up as economic aid) seeing that the US
    may not be forth coming at this point in time.

I ask why should the US give economic aid when it's already indirectly doing so via remittances ( billion per year). It's up to the locals to get creative and harness this money; to help the island. Instead we devise ways to redirect it back to the states.

We charge and tax returning residents; knowing full well that they are bringing clothing, shoes, computers etc for poor relatives back home. This is done to protect mockery called local businesses. Let them go under. There should be an invisible line with resdients coming home to Ja (once there isn't six or four of the same items, then we know it's not for sale, hey bring it home). It should be like going cros border: bring fridge, stove etc and watch if quality of life in Ja wouldn't improve.

Garvey spoke of our kind of intellectuals though. Boss the times are changing and Ja is in serious trouble. We cannot even bring ourselves to appoint our own as technical Director of football (after he has clearly shown he has the mind for it) we build obstacles; saying he hasn't coached on the road (granted before was "oh wait until it's qualifiers and has to face the likes of Mexico et al") We need someone from a big club in europe and validated by Europe.
    We are afraid to amend our laws instead we rely on lays laid down three hundred years ago. I could go on but let me pause here.

We charge and tax returning residents; knowing full well that they are bringing clothing, shoes, computers etc for poor relatives back home. This is done to protect mockery called local businesses. Let them go under. There should be an invisible line with resdients coming home to Ja (once there isn't six or four of the same items, then we know it's not for sale, hey bring it home). It should be like going cros border: bring fridge, stove etc and watch if quality of life in Ja wouldn't improve.
      Whey yuh get yuh information?

I don't think he meant returning residents I think he meant Jamaicans returning home for vacation etc. Jawge means well he just needs a little more polish

Bricky mi glad say yuh
          see whey mi ah talk bout. Mo cyaan see nutten as him waan see tings fi him way.

Ja cannot continue on the same path. Right now criminals have the island in check and fear. I see RAS endorsing violence for change when we the people have the power of vote, to let the politicians do our bidding. The people of america sent a clear message to the Republicans (and democrats too) if you hurt our pockets, no matter who we will remove you and put that person there to fix it. Poverty and third world living ah nuh nice suppen. Jah neva put humans pon di land fi live so.

I read what YOU wrote, Jawge. Say what it is yuh want to say and stop talking code!

Islandman, I couldn't open the link (maybe my puta needs some upgrade).
              Can you (or Jawge) please give a paragraph or two on what was discussed in that video?

Bless
              "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Well the presenter is a theoretical physicist named Neil Turok who does a lot of advanced work with Steve Hawkins (the disabled genius guy who speaks through a computer ,if you have ever seen him ) on the origins of the universe, big bang theory, etc.

Anyway he is a white South African whose parents have been active in the ANC from the 50s, they were arrested, charged and acquitted with Mandela in the famous Treason Trial, and did a few years in prison. They are now part of the ANC government. During his youth his parents eventually left South Africa and lived in other parts of the continent as well as England.

Basically the presentation is about his work in setting up an institute named the African Institute for Mathematical Sciences that has as its goal the promotion of advanced math and science studies across the African continent. Like many of us interested in Africa he is disappointed with the progress of many of the countries who gained independence 40+ years ago, and believes his way to make a difference is by increasing the availability of advanced scientific studies.

He gave a few stories about his early experiences teaching some of the poorest kids in Africa, the kind of stories that any of us who have been around bright but disadvantaged kids would have experienced.

So he was basically talking about the progress they have made and the fact that they are expanding from South Africa to other parts of the continent, and introduced a few of the graduates of the program and what they have gone on to do in thier careers.

The website for the school is http://www.aims.ac.za

Nice read. Many good things are actually happening in Africa but these positives are hidden beneath a plethora of negative news out of the motherland.

Case in point: There's a study currently going on regarding an anti-neoplastic drug which is said to have the possibility of curing most cancers (including lupus and prostate cancer). The study actually began
                  when a wealthy Miami resident suffering from prostate cancer went down to Ecuador to seek alternative medicine. He brought back a bottle of elixir (BIRM) which was made by a Dr Ed Cevallos in Quito. A Dr Soloway at UM/Sylvester cancer clinic began looking into it and tried getting the source. He got in touch with Dr Cevallos in Ecuador who was a bit reluctant to divulge his secrets. However, a bit of the secret (including the plant's name - Dulcamara ) was gleaned and the scientists began working feverishly to crack the scientific code of the plant.

After a few people (scientists) were unable to come up with the plant's chemical makeup, the sample was sent to a Dr Donatus Ebere Okwu in Nigeria for his perusal. Dr Okwu took a couple weeks and enlightened everyone with the structural formula of the plant.

Now, studies are in progress and a grant (I beliebe it's over $100M) was given for this project. I bet you that in the final analysis The AFRICAN's name will not turn up as the one who cracked the code!!!

BTW: I actually read one of Steven Hawkin's books on the origins of the universe. Not an easy read but actually a good refernce book for one's home library.
                  "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

With the way that the drug industry works, I am sure he won't get the credit he deserves. Not if the FDA have anything to do with it.

I did some googling and found an article on the story. It sounds like they did some bribing in Equador to get the information about the secret plant after the doctor didn't want to give them too much.

The FDA have control over the USA or over the world?

With the internet the way it is, any cure that can be proven to work will draw people to the shores of that country much like all the food scientists in the world who are worth their salt are testing the yellow yam to find its active ingredients to produce billion dollar sport supplements.

We are the only ones who refuse to believe that its us who are the real scientists but we buy into that "modern" crap that is spouted to us everyday.

rebuilding us spiritually is why I was sent here so day by day I learn to intuit where we went wrong and how to get back to where we are guided by our indwelling god.

A powerful block is our mind as our spirit are programmed to have us live second place. We have to re-program the minds starting from young

Now we are faced with a choice of everything getting worse to the point where we will face the BULLET or we can stop the bleeding and rebuild with the use of the MUSIC. Hence the term the Music or the Bullet.

I am not the one making the offer, the offer is being made by God. I am just the messenger who was given the message to deliver

How else do you uplift someone's spirit but by the use of music?

The sage does not argue

All the two gentlemen in Jamaica working on the AIDS and Cancer cure need is a good marketer to introduce their product to global capital so they can continue their research

the job of us in the diaspora is to work via the grassroots to bring to the world the best of Jamaica and to connect our capital with our businesses back home.

We have to stay focused on what we can do and try not to fall into meaningless arguments that distract us and most importantly prevent us from start working.
                      r
                      rolling up our sleeves and going out in the community and getting a library up or fixing a primary school sends a message more powerful than talking

putting that on the internet inspires more people to donate and join.

Our task should be to spend at least 1 day focused on what we can go and build from there