US Citizenship Test

• US Citizenship Test

Reporter John Mercure of Milwaukee TV station WTMJ (Channel 4, NBC) went to a local mall and asked some citizens questions found on the US citizenship test. The results were surprising.

Story Created: Nov 3, 2008
    Story Updated: Nov 4, 2008

Citizenship Test

Katie DeLong

Becoming a U.S. citizen involves more than just filling out some paperwork and showing up. You have to know some basic U.S. history and government.

There’s an actual test and TODAY’S TMJ4’s John Mercure headed out to find out how much you know.

There are 100 questions and they ask some pretty basic stuff. Things like, name the president, or the U.S. capitol.

Mercure spent an afternoon at the mall, and was more than a little surprised at some of the answers he got.

John Mercure: “Can you name one state that borders Mexico?”

“Umm, Canada,” one woman said.

John Mercure: “What is the name of our National Anthem?”

“The Declaration of Independence?” one person said.

It was funny, unbelievable, sad…and wait until you hear who wouldn’t take the test.

Video:
    http://www.todaystmj4.com

Bruce's note: Mike Jacobs, the male anchorman, is one of the top soccer referees in the Milwaukee area.
    Last edited by Bruce; November 6, 2008, 11:49 AM.

True ... many times at the barbershop during a discussion I realize that those born here know nothing about their country.

My wife got into a heated discussion with her co-workers one day about American patriotism. To end the argument, she asked the most vocal person to recite a few lines out of the American anthem......sh!t, that was like asking him to recite some nuCUlar formula. Then she calmly went about reciting both verses of the Jamaican anthem...........and Pledge.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015