A black president??

• A black president??

Never thought I would live to see the day when the Uniteed States elects a black?? man (or at least a non-white man) as president.

As one who sees much hyprocisy in the United States and one who has no hesitation in criticising that country's policies... this is indeed a watershed event.... as it appears Obama is headed for victory at the polls.

The US has a remarkable ability for renewal... far greater than that of the European powers which one could not conceive of that kind of social mobility.

Respect is due.

A joke yuh a mek.

Big smiles all around me at work from WHITE Europeans. 90% percent of the people I know supported Obama. If Europeans could vote, Obama would have won even bigger.

One Finnish lady told me that she dared not hope until she saw the final result! Said that finally America has a well educated, intelligent leader agisn. When I told her that Bush had paper qualifications too, she said that those were obviously BOUGHT! LoL

Some Danes I saw said Thank God, America can get out of the foolish wars now.

Even a Yankee Republican here was stumping for Obama and hoping that the neo-cons learned a lesson and that "old-time" Republicanism can make a comeback.

A joke yuh a mek.

Big smiles all around me at work from WHITE Europeans. 90% percent of the people I know supported Obama. If Europeans could vote, Obama would have won even bigger.

One Finnish lady told me that she dared not hope until she saw the final result! Said that finally America has a well educated, intelligent leader agisn. When I told her that Bush had paper qualifications too, she said that those were obviously BOUGHT! LoL

Some Danes I saw said Thank God, America can get out of the foolish wars now.

Even a Yankee Republican here was stumping for Obama and hoping that the neo-cons learned a lesson and that "old-time" Republicanism can make a comeback.
      You miss my point.

I know that the majority of Europeans support Obama.... that's not in dispute.

My point is that there is no European country that is progressive enough at this point to elect a black person as their leader.

The US, to their credit, is ready... despite their obvious flaws.

really I think that's an American mindset. England would be the only European Country that ought to but they have already elected a female prime minister.

..and they still have a Queen?

No European country have even 5% black population and even then, blacks are "recent" arrivals to Europe. I dont expect any black African countries to be electing a white Prez any time soon either.

Yuh comparing apples to oranges.

Them European country would not vote for any competent black man to run them country.

They like to ACT like they are so much more accepting. Half of those places and half of their population still stuck in BC.

No European country have even 5% black population and even then, blacks are "recent" arrivals to Europe. I dont expect any black African countries to be electing a white Prez any time soon either.

Yuh comparing apples to oranges.
                You seem to feel a need to make excuses for Europeans. They have more racist attitudes than the average American.

The percentage of blacks present in individual European countries is immaterial.
                We are speaking here of social mobiluty for black people and other non-white groups... not relative numbers.
                The US, seriously flawed as it is, has much greater respect, legal protections and room for upward social mobility for blacks than any European nation.

The fact is that the Europeans have a veneer of civility and cultural superiority..... masking virulent racism.

I can't think of any European country that a Barack Obama could even seriously contend for leadership of a major party.... even in England which has a very substantial non white population.... much less become leader of the country.

You may disagree... but the facts are there for anyone to see.

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                  really I think that's an American mindset. England would be the only European Country that ought to but they have already elected a female prime minister.
                  First time I've been accused of having an American mindset.

However I'm talking about race, not gender.

hey, if you want to look at it as superficially as that, knock yourself out!

Facts????

Euro more racist than White Americans?

Dont make me laugh! Get a grip.

Security guard all a push me in the back in NYC for daring to stand waiting for an elevator in a public building.

I could not even DREAM of such a scenario anywhere in my travels in Western Europe.

Italy is the worst I have encountered and even there....

I make no excuses. Racism is everywhere and Europe have more than their fair share, but clearly YOU are in no position to judge.

Willi what are your views on thier general attitudes to the immigrant communities that are predominantly muslim? Is that a bigger issue than race there?

Facts????

Euro more racist than White Americans?

Dont make me laugh! Get a grip.

Security guard all a push me in the back in NYC for daring to stand waiting for an elevator in a public building.

I could not even DREAM of such a scenario anywhere in my travels in Western Europe.

Italy is the worst I have encountered and even there....

I make no excuses. Racism is everywhere and Europe have more than their fair share, but clearly YOU are in no position to judge.
                          Yeah right that could not happen in Italy. That is a joke. I know more than enough folks have experienced such issues in Italy. It is simply accepted by the people and there is no rush by anything to do anything about it.

Blacks are not 'recent' to Europe at all. Maybe in recent socio-polical context, certainly not on anthropological history.

True, blacks have lived in Europe for centuries.